We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Palm Beach Estates Cabo Velas, Playa Grande 50308 Costa Rica
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
US$96
US$91
View Deal
SAVE US$5
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$96
Agoda.comUS$91
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (238)
360
Panoramas (3)
Videos (1)

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Playa Grande
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our small Boutique Hotel is situated in the Northwest of Guanacaste on a peninsula bordering directly on Marino Las Baulas National Park. We are 100m from the almost deserted endless beach of Playa Grande. In our beautiful double rooms & tropical garden you will find tranquility & relaxation in soothing seclusion. Our atmospheric Bistro invites you to tasty culinary excursions for your eyes and taste. Our experienced team looks after you with great care, doing their very best to make your holiday a pleasantly unforgettable one. Our extremely accommodating staff will always be more than happy to help you with anything you need from tour booking to make Cantarana a home away from home. Surfing is only one minute away from our front door and perfect for all level of surfers. We offer surf lessons and board rentals. Thank you for choosing us Cantarana Team
Read more
Room & Suite (86)86
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Car hire
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
346Reviews9Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 281
  • 45
  • 12
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Amberzo wrote a review Dec. 2020
Tallahassee, Florida223 contributions81 helpful votes
Well, when we first arrived there was no one there to check us in. We had received an email stating that if we arrived late (after 9pm) they would leave instructions for us but since we got there at 5pm we thought we would not have to worry about that. There was no one there. Office was locked up tight and there was literally no one around. I tried calling three times. No answer. I emailed. No response. So after wandering around in the rain for about 30 minutes a random guy pulls up on an atv. We finally asked him if he knew where the staff was an he's like, 'oh, you're here to check in? I think you're staying back here' and leads my husband back to a room somewhere with a key just stuck in the door. Ok. Well I guess through osmosis we were just supposed to know that. We get all of stuff lugged back there and there are no light bulbs in most of the light fixtures and ants everywhere. Whatever. We moved some lightbulbs around and just deal with the ants. It's around this time that I finally get an email back from someone at the property saying, 'oh yeah, sorry, we're at our other hotel up the road'. Apparently we were also supposed to know this by osmosis. By this point I am livid but also exhausted so we just deal with it, take a swim and turn on the tv to relax before going to bed. Of course the tv doesn't work. We go to bed, get up in the morning ready for a new day and to leave the awfulness behind us from the previous night. Go to get our free breakfast before we hit the road for a 5 hour drive and guess what? Restaurant is not open. Chained off at the stairs. Unreal. I will absolutely go back to Costa Rica and Playa Grande but even if this hotel was offered to us for free I would not stay there again. Zero customer service. Literally. We didn't see one staff member the entire time we were there. There don't exist.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: avoid at all costs
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico de Mezerville, Director General at Hotel Cantarana
Responded Dec. 7, 2020
Hola Amber, Thank you for your time sharing your experience in our hotel ! We normally are very good costumer service and we truly believe our guest have a great time with us! Is been a very hard year for us, because of the pandemic lots of issues, let go a lot of staff and try to survive this hard times. We are doing our best to be ready for our guests, so we apologize for the inconvenience! You do get indications how to proceed in your only night with us! Restaurant was close but open for our guest to provide your breakfast at 8am. So we think you had all the info you need to have a good time, also we provide a costumer service number so you can reach us anytime! So thank you for let us know your position! We truly wish you the best and happy holidays! Pura Vida
Read more
Wayne M wrote a review Feb. 2020
Hilltown, Pennsylvania31 contributions17 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This is the 7th year in a row my wife and I have traveled to Costa Rica and more specifically Playa Grande and the Hotel Cantarana. Each year we enjoy our visit more and more. There are only 5 rooms and the hotel along with their restaurant and bar are generally quiet and peaceful. We look forward to seeing old familiar faces along with new friends each time we go. Located just a few minutes from the beautiful Playa Grande beach this hotel treats you like you are family. New this year are hammocks on the patio of each room, new refrigerators and a/c units, bedding and sheets and a few toiletries in the bath. There is a lovely quiet pool in the middle of the grounds and the meals provided at breakfast, lunch and dinner are delicious. They feature a happy hour and the staff go out of their way to take care of you. In addition to Mario who we met last year, Mike, Thomas, Sara and Operations Mgr. Liz are amazing. Courteous, knowledgeable and attentive, you could not ask for a nicer staff to oversee your stay. They will set up tours and reservations for you if needed and offer yoga 3x a week at their sister hotel just a few hundred feet away. We have already made our reservations for next year, its that great a place! Just 7 years ago I vowed I would never vacation in the same place twice, that was until we found Hotel Cantarana. So glad we did!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico d, Propietario at Hotel Cantarana
Responded Feb. 25, 2020
Hola Wayne and Donna, Is always so nice to host you every year! We see you part of the family! We are excite for your next visit! We hope every time you visit us you can see the improvements!! In behalf of our entire team, we appreciate your good comments for our costumer service staff! Pura Vida Fede
Read more
RFussell2015 wrote a review Jun. 2020
Cebu Island, Philippines6 contributions6 helpful votes
Easy to get to, refreshing unheated pool, nice views from our second floor room, delicious breakfast, quiet surroundings, 3 min walk to beach, 5 min walk, nice comfy room w balcony and hammock, comfy bed, great tv, nice owner who wa very accommodating, excellent breakfast to restaurants
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico de Mezerville, Director General at Hotel Cantarana
Responded Sep. 16, 2020
Hola!! Thank you, so much for your time sharing your experience! Thank you for comment in our service and restaurant! Hope to see you in the future! Please stay safe! Pura Vida
Read more
David C wrote a review Mar. 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We chose this place because it only has 5 rooms. We wanted a quiet vacation and it’s exactly what we got. The pool are is small yet more than enough space for everyone, while still giving each couple privacy. The hammocks are comfortable but a little noisy of you swing in them. Not the Hotel’s fault, just be aware that if you swing, you might disturb other guests. What we didn’t expect was the quality of the food. Every meal was amazing! The staff, Liz, Mike, and the rest were extremely pleasant and eager to help. A couple things to note: 1) water pressure isn’t too strong. If more than one room has a shower going at same time, you aren’t going to get much water. So if you turn on your shower and get low pressure, be kind to the other person who is halfway through theirs! Wait 5 mins or so and try again. And keep your own showers short if possible. 2) It’s not a fair review of I don’t say the negative part, so here goes: you can’t flush toilet paper. There’s a garbage can there for all the dirty toilet paper. Want to make that a more pleasant experience for everyone (you, the person you share he room with, the housekeepers)? Stop at a pet store before you travel and get a roll of poop bags. Put your waste into one of those bags, tie it off, toss it in the trash and that will leave he bathroom smelling just fine and not make things awkward for anyone! 3) Please keep track of the time. Quiet time is 10PM and your tile floors upstairs don’t mask a lot of sound for the people downstairs! 4) Don’t feed the birds. They are smarter than you think and if you give them a speck of food on day 1 and ignore them on day 5 they will feel offended and make it known, usually by jumping at you 5) don’t be afraid of the giant lizard that eats all the flowers that fall from the trees or the little lizards that climb the walls at night. However, feel free to be terrified of that giant spider that hangs out near room 1. 8 went to battle twice with that sumbitch and I’m still half expecting him to be in my luggage waiting to jump out at me as soon as s o try to unpack in the morning. 6) don’t hog any particular set of chairs. Especially under the Palapa. We had one coupe, there that was “claiming” he two Lou ge chairs under there by 7 am each day, then get two of the sitting chairs and bring them over as well (“it’s easier to read in these”) effectively hogging half of the chairs to themselves all day. Fortunately they left after we were there 3 days. If you want to claim it for yourself for a day, fine, but let someone else get it tomorrow. They paid just as much as you did for the room. Anyway, I can’t say enough good things about this hotel. We had rented a car so we can go to Tamarindo, Rio Celeste, and Diamante Eco Adventures, but if you are fine just alternating between beach and pool, here’s no need to rent a car. We are already planning on going back next year and we are pretty sure we will skip the rental next time. Thank you for an AWESOME week. We really can’t wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All 5 rooms are great!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico d, Gerente at Hotel Cantarana
Responded Mar. 24, 2020
Hola! Wow!! Thank for your time sharing your experience! We are really happy your are planning your next visit! Ask for the returning guest program ! Water pressure in our Dry season is hard to understand for our guest! In our area the city only provide us 6 hours a day water! Thank you for your awesome compliment for our restaurant food, our goal is to succeed in our guests expectations! Nature is all around us as you notice with the birds, Iguanas, monkeys, turtles! We are glad to be located in the National park Marino las Baulas! Pura vida
Read more
Ron H wrote a review Mar. 2020
3 contributions
I didn't stay at the hotel, but the grounds were beautifully maintained, so I would assume the rooms were also. The staff at the restaurant/bar were excellent. (Thank you Liz, Mario and Thomas) The food was excellent, great happy hour specials and although I only drank beer, the mixed drinks were very well prepared and looked very good. Saturday night the place was packed, but the food and service would be worth the wait.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico d, Gerente at Hotel Cantarana
Responded Mar. 22, 2020
Hola!! Thank you so much for your review! Hope next time you stay with us! In behalf of our Restaurant team, we appreciate you highlight our service and food! Pura vida Fede
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cantarana hotel playa grande
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlaya Grande
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Cantarana
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Cantarana?
Nearby attractions include Lydia Beech Art Boutique (2.4 km), Papaya Con Leche (2.4 km), and Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Cantarana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Cantarana?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Cantarana?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Cantarana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Cantarana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Breaking Bread, Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, and Waffle Monkey.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Cantarana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Cantarana?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Is Hotel Cantarana accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.