We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mystica Lodge & Retreats

13 Km On The Road To Tierras Morenas Turn Onto Hwy 927 Halfway between Nuevo Arenal and Tilarán, Arenal Volcano National Park 29-5710 Costa Rica
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (251)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (27)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 32 lodges in Arenal Volcano National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mystica Hotel is a tropical paradise with an excellent Italian restaurant, wonderful yoga and meditation classes in a forest sanctuary, a detoxifying infrared sauna, a dipping pool with a waterfall, and tree-top therapies such as massage and Reiki. Mystica is conveniently close to all of the great adventures and water sports that Lake Arenal offers: windsurfing, kayaking and fishing, excursions to Arenal Volcano including canopy tour and hot springs (40 km/25 miles from the hotel) and Tenorio National Park with its world famous Rio Celeste waterfall hike (35 km/22 miles from the hotel). Mystica Hotel is especially designed for travelers who want to relax and/or be in contact with nature. The lodge sits atop a rolling green hill and is surrounded by lush gardens. The rooms don't have TV, WiFi, or phones to support the complete relaxation of our guests, but there is free WiFi in the reception and restaurant area. Mystica's motto, inspiring all who visit, is: 'Live the Magic!'
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Babysitting
Valet parking
Internet
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Yoga room
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Hiking
Horseback riding
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Indoor play area for children
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Spa
Hot spring bath
Massage
Solarium
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Tile / marble floor
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
223Reviews4Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 37
  • 12
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jessica wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
+1
I just took my level 3 reiki mastery training with lori and i can't say enough great things about this retreat. Mystica is a truly magical place, and Lori is not only an amazing teacher but a very welcoming friendly person. This was my second retreat at Mystica, and every time I go, it becomes an even better experience. The staff is exceptional and goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The food they serve is not only delicious but also made with love. I will absolutely recommend retreats at Mystica to anyone looking for an unforgettable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Frank F wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
It is hard to put into words how fantastic Mystica Lodge & Retreat Center is. It felt amazing from the minute we arrived to the tearful minute we had to leave. They take such good care of all of there guest, like they are family. The food was always amazing. I slept so good every night. The beauty of the the entire place is breathe taking. The only thing that made me sad was, that I was unable to see any howler monkeys with my own eyes. But a beautiful friend did and she was able to get amazing pictures. But of course that was not in Mystica's control. So if I could give more than 5 stars I would give them 100. Thank you so much Barbara for an epic adventure.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
WindsorCedric wrote a review Dec 2023
Windsor6 contributions
A delightful peaceful place with great views of Lake Arenal. Simple but comfortable and relaxed. Food and drink is good and reasonably priced. The gardens are lovely. The owners are welcoming and treated us as personal guests. What a pleasure!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only open to hotel guests for part of the year. It serves as a retreat for the rest of the time.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David B wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Mystica is, by far, the most incredible retreat venue I have experienced. The experience allows you to feel so submersed in nature, in a luxurious, beautiful and comfortable way. The grounds and views are breathtaking, the food is incredible, and the staff is so considerate, present, welcoming and gracious. I can't say enough about this piece of paradise. I look forward to spending much more time here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Frank R wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Mystica was the best experience I had in Costa Rica. The grounds were immaculate, staff was super kind. I stayed in the private villa by myself and it was heaven. My favorite meal at the restaurant was the homemade ravioli. I highly recommend Mystica!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Travel Savvy wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
We stumbled upon this magical hotel in the Arenal region of Costa Rica and fell in love with it immediately! Mystica has a sense of beauty and charm that is rare to find. The staff was so lovely and kind, and the grounds are full of tropical wonders. As we walked around, we felt like we were in Heaven on Earth! Our room was very beautiful, comfortable, and clean, and we enjoyed a few delicious meals at the restaurant. The atmosphere in the restaurant at night is so enchanting! Filled with color and candlelight and relaxing music. I already can't wait to come back one day. Our stay at Mystica will remain in our hearts and our memories as one of the best parts of our trip. Don't miss this place! We highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tanya B wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
The grounds and energy at Mystica are so incredibly magical!! My expectations have been exceeded in every possible way. The beautiful community of workers here make you feel so welcomed and comfortable. The views are absolutely breathtaking. The cabins are secluded and private, and the whole experience allows you to feel so connected to nature. The food is simply exquisite. There are truly not enough words to describe the divinity and beauty of this incredibly special place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
langford62 wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom14 contributions11 helpful votes
Be aware - as I wish we had known - that this is just a retreat centre and not a hotel in any shape or form. There was no one to welcome us or a manager around just someone who was careful to take my money in the first five minutes; the rooms were poor and the shower did not work - when I reported this nothing happened; the advertised infrared sauna was all locked up and no one to ask to open it. It all had the weird air of an abandoned place. It was so bad that despite paying for 2 nights we left after one; we wrote to the manager asking for a refund for the second night and we never even had a reply. No doubt it is fine if you are there with a group on a hosted retreat but really should not operate as a hotel otherwise.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francesco Carullo, Owner at Mystica Lodge & Retreats
Responded Dec 16, 2023
I am very saddened to receive this review. This guest booked 2 nights at Mystica, snd then wrote to us expressing a desire to cancel because the double occupancy rate was too expensive for her budget. In response, I kindly honored the single room rate to accommodate her financial constraints. She and her companion arrived at the hotel on a day of heavy rain and strong wind. As per our policy, we proceeded with payment and credit card verification. The companion was very polite, but the lady seemed displeased. After having dinner and appearing calm, they went to their room, and the lady informed us that the shower water was not working. I promptly sent staff to check the room and adjacent ones, but the lady refused entry for inspection. Everything was functioning properly in the neighboring rooms. The next day, the housekeeper informed me that the guests were looking for me. However, the room was found empty, with no luggage, and the restaurant bill had not been settled. In terms of the Infrared Sauna, that wellness therapy is to be booked in advance and paid for separately from the hotel stay. We keep the sauna locked and prepare it for guests who sign up for it. It is not the kind of sauna that is kept running all day - it is an extra service and we always show guests how to use it properly before they enter in. I have not received any communication from this guest, and the shower was in perfect working order when we were able to access the room and check it out. I leave it to your interpretation of this guest’s behavior and subsequent review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachel F wrote a review Nov 2023
14 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This was our first stop in Costa Rica to visit tenorio national park It was so relaxing after a long flight Breakfast, evening dining and grounds were fantastic Would recommend to all that are costing Costa Rica xxx
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Helena207 wrote a review Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom23 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed here for a couple of nights while travelling around Costa Rica. It’s a beautiful, tranquil spot. The garden are so lovely with great views of the lake. The rooms are really comfortable and the service is delightful. The food is simple, natural and homemade. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Arenal Volcano National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
C$212 - C$230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mystica restaurant lodge & retreats hotel arenal volcano national park, mystica restaurant lodge and retreats
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of AlajuelaArenal Volcano National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Mystica Lodge & Retreats - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mystica Lodge & Retreats
Which popular attractions are close to Mystica Lodge & Retreats?
Nearby attractions include Leona's Art Studio (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mystica Lodge & Retreats?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mystica Lodge & Retreats?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Mystica Lodge & Retreats?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mystica Lodge & Retreats?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mystica Lodge & Retreats?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Brisas del Lago, Cafe y Macadamia, and Casa Delagua.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mystica Lodge & Retreats?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Mystica Lodge & Retreats have airport transportation?
Yes, Mystica Lodge & Retreats offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mystica Lodge & Retreats?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Does Mystica Lodge & Retreats have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.