We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
BEST WESTERN University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 422: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN University Inn
 Click to rate
Wynne, Arkansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic location for Crimson Tide activities! Clean rooms, great service, professional staff, and easy access to dining, shopping, etc. In addition, quick response from staff if anything is needed. Roll Tide!!!!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G7407JSkatieb
Margaretville, Ny
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I forgot to leave a review for this location when I stayed there. Please note: My stay was March 2015. The drop down menu does not go that far back. I was traveling from Texas to New York with my fiancee. She chose this one from an app on her phone and I'm glad she did. It may be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here a few weeks ago- And my experience was not what I would have expected.The manager Tracie was arguing with a staff member in front of me. I asked her can I check out- she rolled her eyes at me and said mam you would have to wait.I asked her is there a way I could speak with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Don F
Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. All rooms open to outside, but I felt safe and the grounds were well kept. Breakfast was very good with a variety of hearty food items. Close to I-20, but the noise was not noticeable. Conveniently close to campus.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Medveclb
Mobile, United States
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This is an older place that could use some work. The front office is small, the staff are not very helpful (ie: our remote for the TV did not work, they gave us another one which also did not work - we think the batteries were dead - the woman said oh well, we can't do anything about it.) The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
Management response:

Dear Eileen S, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests...

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Great place to stay, Great staff and affordable. Breakfast was great Good and hot food. Coffee and juice were good Breakfast area was keep clean and organized. Staff welcomed you in and wished you a great day when you left.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Called the motel the day before our visit and was greeted on phone by Tracy, the manager. She assured us a room would be available the following night - just call her a bit before we arrived. Followed up on her suggestion and things were super smooth. We travel with a small dog. The motel has "pet rooms". Could only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
Van Horn, United States
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I first stayed here in November 2016 after fleeing an awful experience at different hotel. Stayed here again Jan, 12, 2017. It is pet friendly (I was traveling with a dog) and I feel safe here. The rooms are clean. The drain in my room tub (153) was very sluggish and needed work. Most of all the staff has been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue Anne K
Kansasville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Very poor quality. People checked out. I would call for assistance and get no help. The television went out and did not come back on for a week. I was contacted to stay, so I continued the duration of my stay unwillingly.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

I was at this hotel for two weeks for work. The people that work at hotel was pleasant enough but for one night the electricity kept going on and off which was annoying and most of the satellite channels were knocked out until the last night of my stay. The hotel is close to the freeway and plenty of places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
1.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
2.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
0.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
6.0 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
4.0 km away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at this Award Winning Tuscaloosa, Alabama hotel providing convenient access to key area attractions including the University of Alabama, Alabama Museum of Natural History and the Bama Belle Riverboat. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Park Plaza where guests will experience the best in award winning customer service and accommodations at an unbeatable value. Guests staying at this Tuscaloosa hotel will be conveniently near the Bryant Denny Stadium, Paul Bear Bryant Museum, the University of Alabama campus, Battle Friedman House and the Black Warrior Railroad.The BEST WESTERN Park Plaza proudly offers 117 well-appointed, newly remodeled guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this Alabama hotel will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet (Tuscaloosa's best hotel breakfast which includes: sliced breads, bagels, croissants, muffins, doughnuts, French toast cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, grits, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, fresh pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and three juice choices. ), Tuscaloosa's largest hotel swimming pool, exercise facilities and business services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 3801 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-2403
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Price Range: $127 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tuscaloosa
Park Plaza Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Best Western
Tuscaloosa Park Plaza
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#5 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“traffic noise is a problem. I would ask for a room not facing the roads.”
 of 5 bubbles eileens24, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“King beds may be available in "pet rooms" but none were when I checked in. Pet room faced the Interstate.”
 of 5 bubbles robertcZ7141TV, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would ask for a room AWAY from the interstate. The back of the hotel backs up to it.”
 of 5 bubbles mbberryman, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try for the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles T7387YCdanas, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request room away from highway”
 of 5 bubbles jmfaganpt, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5