Villa Pacande

Villa Pacande

200 Mts Norte Del Puente De Itiquis 3 Km North Of Downtown Alajuela, Poas Volcano National Park 20104 Costa Rica
Traveller (82)
Colchón sucio
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 4 B&Bs in Poas Volcano National Park
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Beautiful place around nature, only 3 km away from downtown Alajuela; nice for families and solo travelers, around a coffee plantation. The ambience is quiet and nice; really relaxing in our gardens, free parking. We give you the best advice about rental car and tours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Catalan, Italian

Location

200 Mts Norte Del Puente De Itiquis 3 Km North Of Downtown Alajuela, Poas Volcano National Park 20104 Costa Rica
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport
Tortuquero Airport
79.8 km
See all flights
330Reviews6Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 167
  • 83
  • 36
  • 18
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Annonie Mouse wrote a review Jan 2018
Nairn, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable villa with lovely terrace and garden. Owner Mark is a fantastic chef, his spaghetti with homemade pesto is highly recommended! Complimentary breakfast of fresh fruit, toast and coffee available each morning. Alfresco terrace dining with views over garden and even a small pool. Very good value and convenient for the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David L wrote a review Jan 2014
Eugene, Oregon
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This property is beautiful. the staff are friendly and helpful
The room is plain and you can hear the entire city as well as every guest that checks in throughout the night. They serve a continental breakfast with fruit coffee and toasties if you ask.
Decent for the money, if you bring some ready to eat food or drive a car.
It is a 30 minute walk to the store or a little less to a restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
flamboyanta wrote a review Jan 2014
Germany
4.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed @ Villa Pacande as it is close to the airport and compared to Allajuela absolutely quiet in a beautiful setting with lots of flowers & nature around it.
Our room was large, very clean & comfortable, bathroom more than sufficient, clean, hot water & all.
The ownners went out of their way to assist in any possible way.
Breakfast out on the patio, overlooking the beautiful garden, was fantastic !!!
I can only recommend this place and will book there again !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2FunChica wrote a review Jan 2022
Auburn, Maine
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unlike what the policy adivsed, when we arrived at the gate with our two young children and all of our luggage via taxi to check-in there was no response, gate locked, and no response by phone. Not only did they fail to respond at that time, they also failed to advise us of changes to their hours of availability for check-in in advance, and still they charged us for the night! Since we were unable to check-in and were forced to seek out another hotel late at night, and since we were not in violation of their policy, we disputed the charges with Booking.com, and the property still refused to offer a refund to us! We had spent 40 minutes trying to reach someone and enter the property late upon our arrival to the country to no avail. I am not at all in agreement with how these owners handled this situation and can not recommend them for others for this reason. Moreover, this isn't the first time they have disappointed, as they cancelled my husband's reservation on very short notice in the past, creating an inconvenience back then as well. Unreliable, entirely inconsiderate of their guests, and unprofessional in their communication and behavior, I recommend going elsewhere. My husband and I are not new to travel in Costa Rica. My husband is Costa Rican, and our family has both lived and traveled in and out of Costa Rica many times. Even for someone looking for a great deal and affordable spot, one can defintely have a better experience elsewhere!! We will!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marc Pujadó Sánchez, Owner at Villa Pacande
Responded Jan 4, 2022
If you are a little bit ashame of calling thretining me because you've made. A mistake of not advising the arrival time with the excuse we were inside or an airport we can't let you know our flight is delay 4 hours, 2q st century there wifi in all airports, second I try to contact you by email, whatsapp like crazy and the room was charge of course by booking, and if you check the email we send you since 29 th of April you did not even respond anything and you did not check our politics that if you don't respond the email if arrive later than 8npm without warning us you are arriving after 11 pm we will proceed to cancel, after all this it was a restriction for covid that all business have to close at 11 at that day and after all I gave you the phone number from the guy on reception as an emergencie and you did not follow any of our advice and arrive and not call the phone number and don't give any explanation, ahhh but after 10 days suddenly you got the phone number I text you since the 29 th of April your husband Called me thretining that he will put. Abad review everywhere... I call myself to booking and they give me the right action of the room been charge and if you did not check anything its not my fault, we are not a Hampton in we are a small bedandbrekfast that we can wait you untill anytime but at least with a former information about your arrival. Time or delays. Take care good life and next time read its easy you had just 8 months to contact us and you did not!!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Myztyc wrote a review Apr 2014
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After reading the previous reviews, we decided to have a look at this hotel, as most reviews were positive. The reviews about bad hygiene seemed older, so maybe things had changed or maybe the reviewers were there on a bad day...
At first sight, the room seemed nice enough. So we dropped our bags and returned in the evening. When we gave the room a second look, we noticed a few things we didn't like. Behind the room there was a private balcony, where several old bee- or wasp nests were hanging from the ceiling. There was also a new nest full of flying insects (no idea what kind). When we told staff about it, they just said we shouldn't worry about being bitten, as no one else had been bitten before and they adviced us to just keep the door shut. There was no other room for us. However, with the room shut, the room got very hot. So to get the heat out of the room, we used the fan, which only could be switched on or off, no other options in between. But as it blew the air in from the balcony, in came the smell of a sewer.

Above the bed was a hanging lamp where a spider had created his home. He had caught several flying insects in it and as we watched, he caught a few more. However, bigger moths could fly through his web, destroying it in the process and throwing dead insects on our bed.

In the toilet, weird larva-like creatures were swimming. Acoording to staff that is normal in Costa Rica, especially in dry season and they supposedly are harmless and hard to kill. It was a suprise for us, and even after having been in Costa Rica twice, we have never seen them anywhere else in this country, which made us sceptical about this story. We could flush the toilet, which kept them away for a few minutes, but they would always swim back up.

Then, as we were sitting outside in the front at night, a huge rat walked past us. It was the size of a cat, never seen a rat that big. It seemed to have come out of our room, but he could have come out of another part of the hotel as well, just passing trough our door. Either way, it gave us the creeps and we felt very uncomfortable staying there.

So do not ignore the previous reviews about the hygiene in this hotel, it's all true and we know from experience there are many better hotels around in this area for a similar price.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from marc19903, Propietario at Villa Pacande
Responded Apr 12, 2014
muchas gracias por tal mal comentario que no ayuda a que mejoremos solo a ver como la gente se dedica hacer daño a los hoteles que intentamos hacer lo mejor posible, no era una rata ya que dices que es la segunda vez que vienes deberias saber que era un zorrillo animal tipico de costa rica y ya que estamos en medio de un bosque por suerte disfrutamos de tan bonitos animales, tambien las arañas es muy dificil limpiar ya que ese mismo dia se limpio pero no se si sabes que muy muy muy rapidamente se hacen otra vez un nido en question de 2 horas tranquilamente, los animalitos que habian en el inodoro son acausa de las lluvias cuando llueve en las zonas de montaña pasa eso salen esos bichitos inofensivos como yo le dije y usted en ese momento muy ironicamente se rio y me dijo tranquilo no hay problema! otra cosa que me gustaria acalrar esque usted llego la chica de la limpieza le explico todo como estava era la ultima hab que teniamos y tuvimos un pequeño problema con un nido de abejas en el techo del balcon usted acepto y no dijo nada! y como bien dijo se fue y no pago y despues regreso, tranquilamente me podia haber dicho no me parece bien y me voy a ir y yo con una sonrisa y muy amablamente no le hubiera dicho nada pero si despues de todo lo que yo le dije aun acepto en quedarse me parece de muy mal gusto poner tal critica solo apra hacer daño y con muchas mentiras de todos modos aprecio el gesto y si puede ser para otros lugares no escribas tales cosas tan equivocadas y haz un comentario constructivo, lo que te gusto y lo que se puede mejorar , muchas gracias espero que con este comentario si lo logra leer algun dia haya aprendido algo! :) muchas gracias mi nombre es Marc Pujadó y mi email es info@villapacande.com si deseas ponerte en contacto conmigo estare encnatado de leer tu email!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RenaeL wrote a review Nov 2013
Calabasas, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We made a reservation at Cortez Azul. After traveling for a long time we were exhausted and we were told we would be moved to Villa Pacande because the room we had reserved wouldn't be available till the next day. Since we had no choice, we agreed.

The location is away from the city, impossible to get to or leave unless you have a car. The owner gave us a ride to get dinner in town and brought us back. We were never offered breakfast the next morning.

I was upset that the internet was not working in our room and the owner kept insisting that it did. Why would I lie about that? It would only work in his office.

The owner's demeanor and behavior was driven by his gigantic ego and his treatment of his guess was less than desirable. He told me that I couldn't get the signal because I didn't know what I was doing. Very condescending. We left the next day and didn't get our deposit back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ka530 wrote a review Jun 2018
Vancouver, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked in & immediately had a bad feeling, but tried to ignore it. Manager/owner? was friendly. That’s about the only good thing going for this accommodation. Sheets and towels were ancient and thread bare. Dirty floor, which we asked to have re swept. No hot water. After our very long day of travel, we had a speedy freezing cold shower, thinking we could tough it out for 12 hours before going to the airport to come home. That’s when we noticed the bugs coming out of the rafters into the ceilings. At that point we left. I can say the manager/owner did try to offer us another room, but we had a hard time getting past all the issues we had just experienced in the less than 1 hour we had been in the room. He was apologetic, handled it well, and even gave us our money back. I was pleasantly surprised by that & feel its necessary to mention all of that. I couldn’t not mention our experience though as a fair warning to other travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from marc19903, Owner at Villa Pacande
Responded Jun 4, 2018
Hi thats a nice review! Sure thats sooo weird it was pepole here with us and they hear all what you were telling even they come to the room with me to check and you know what was the response from there it looks nice to me.. hot water? It works!! Wifi?? It works all you complain was perfectly working! Sure the floor was dirty! Because we forget the window open and raind very hard and windy... all goes in! I told you! And ill gave you back your money call you a taxi and you leave and after this you write this!? Nice! Thanks i wish tamara and the other guest will weite a review too and tell that you are writing a huge lie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dritzen wrote a review Apr 2013
Zug, Switzerland
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay one night in Hotel Cortez Azul. As the fridge did look terrible and the door did not lock, the spanish owner promised us his second hotel Villa Pacande. Cortez Azul was also very noisy as of 5 am. The owner promised us free transportation from Villa Pacande to Alajuela whenever we want. As we came to his bar around 9.30 pm, he told us to wait for an hour because he wants to have dinner first. Of cours we took a taxi. On our last day, we had to take a taxi again around 6 am because it ws too early for them. Further our room and bathroom was dirty with spiders webs, dust etc and it smells bad. You do not want to put your food in this fridge as well because this was dirty as well. It seems that he overtook this hotel 2 years ago without taking care of his customers. For sure you will find something better and cleaner for your money. They were having exuses for all our complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yuuuuuli wrote a review Aug 2011
New York City, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed there with my husband on the first night we arrived to Costa Rica.
Unfortunately it was farther then we thought, it's actually outside of Alajuela.
The breakfast was average (even less), so was the service.
The place is pretty clean and the room was big, but we did expect to get more from the hotel for the price per night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cyclngirl wrote a review Jan 2019
Berkeley, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When Villa Pacande showed my family of 5 our room costing $80 for the night, I couldn't believe the room they gave us. One of my family members said they could tell it was made from a shipping container. Essentially, it was extremely narrow and small, the two bunk beds didn't even have a ladder to get to the top bunk, the top bunk didn't even have a blanket, and whenever my grandaughter who was in the top bunk above me moved, the whole bed shook me keeping me up all night because the bed was so flimsy. I have never felt claustrophobic in a hotel room during y travels until that night. I'm telling you, it was a rip off!!! I will say, however, that the food in their restaurant was pretty good, though they charged me more than they originally said the meals would cost. I was too tired to complain.

Caution, their ad on the internet shows a quaint, lovely garden with small pool, more like the size of a pond, and I assumed the hotel room would match the loveliness of the garden... quite the opposite!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Connie M asked a question Aug 2016
Byron Bay, Australia3 contributions5 helpful votes
is there hot showers ?
Answer from sybariteAylmer
Gatineau, Canada156 contributions72 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from 219happytraveler
Manhattan, Kansas2 contributions
There is a place just down the hill. I think it is easily within walking distance.
Answer from eleonora622
buenos aires26 contributions3 helpful votes
hola a mi me salio 15 dolares ir hasta el hotel , el mismo me contrato el taxi si contratas uber desde el aeropuerto tal vez te salga mas barato por ahi ahorras 10 dolares tendrias que ver y bus hay uno pero tendrias que preguntar a villa pacande
chrissuiza wrote a tip Jul 2018
Zurich, Switzerland8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had the room in the top of the building. It had a private balcony."
Read full review
flpisces67 wrote a tip Mar 2018
Tampa, Florida48 contributions41 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else for a good room"
Read full review
Chelsey R wrote a tip May 2017
Eastern Passage, Canada179 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the windows to be closed before you get there"
Read full review
Cheeser08 wrote a tip Jul 2016
Lubbock, Texas59 contributions56 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms were pretty much the same."
Read full review
Andrew-M-Fenn wrote a tip Jul 2015
Omaha, Nebraska10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all looked good to me!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Poas Volcano National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
C$41 - C$56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of AlajuelaPoas Volcano National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Villa Pacande - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Pacande
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Pacande?
Nearby attractions include Our Lady of the Pillar Cathedral (0.9 km), Juan Santamaria Historical Cultural Museum (0.9 km), and Tour Adventure Costa Rica S.A. (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Pacande?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Pacande?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Pacande?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Pacande?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rosti - Plaza Real Alajuela, Jalapenos Central, and El Chante Vegano.
Does Villa Pacande have airport transportation?
Yes, Villa Pacande offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Villa Pacande?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Pacande?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, and Catalan.
Is Villa Pacande accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Poas Volcano National Park HotelsPoas Volcano National Park Hotel DealsHotels near Villa Pacande
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars