We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
100m Al Sur de Oficna de Minae, Playa Grande Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$428
View deal
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$344
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-17
TravelocityUS$428
StayForLong
eDreamsUS$475
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (338)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (95)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Playa Grande
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Fishing
Table tennis
Massage
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

59Somewhat walkable
Grade: 59 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
1Attractionwithin 0.5 km
570Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 414
  • 104
  • 31
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
david k wrote a review Jan. 2023
1 contribution
This place is such a no brainer: If you love walking beaches... jackpot, If you surfing... JACKPOT, If you love sunsets ... damn it just doesn't get any better, If you eat... bring 2 stomachs, if you chill... ohmmmm (and then you can give me advice lol ;) AND if you want all that in one spot, surrounded by staff that makes you feel like family then THIS IS IT. BTW, how much would you could you pay for all that?? RipJack surely charge much less .... Simply mind boggling. PLEASE DONT CHANGE! we love you, Thanks again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alexandra wrote a review Jan. 2023
Tyreso, Sweden7 contributions8 helpful votes
Super family holiday with swimming at the beach in the waves, and some swimming in the hotel pools. Turtle tour and river tour recommended. Recommended best restaurant in the area is El Huerto a 10minute walk away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brooke M wrote a review Jan. 2023
2 contributions
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was a bit “eh”. Our check in was at 2pm and they told us our room was not ready - we had to wait around 30 minutes. Once we got to our room the power was out. The location is a quick 30 second walk to the beach which was amazing. The grounds itself was very cute and quaint. Bartenders and staff were friendly! Restaurant was delicious, but slightly overpriced. It is a very isolated location, but truly a surfers paradise if all you want to do is that!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lutrasimilis21 wrote a review Jan. 2023
New York City, New York50 contributions13 helpful votes
Avoid the congestion and crowd in downtown Tamarindo. Playa Grande is the place to truly relax and unwind and yet have easy access to the tours operated from Tamarindo. Short walk (3 min) to the beach and several dining options (incl the onsite restaurant). Friendly and helpful staff. Nice pools
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RipJack Inn, Owner at RipJack Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were treated in the best way. We focus on making you all feel welcome :) Thank you so much for for visiting us Warm regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David B wrote a review Dec. 2022
1 contribution
Marine park offers seclusion with surfers vibe. For bike lovers, low tide offers a 20 minute cycle to Tamarindo with a $4.00 water taxis to cross the dividing line between the chaos of Tamarindo and Marine Park.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RipJack Inn, Owner at RipJack Inn
Responded Dec. 19, 2022
Hello David. Thank you for your comments. We really appreciate it Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana M wrote a review Dec. 2022
Quito, Ecuador13 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed at the RipJack 3 times this year. The first was for a yoga retreat, the second time for a vacation, and the third because I loved it so much. Each experience was totally unique. The constant though, was how much I enjoyed my time in Playa Grande. It's quiet - an oasis retreat from the rest of the world. Staff at RJ are so pleasant and accommodating. In my opinion, they're doing all the right things to create a safe, happy and healthy home away from home.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RipJack Inn, Owner at RipJack Inn
Responded Dec. 19, 2022
Hello Ana Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were treated in the best way. We focus on making you all feel welcome :) Thank you so much for for visiting us again Warm regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MackyNYC wrote a review Dec. 2022
2 contributions
I have faithfully come to this hotel with family and friends for 14 years. This is the first time I have come alone. Don't bother coming here if you are alone as the staff treats you like a second class citizen. It is particularly awful in their restaurant. The servers only focus on big groups. If you are eating alone, you might as well be invisible. So disappointed in my experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RipJack Inn, Owner at RipJack Inn
Responded Dec. 9, 2022
Hello Macky We apologize about the situation regarding the restaurant side, we will talk to our co workers about the issue and hopefully this don't happen again, because for RipJack every single person that visit us is important for us. I want to let you know that we have a restaurant TripAdvisor page for the restaurant reviews too. Saludes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Drsurffamily wrote a review Nov. 2022
1 contribution
Great week long family stay at Rip Jack. Close to the main break at Grande for those who surf and/ or want to chill on the beach. The staff here truly exude Pura Vida and treat you like family. The restaurant is very good with many options for breakfast lunch and dinner. It is a bit pricy for Costa Rica but the quality of their food is exceptional. The entire restaurant staff are focused on making your dining experience memorable and exceed expectations on delivery of such. Front desk staff are much the same with being helpful and simply lovely. Good family vibes location, couples or for the solo traveler which is not easy to pull off in other lodging options. Happy employees = good vibes & service, nice job owners! We will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RipJack Inn, Owner at RipJack Inn
Responded Dec. 9, 2022
Hello We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were treated in the best way. We focus on making you all feel welcome and enjoy the Pura Vida. It is an honor for us to know that our clients leave happy. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. Warm regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nancyA7465PO wrote a review Nov. 2022
1 contribution
Our family stayed at the Rip Jack for our first visit to Costa Rica. The hotel, staff, food, sunsets, and beach were the best. We will not stay anywhere else. It was one of our top vacations. Rip Jack is and incredible place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RipJack Inn, Owner at RipJack Inn
Responded Dec. 9, 2022
Hello Nancy Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Our priority will always be to make our clients feel happy and to constantly return. We really appreciate your comments Pura vida :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IceTribe wrote a review Nov. 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
Amazing place to stay, beautifully delicious food and friendly staff, 2 pools to choose from. Live music on Friday night was really cool and the rooms are positioned in such a way that you still have your peace and quiet. Cant wait to visit again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RipJack Inn, Owner at RipJack Inn
Responded Dec. 9, 2022
Hello We are very happy to know that you enjoyed every moment. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon :) Warm regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel ripjack playa grande
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlaya Grande
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RipJack Inn (C̶$̶1̶6̶9̶) C$114 - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Costa Rica/Playa Grande) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about RipJack Inn
Which popular attractions are close to RipJack Inn?
Nearby attractions include Las Baulas National Marine Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at RipJack Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at RipJack Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at RipJack Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at RipJack Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to RipJack Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taco Star, Upstairs at the RipJack Inn, and Hotel Las Tortugas -Dining.
Are there opportunities to exercise at RipJack Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Is RipJack Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 km away from the centre of Playa Grande.
Are pets allowed at RipJack Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at RipJack Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is RipJack Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.