La Terraza Guest House B&B

La Terraza Guest House B&B

Calle Salguero San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100 Costa Rica
Traveller (245)
La Bella
Room & Suite (95)
Having beautifully plated, delicious breakfast on the veranda surrounded by a beautifully landscaped terraced yard. A hummingbird feeder is nearby.
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 4 B&Bs in Grecia
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Beautiful La Terraza Guest House, located in San Roque de Grecia, Costa Rica, just a 35-minute drive from the Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). Located in the agriculturally-rich province of Alajuela, Grecia is known as the cleanest city in Central America. Nestled along the picturesque Vigia River, La Terraza Guest House offers upscale amenities and attention you would expect to find at an excellent hotel, but at a budget-friendly price. At La Terraza Guest House we believe our guests want to get more, not pay more. Over 300, TripAdvisor reviewers agree on the superior quality of La Terraza Guest House, from your host to the experienced and specially-trained staff of trusted employees. Boasting splendid surroundings and awesome accommodations, La Terraza Guest House, has it all!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
423Reviews3Q+A85Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 396
  • 22
  • 0
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Discover745393 wrote a review Feb 2023
16 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica. The host (Edgardo) was extremely friendly and helpful in meeting our needs. Our room “The Nest” had a kitchenette with cold water and tea in the fridge for our use. The bed was comfortable and the shower was nice and hot. The gardens were lovely with an extension along the river. Our delicious breakfast was served on a deck with real linens and a colorful tablecloth. Our room was near the road so if noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the road. Other visitors said they mostly heard the river. The neighbors also have chickens - adding to the morning chorus. Be aware, it is not handicap friendly with several steps to negotiate. But it is a charming place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Owens, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B
Responded Nov 28, 2023
Thank you for choosing La Terraza Guest House for your last night in Costa Rica, and for taking the time to share your delightful experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that Edgardo provided friendly and helpful service, meeting your needs throughout your stay. It's wonderful that you enjoyed "The Nest" with its well-equipped kitchenette, comfortable bed, and a nice, hot shower. We appreciate your understanding about the road noise and the charming addition of the neighbors' chickens to the morning chorus. Your description of the lovely gardens along the river and the delicious breakfast served on the deck with real linens and a colorful tablecloth captures the essence of the unique experience we aim to provide at La Terraza. Please note that we appreciate your observation about the steps and will take it into consideration for future improvements. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark S wrote a review Jan 2024
Lewiston, California4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
La Terraza Guest House B&B is beautifully set in rich and beautiful terrain and well landscaped. We were made to feel welcome, and staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and respond to our requests. Charles, the owner, was helpful, but beyond that introduced us to a part of his community and helped us understand how, with respect, the community in Costa Rica makes themselves available to share in their ways and spirit. At the same time, the breakfasts are delicious, beautifully plated and presented in that Pura Vida spirit, cleaning and laundry services excellent, with help connecting us with other resources to tour the area. Nearby the dining area are birdfeeders that attract hummingbirds and several other species that add to the relaxing and engaging experience of simply hanging out there. Charles is a warm and clever man with years of experience at his fingertips - we felt we connected with a friend. The appliances, electronics, wi-fi service and utensils in the rooms were easily available and set out. The property was meticulously looked after, clean and well managed. There were little things that matter, like flowers, wine, fresh water and fruit juice in the frige even a couple of muffins as a welcoming. There is a coffee maker in each room. We recommend this place without reservation to anyone looking for a good experience staying in Grecia.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Charles, the owner, is an excellent resource for experiencing the area and setting up tours if...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Owens, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B
Responded Feb 20, 2024
Wow, your review just made our day! 😊 Thanks for sharing your love for your La Terraza Guest House B&B stay! We're stoked that you enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the delicious breakfasts and felt the good vibes from our excellent staff. Charles is all smiles, knowing he could make your stay extra special and give you a peek into the local spirit. The little things matter, right? From the hummingbirds at the birdfeeders to the fresh flowers and muffins, the details count. Connecting with you felt like hanging out with an old friend, and we can't wait for the next round! Your shout-out and recommendation mean a ton to us. I can't wait to have you back in Grecia for more Pura Vida vibes. If there's ever anything you need, give us a shout! Warmest high-fives, The La Terraza Crew 🌟
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heron7 wrote a review Feb 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom34 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night after getting a taxi transfer here all organised by the owner Charles.
Charles is a complete sweetheart and was a fantastic host. He helped arrange a car hire from here thereby avoiding the stress of driving the night before.
Basic but tasty breakfast was included. More courses were available.
The room had a fan and basic amenities including kitchenette and fridge. TV signal was weak in the room, but had Netflix capability.
Location is very residential and access to a car is highly useful if you are to spend more time here but it’s a good place to base yourself if you don’t want to stay further away.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laterrazabb, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Thank you so very much for your glowing review. We also enjoyed your company. Please return someday. All of our rooms are different and some are much more comfortable. Just give us a call or shoo me an email.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miuset wrote a review Dec 2021
Calgary, Canada8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed here one night while making our way to another destination the folowing day.
the room was beautiful and quiet and the sound of the river below was so relaxing at night. We had a chance to spend time with our mom in the property and everyone was friendly and corteus to us. We loved this property and wished we would have had stayed longer.
the grounds in this piece of heaven are beautiful and we were so impressed with all the flowers, plants, trees and vegetation, everything around it was so well kept, a total hidden gem.
The coffee and Breakfast in the morning was also amazing. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. we had a wonderful stay.
Thank you
Tania And Dave
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The rooms closer to the River are more quiet from cars but we did not find it noisy at all closer...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles O, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Thank you very much Tania and Dave for leaving this glowing review. Feedback from our guests is so very important. Please be sure to visit us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
May V wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you to Charles and his staff for a memorable stay. I spent 4 days at La Terraza, and I had a great time destressing and relaxing. The staff was amazing and very attentive to my needs. The breakfast was like homemade, delicious, and fresh. La Terraza is a hidden green jewel within walking distance from a flowing river. The rooms are very clean, and the bed was very comfortable, I slept so well and woke up every morning looking at the beautiful greenery with colorful flowers while listening to the calming noise of the river. In addition, there price is very affordable and includes breakfast. I will definitely go to La Terraza again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Owens, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B
Responded Nov 28, 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at La Terraza Guest House! We are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable stay and that our team contributed to making your time with us special. It warms our hearts to know that you enjoyed the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, our homemade breakfast, and the natural beauty surrounding La Terraza. Providing a clean and comfortable environment for our guests is a top priority, and we're delighted that you found the rooms to your satisfaction. Your kind words about our attentive staff mean a lot to us, and we appreciate your recognition of their efforts. It's fantastic to hear that you felt well taken care of during your four-day stay. We are grateful for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to La Terraza in the future. If there's anything specific you'd like during your next visit, please feel free to let us know. We're here to ensure you have another fantastic experience. Safe travels, and we can't wait to host you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tia T wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first international trip and time in Costa Rica! La Terraza was like a home away from home - I LOVED it! The staff is warm and welcoming. Ms. Christina is so sweet and cooks some amazing breakfast. She even came to assist when my electricity went out late one night, but was fixed quickly by the breaker.

