We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,352: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2012

If you like to camp - you will like this resort. If you don't mind bugs - you will like this resort (and if you actually like bugs you will be over the moon.) It is in a beautiful setting and is very peaceful. Unfortunately I didn't like it - didn't realise just how many creepy-crawly things lived in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank traveller7780
Rocio V, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

I very much appreciate the 5 stars you gave us, especially considering you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do talk to guests and get comment cards upon checking out, and if guests are very unhappy we do try to compensate them. I have lived on property for 6 years and can't imagine what type of creepy crawly...

New York
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This resort has a superb location, grounds, rooms and amenities with a friendly staff but misses the finishing touch to reach excellence. Staff is friendly and with some further training could surpass the amateur feeling that it sometimes exudes. Rooms are well appointed, all with great views and within walking distance of the restaurant. Pick up and drop off service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dutchtreat
Rocio V, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We talk to all our guests and everyone gives us a comment card as they leave. I have only heard from guests who loved the resort and am sorry you did not. Our breakfasts are different every day and the bar refrigerator is given to us by Coke and tucked into a corner. Please contact reservations so we can compensate...

Deerfield Beach, Florida
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We unfortunately came for 4 days of which 3 days it rained. I must say that the hotel did everything they could to make our stay happy in spite of the bad weather. We hiked on the property trails and half way through we got poured on. It was still fun and the hotel has a special during rainy days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Lost Iguana and had a magical time. 2 of the 3 days it rained so we had one sunny day to do the zip lines and go to Hanging Bridges. (Both were great!) The other 2 days we had even a better time relaxing at the resort. The spa was amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iliana V
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel was fantastic! Every hotel employee was very helpful, friendly and ensured we had everything we needed. We stayed in a luxury suite and was happy we upgraded. We had our own private jacuzzi tub and the shower was outdoors - super cool!! I would certainly stay at this hotel again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie Z
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We arrived late for only one night acomodation and fell in love. Dinner was the best of the week at this resort, and the setting was intimate romantic, the staff was friendly and accomodating. The private balcony to view and listen to nature was really sureal. The bartender was amazing and so was the companie, we met a super fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne d
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The Lost Iguana Resort and Spa is still by far the most dramatic and panoramic volcano and private rainforest experience in Arenal. The rooms and terraces are vast, the vistas are post-card stunning, while the quietude, service and privacy are levels beyond anything else available in the area. I have stayed 5 times and they always meet my expectations for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael m
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 January 2012

That was our second time at the Lost Iguana hotel. The hotel is looking at the volcano and is uniquely located. Last time the Arenal was visible and it was an extraordinary show we could watch all night from our bed. This time, it was raining but we did like the large room with the little patio in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jattal
Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed at the Lost Iguana over Christmas and found the whole resort to be overall very special. We stayed in a 2- bedroom celebrity suite at the end of the property and the staff happily supplied a ride up the hill whenever we requested. The wI-fi was excellent, The rooms are shipped with Apple TV, but we could only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noodler_10
Rocio V, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We had a meeting and will be putting instructions for the apple TVs on the device so everyone knows how to operate them. They do have movies so I'm sorry you didn't get help while you are there. I was gone over the holidays and when I returned we had a meeting...

Stevensville, Montana
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I must admit that I am not much for traveling. However, my wife had been bugging me for some time to take an "adventurous" trip with her. I agreed to go as long as we stayed in one spot the whole time. Lucky for me she chose to stay at Lost Iguana. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I always...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mtman23

1,696 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1281)
Viewed
Room/Suite (292)
Viewed
View from Room (178)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (229)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (364)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (407)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Condo (65)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Villa (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
2.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,568 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,733 reviews
4.1 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,643 reviews
2.8 km away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,060 reviews
3.1 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range: $273 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#9 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#9 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lost Iguana Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Lost Iguana Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Many rooms located on steep hillside but golf cart or van transport to/from rooms is always available”
 of 5 bubbles lisadA8716RJ, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room #14 (two double beds) with two adults and two teens...it was a bit small for us, but the balcony was large.”
 of 5 bubbles BHL2, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You're in the jungle, so keep an eye out for the little critters that are fun to see and some that are not so fun like bullet ants. They are part of the whole system, so nothing to fear, just be aware”
 of 5 bubbles 999dans, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in 2nd floor unit. I recommend #24-26.”
 of 5 bubbles dannymL3743FA, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room closer to the front desk”
 of 5 bubbles 403Melissa1971, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay