We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mountain Paradise

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mountain Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,032: English reviews
Hereford, UK
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This is a reasonably priced hotel with a great view of the volcano, less than 5 mins drive from a number of hot spring resorts and 10 mins from Lake Fortuna. The rooms are fairly comfortable and well appointed for the budget and are about 100 yards walk from the main reception, passing by the pool and one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank soaringflute
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you! Your opinion has an enormous value to us. We feel proud that you have chosen us to be part of your experience. Seeing that you loved your stay at our hotel fills us with joy and drives us to continue exceeding our customer expectations. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

DO NOT LISTEN TO ANY BAD REVIEWS OF THIS HOTEL! The views from this hotel are fantastic, with the rooms and the restaurant giving a clear view of the volcano. Our room/bungalow was spacious, clean, air-conditioned and bug free, complete with its own 'waterfall shower'. The staff were very friendly and willing to help 24/7. The layout is charming with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rachel R
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you! Your opinion has an enormous value to us. We feel proud that you have chosen us to be part of your experience. Seeing that you loved your stay at our hotel fills us with joy and drives us to continue exceeding our customer expectations. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards

Big Flats, New York
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

This place was nice on arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff. It's a hike up to your rooms, which is not bad. Our rooms smelled musty, and they were pretty clean besides the outside tube( it is out side). The view was wonderful! They could be staffed better but the pool and food were fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TAGSTICKETS
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind comments. We are very happy to have had them on our property. Your comments are valuable, and your suggestions will be considered for future improvements. We hope to see you again very soon in our hotel. Best Regards

San Jose, California
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I usually do not write reviews but hotel staff at mountain paradise was so horrible that it was hard to not write a review. I stayed at that hotel for 3 days during Christmas break . I booked a taxi one day to go out at around 12:00 p.m . I was told that its not an issue. 11:50 a.m...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anonymousI9112QS
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. On behalf of the whole family of Hotel Mountain Paradise we offer our sincere apology for not having met your expectations in the hotel. As for your annoyance for the waiting time for the taxi service, I would like to tell you that both the...

Reviewed 15 January 2017

We had a wonderful week's holiday in Costa Rica. However our first night, 14 Feb 2016, was at the Mountain Paradise Hotel which turned out to be a nightmare for us. In the middle of the night, around 2am, the air conditioner unit on the wall started rattling, making a lot of noise and dripping lots of water. We could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SD-TMD
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 13 January 2017

This is a small hotel with nice large rooms with a jacuzzi just outside the doorstep. If you are looking for action, this is not the place for you. Everything closes down around 10pm and the guests are going to their rooms. The pool is heated but very very tiny. More to sit and relax in than to swim and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keviit
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind comments. We are very happy to have had them on our property. Your comments are valuable, and your suggestions will be considered for future improvements. We hope to see you again very soon in our hotel. Best Regards

Reviewed 8 January 2017

The staff were extremely polite and accommodating. The casitas were close to each other and to the reception area, but they still provided golf cart service to and from, great service when it is raining! The complimentary Costa Rican breakfast was delicious, with the extra bonus of the view of the Arenal volcano as you ate. The wait staff never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay. Best Regards

Parkland, Florida
Reviewed 6 January 2017

This was was the worst hotel we stayed in during our otherwise wonderful trip to Costa Rica. My husband and I spent 4 nights here Dec. 24-27. The grounds were beautiful and the staff were very nice and accomodating but that's where all things nice ended. The room was absolutely terrible. It smelled moldy and mildewy and there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sharon S
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. On behalf of the whole family of Hotel Mountain Paradise we offer our sincere apology for not having met your expectations in the hotel. We are very sorry that we were not aware of your inconvenience, as we would have loved to give you and...

Reviewed 5 January 2017

My family and I took a trip to Costa Rica and decided to stay at this location since it was near the Volcanoes, and near where we went zip lining. The scenery was very nice from the Hotel's Restaurant and there were several different types of animals that were around the property. The Restaurant food was average, but there were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon J
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay. Best Regards

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I thought that the pictures showing a Fred Flinstone inspired resort just weren't flattering. I was wrong. This place looks like it was designed by a 10 year old, and feels like it's run by one as well. Or, if not 10, then someone who thinks they know what a resort is, but has clearly never experienced it. Everything in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kim W

1,465 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1044)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
Room/Suite (262)
Viewed
Bathroom (107)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (112)
Viewed
View from Room (94)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (231)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Master Deluxe Suite (74)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Premium Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,398 reviews
0.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,736 reviews
0.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,247 reviews
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,302 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Home away from Home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $121 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mountain Paradise staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mountain Paradise staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 310 was in an excellent location near the back of the property. Quiet!”
buster7919, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay attention when you leave your room - might not find it back!!”
macraw4d13, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“choose a different hotel”
jshaunmoore, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They are all good.”
TheTexan2016, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a volcano view”
bmm240, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5