I stayed in the honeymoon cottage which is very close to the running stream so slept beautifully and sat near it daily. It is fully equipped for those who want to cook with a mini fridge, and a double size bed (smaller). It is close to "downtown", so I walked, took bus, and ubered (you have options).

I did feel a little pressure to do one of their tours/excursions. It felt like it's assumed everyone from the US is "rich" therefore expected to come and spend more than usual on these. I preferred to explore on my own or might have been open if the cost was more realistic. Outside of this, I TOTALLY would and plan to stay at La Terraza again and again. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles O, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B
Responded Sep 23, 2022
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave this glowing review. Please understand that one thing we do not do is pressure our guests to take tours. We offer tours and services according to our guests' desires to experience Costa Rica. There are no tours offered at La Terraza that are unreasonably priced. We do not make any commissions by customizing our guests' visits. Often, 1st time visitors assume that Costa Rica is a 3rd world country with third-world prices and quickly realize that this is a myth. Costa Rica is the most expensive country in Central America. For any future guest, please understand that it is never my position to assume what's in your wallet based upon nationality. It is suggested that for the best experience, you know your budget for adventures before arrival. It was our pleasure to greet, meet and host your visit to Grecia. Your presence was a true blessing for all of us!! Pura Vida!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marissa B wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at La Terraza in Grecia was the last leg of our 9-day Costa Rica trip. We drove to Grecia from Tamarindo and while the roads were quite windy at times, they were all well paved. La Terraza was a wonderful, secluded escape from the bustling, touristy Tamarindo beaches! The property itself is so lovely - so quiet but lively with hummingbirds and a brook that runs behind the guest houses. Breakfast made by Cris each morning was fantastic - the fruit was so fresh and delicious; all food authentic and beautifully presented. We stayed in the Pura Vida cottage which had a balcony perfect for some sunning and relaxing. It happened to be my fiance's birthday during our stay, and I wanted to do something special. Charles arranged for a Costa Rican cooking class with Cris. They provided all ingredients, wine, welcome frozen cocktails, the most adorable birthday cake, and a table setting by candlelight to enjoy our culinary creations. Charles and Cris went above and beyond! We also loved the location of La Terraza. We drove to the nearby towns of Sachi and Zarcero, walked into Grecia a number of times, and visited the beautiful waterfalls of Bajos del Toro. Being the last leg of our trip, it was so convenient to fly out of San Jose airport. Highly recommend La Terraza and would come back in a heartbeat!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles O, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, We are committed to ensuring that our guests are satisfied by offering the highest quality and service. Your comments and opinions are of great importance. Thank you for sharing your valuable comments and thoughts with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Visions_ wrote a review Jan 2021
Montreal, Canada12 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The owner was absent during our stay. But he was agressive. He wanted to get 10$ extra.
Impolite and rude. He harassed us and kept sending msg. We literally had to block him
Plus he gave us the most noisy room you can ever sleep in.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Owens, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B
Responded Mar 22, 2024
Thank you for your feedback. We take pride in maintaining our reputation as a top choice in our area for over 20 years. Please note, our rates are based on the number of guests to ensure fairness and quality of service. The additional $10.00 fee for an extra person was not accounted for in your reservation. The room you selected clearly states the potential for noise in its description. We always encourage guests to review all details to make an informed choice rather than seeking the most economical option. We've observed that several negative reviews have been posted from accounts that have not previously visited us. We value genuine feedback and encourage all guests to share their authentic experiences. Using someone else's credit card for payment is against our policy and can lead to complications. We strive to provide a welcoming and peaceful environment for all our guests. We hope you find peace and wish you all the best in your travels. Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trish g wrote a review Oct 2023
24 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
La Terraza Guest House is a lovely peaceful and beautiful boutique B&B. The rooms are clean, large and comfortable with a built in relaxing sound machine having the river flowing thru the back property. We had a fully stocked kitchenette in our casita including a mininfrige cooktop and microwave. The grounds are breathtaking, lush and filled with exotic flowers and a variety of areas created to sit and relax, read a book, enjoy the sounds of nature and just meditate or relax. Charles was delightful, taking time to greet you every morning and talk about the area or activities. The staff is gracious and will go out of their way to make sure you are happy. One morning I asked if they had tortillas instead of bread to eat with my eggs and they were getting ready to send someone to the store to get some. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh, tasty and made to your liking. The serenity of this space is unsurpassed. Truly enjoyed and will return whenever I come to Grecia again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Parking is tight when fully booked, but workable as long as you are considerate.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Owens, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B
Responded Nov 28, 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at La Terraza Guest House. We are thrilled to hear that you found tranquility at its best during your stay. It warms our hearts to know that you enjoyed the clean, spacious, and comfortable rooms, along with the soothing sounds of the river flowing through the back property. We're delighted that the fully stocked kitchenette and the lush, breathtaking grounds added to the overall charm of your stay. Charles and the entire staff were equally delighted to read your kind words. We're committed to creating a welcoming and gracious atmosphere, and it's rewarding to hear that our efforts were appreciated. Your specific mention of our efforts to accommodate your breakfast preferences is particularly encouraging. We can't wait to welcome you back to La Terraza whenever your travels bring you to Grecia again. Until then, may your memories of tranquility stay with you. Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sghamel wrote a review Sep 2021
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have lived in CR full time for 5 years now and La Terraza Guest House has to be our favorite place to stay when in the Grecia/Atenas area of the country. Beautiful property and comfortable room. The owner was very friendly and welcoming, so much so that he personally made us one of the best breakfasts we have had at any restaurant in Costa Rica. Thank you Charles.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles O, Owner at La Terraza Guest House B&B
Responded Mar 29, 2022
WoW!! I'm so very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. It is a privilege for me to greet guests and be of service. You are both very special people and I thank you so very much. Sorry for the delay in responding. Please be sure to visit us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from coelectronic
Grecia, Costa Rica64 contributions8 helpful votes
Hello, The temperature at night is between 55-65 degrees, The weather here is a lot like San Diego near the harbor. It is never to hot or to cold. This is why no AC or heat. But we do have ceiling fans.
Answer from genes252
Costa Rica67 contributions10 helpful votes
We have stayed and highly recommend La Terraza Guest House B&B in Grecia, Costa Rica... We now live in Grecia, Costa Rica thanks to our initial stay at La Terraza Guest House B&B...
Answer from Achim Z
Frankfurt, Germany3 contributions3 helpful votes
The phone number of the Guesthouse is: (506)2494-0970
Catherine S wrote a tip May 17
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The service exceptional. We used this Hotel as our Base while we took side trips and tours in Costa Rica. It worked out perfectly. "
Read full review
Mark S wrote a tip Jan 2024
Lewiston, California4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Charles, the owner, is an excellent resource for experiencing the area and setting up tours if preferred."
Read full review
Joy N wrote a tip Jan 2024
Atenas, Costa Rica5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Communicate your travel plans and desires during your stay, They will make anything happen"
Read full review
trish g wrote a tip Oct 2023
24 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is tight when fully booked, but workable as long as you are considerate."
Read full review
sarnold2023 wrote a tip Sep 2023
10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking can be a bit tight. It's important to be courteous to other guests. Please make room for your neighbors."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Grecia area.
PRICE RANGE
C$97 - C$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of AlajuelaGrecia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

La Terraza Guest House B&B - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about La Terraza Guest House B&B
Which popular attractions are close to La Terraza Guest House B&B?
Nearby attractions include Fabrica de Carretas Eloy Alfaro (3.9 km), Else Kientzler Botanical Garden (3.1 km), and Los Chorros Waterfalls (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Terraza Guest House B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at La Terraza Guest House B&B?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at La Terraza Guest House B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at La Terraza Guest House B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Terraza Guest House B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include MASQSABOR, Restaurante la Finca, and La Casa de Miguel.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Terraza Guest House B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is La Terraza Guest House B&B accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars