We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Liberia

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Liberia
Hotel Liberia
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Liberia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 16 August 2016

There is no AC unfortunately but since we just needed a place to stay one night after getting in at the airport at 11pm we thought we could handle it. I didn't sleep at all. Hottest night I've ever spent... On another note... place was clean and staff was friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sierra316
KatadeSanCarlos, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review

Hola! We are totally aware of the urgent need of A/C in rooms and are working hard in a project to have it fixed as soon as possible. Thanks for your comments, guest opinion will always be important for us to improve.

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel after seeing the cute pictures and good reviews. However, when we arrived we found the room to be disgusting. The floor was concrete and cracked with many holes. The door to the bathroom could barely be called white there was so much dirt on it. Visible finger marks in dirt. The bathroom sink was cracked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandon S
KatadeSanCarlos, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review

Hola Brandon, We are sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay with us. We don´t offer A/C in rooms in any of our advertizing or website description, although we are totally aware this is an urgent improvement we need to fix as soon as possible. I´m wondering if you ever asked to Front Desk to change your room, we definately had...

Reviewed 19 July 2016

My friend and I stayed here for several days at different portions of our trip in Central America. We stayed here one night with two of our other friends and paid for a room with two double beds. The room had very high ceilings and no window except at the very top of the room. There was a ceiling fan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
Reviewed 2 July 2016

I stayed at Hotel Liberia for almost two weeks while studying parrots, and the staff made us feel like I was living among family. Every morning myself and my crew looked forward to a wonderful breakfast that came with a minimal cost. The beds are wonderfully comfortable, and sometimes we ate in for another lovely meal. The showers are basic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine D
Englewood, Colorado
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We stayed here as we flew in late and did not want to start out driving to our next destination. Its is a great value and the staff was very friendly and helpful. When we could not get our phones to work to call the rental car company, they called them directly asked them to bring our car to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 97Lynn1963
Vail, Colorado
Reviewed 18 May 2016

This quaint hotel is in a great location in Liberia, with a pretty courtyard and genuine friendly staff. We were not looking for anything upscale, and wanted to experience true Costa Rica. We knew there was no air con when we booked, so we were not surprised with the basic but comfortable room. Very pleasant stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
Barrigada, Mariana Islands
Reviewed 4 May 2016

I was totally happy there. It was the week before Easter so the town was very quiet so no noise.The staff was great. Place was clean. The hot water wasn't needed as it was so hot there. Ceiling fans were fine for me as that is all I have at home where it is hot also. Has secure parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank potlucksmom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Hotel Liberia was very nice, in the center of the city. The hotel staff was very friendly. Wi-Fi worked great, it was clean and and overall good place to stay. The only negative points that i have are... There is no AC, they have two fans in the room, but if you need your room cold to sleep this might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TRValentine
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a quick over night stay before continuing onto monteverde. It was exactly what we needed. Adorable courtyard area with very friendly staff. Would definitely recommend for backpackers flying into Liberia for the night. But as a forewarning there isn't hot water or AC. But you're in Costa Rica so what else do you need!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren H
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Stayed here twice, once on the way in to Costa Rica and once on the way out. The first time, we had a room with high ceilings and were very comfortable. The second time, however, we were in the back building and the heat was intolerable. There was no ventilation whatsoever. We didn't sleep at all. They simply need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renée H

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Casona Two Double Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Tower Room (Double and Single Beds) (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
11.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.6 km away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 km away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
0.7 km away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#5 of 16 in Liberia
71 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#13 of 16 in Liberia
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Price Range: $18 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Liberia staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Liberia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms at the back. Central Liberia, so traffic can be an issue but you can walk to all amenities and great restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with tall ceilings in front building are cooler.”
 of 5 bubbles ren_eh947, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The main building is worth paying extra for but the rooms on the street can be a bit noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Mar186525, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms will be noisy as directly on street.”
 of 5 bubbles JillyfB, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a window that opens. The fans work.”
 of 5 bubbles lauramV3207YF, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay