We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
See the most recent reviews
Showing 41: English reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

I spent two nights at the hotel. It is set in really beautiful grounds and a taxi ride out of the main town (approx 5 mins and $6). When I first arrived, it did actually feel quite remote and quiet. Over the time I was there there appeared to be mainly tour groups although there were a few couples and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelLovingGurl
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2015

You never know when you arrive to destination if it's going to be nice or if you'll be disappointed, even after reading positive reviews. La Catarata Ecolodge exceeded our expectation: the garden is beautiful manicured, the swimming pool is very nice -a bit too cold for me but the kids loved it-, the bedroom is simple but comfy, bathroom could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire C
Lierop, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 January 2015

After a long drive and arriving just after some heavy showers, it was a real pleasure to arrive at such a beautiful location. The garden with all its different plants and flowers really is a treat to the eyes. The rooms are basic, but clean and have a pretty comfortable bed. The open communal area with a, sort of, self-service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 14NABster
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 11 December 2014

We stayed for tow nights while exploring the arenal volcano area, the hotel is well located, near La Fortuna and close to the catarata La Fortuna. Breakfast was simple but tasty, staff were really friendly and helpfull. The room was pretty basic but nice and clean. Swimming pool is well located. The gardens are nice and you can see lots...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank biixxx
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at another eco lodge 5 minute walk from Catarata as ours didn't have a bar or serve drinks. We wished we had chosen to stay here as there is a lovely sitting and dining area overlooking the beautifully maintained gardens. There seemed to be a lot of birds of all sorts visiting the gardens whereas we didn't see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Musti S
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Hey guys!!!! Thanks so much by make this review!!! we always like to bring a great service, no matter if your are or not in our Lodge!!! we are so happy that you were happy, and hope you come back some day!!! best wishes for you!!! and thanks for keep recommending us to all!!!

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I read that Eco Lodge is just another Name for b&b (or excuse for low quality). This is a very simple b@b, but with a very nice garden, and with a pool. You don't have a view. Not recommended without car. Rooms are ok but very basic. Breakfast is good, staff nice. You just Need to know what to expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LonelyGeorge
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Hello dear George!!! Thanks for your review!!! As you know we offer good prices to people, as we are an Eco Lodge, we work in sustainability together with the environment!!! we have very standard rooms, without TV and AC to give a more natural stay!!! The volcano is always in from of you, but the forest is always growing up...

Costa Rica
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while taking birding tours around the zone. The staff was always nice and willing to help, even when we requested a couple of additional towels since we were leaving at 4:30am one of the days. My wife took breakfast once and it was good as well. We didn't get the chance to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crguy
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Thanks For your review!!! will be always trying to bring a great service, Thanks and we hope you come back and enjoy the pool and more!!!

Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

So this place is nothing special... The staff is friendly and the cabins are legit, and we appreciated the gardens and pool... But it was lacking on the little things- internet doesn't work on rooms and there's no ac or tv in rooms... This being stleast we didn't feel as though it was a rip off... Just it could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William S
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por su critica, lamentamos que su estadía no haya sido de lo mejor, queremos destacar y corregir, que nuestro...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Catarata Eco-Lodge is located a ways outside the tourist town of La Fortuna (an $8 cab ride) and since we didn't have a car, I was a little concerned, but really wanted NOT to be in the town. I also knew we would be within walking distance of several of the attractions I was interested in--the Cerro Chato hike, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Hey dear!!!! amazing thanks for your review!!! we always like to give you and to all the best what we can do!!! have a great day!! thanks so much!!

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a quiet place which was not so close to main road. This perfectly fitted! It was quiet, clean and with hammocks in front of the door to cool out and watch some humming birds. The breakfast was included and really good. We also got a lot of help from the reception, especially from Jessica. From the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ringalin
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review

Thanks For your review!!! Jessica will be happy by this, and to all clients!! Our wish is that you enjoy at max here!!! thanks!!!

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.5 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,187 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,293 reviews
5.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
512 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,756 reviews
5.6 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the shadow of the Arenal Volcano , away from the noises of the city and from the highways, will be able to discover the captivation of returning to feel the nature, the singing of the birds and the creek of the sound of the gully. you can walk up to the majestic La Fortuna Waterfall, to share with the villagers, to walk along the National Park Arenal Volcano and in the night to relax in the thermal waters - mineral of the resorts of the zone, among many more things ... more   less 

Additional Information about Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Address: 1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $100 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catarata Eco Lodge S.A 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Catarata Eco Lodge S.A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Catarata Eco Lodge S.A staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wi-fi availability came and went. For rooms, some doubles are larger than others, but then they seem to be farther away.”
 of 5 bubbles happytrails555, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There are no bad rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles DrSynteq, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Chalet near reception”
 of 5 bubbles Francisco201014, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“You cannot go wrong with any of their rooms. The are the attached cabana type.”
 of 5 bubbles sc0ttyg, 9 Nov 2011 | Read review
“Stay far away from any American school class!!”
  • Garden and restaurant building
 of 5 bubbles Di_and_Di, 1 Jul 2011 | Read review
5 of 5