We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Guarana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Guarana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Guarana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We had an excellent stay in Cabinas Guarana. It also serves to tell that I visited Puerto Viejo with a friend from San Jose whose first choice is always to stay at Guarana: He's been visiting Puerto Viejo for over 20 years. They fulfilled our last minute booking request with ease, our room was spacious, clean and quiet, but my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brett R
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 December 2014

We stayed in a great cabina with a comfortable bed and our own hammock at the front, with decent ventilation. They have a kitchen for guest use, which we made use of. In addition they have lovely, helpful staff and are in a great location. Hotel Guarana is good value for money and we'd definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate N
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 23 December 2014

I have spent several nights on various occasions during the past years in this lovely hotel. The owners and the staff are very kind people. The decoration is nice (good Italian taste), rooms are comfortable and I could make use of the communal kitchen to make breakfast tea and coffee occasionally. I return here every year and also recommended the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean2399
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 9 December 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights when we visited Puerto Viejo, it was a great stay. Location is ideal. Very quiet and you can get a good night's sleep! Kitchen is great, you get to cook your own meals. The supermarket is close by, right around the corner. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Definitely would recommend and would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa L
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 2 December 2014

I stayed with a friend for the weekend, it was our first time in this hotel and we were really happy. The room was clean, well decorated and the price was according to what we got. The 2 girls at the recepcion (I don't remember their names) were so helpfull, they gave us some tips about the weather and even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank German_Armad
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very clean, the communal area was great and they even had a kitchen that could be used by guests and also free drinking water. The location of the cabanas is perfect and the staff were lovely and very helpful. I also left something at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan S
Lima, Peru
Reviewed 17 November 2014

We stay a couple of days while visiting beaches Manzanillo, Cocles, Puerto Viejo and Cahuite, the rooms were clean and cozy, but the need some improvements for example the wifi didnt reach our room, the neigbour were lousy but they complained about us? Another point was that the hotel staff must learned something about customer service because their treatment was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricio C
Reviewed 11 November 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated in a quiet position in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca. Staff friendly, owners very nice and helpful with informations and suggestions. Rooms cosy and clean. Supermarket around the corner. Thank you very much for everything!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Comploj A
Reviewed 8 November 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of November. Everything about this hotel was pretty good, the rooms were clean, not to far away from everything and you had your own little patio. But the terrible customer service out weighs all of the positives of this place! During the whole week we stayed here we were ignored by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zophiesmith
guarana854, Owner at Hotel Guarana, responded to this review

Horrible is not enough to describe your behavior, not even as a guest, because who posted this review,was never our guest. You were found extremely drunk in your friends room, the real guests, with your girlfriend, totally drunken too. It was 1.40-1.50 am. I had to implore twice to get some , not even silence, reasonable volume, the third time...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We stayed here for three nights. It was really affordable, staff were friendly and rooms had all you need. The communal kitchen was really great. Awesome location in Puerto Viejo with everything nearby, supermarkets etc. Being wet season, the mosquitos were pretty bad but the room had mosquito nets on the beds, which was a great relief.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank supersammwa

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
609 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,395 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
991 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
35 reviews
2.7 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Guarana is a small hotel full of owners charm. We have 12 rooms individually uniquely decorated. We are situated in one of the most quiet and central streets in Puerto Viejo, 200 m. Only steps to beach and restaurants. The hotel is safe, private and set in a lush tropical garden of flowers and fauna. Services include; Wireless, Laundry, safe in room. English, German, Spanish, French & Italian spoken. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Guarana

Address: Puerto Viejo Center | 200 north bridge 50 meters east, 25 north, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 41001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $55 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guarana Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Guarana Costa Rica/Limon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Guarana staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Guarana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms 6, 7 and 8 seemed to be the quietest area.”
 of 5 bubbles v00d00j, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 - wifi reached the room & verandah”
  • My cabina (no 1)
  • View from my verandah (cabina 1)
 of 5 bubbles Newmorton, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“away from the main path near reception would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles tdglaad, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms get wifi now so there is no bad room and it's lights out at 9pm for kitchen and front desk so very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles rr312, 11 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Try to get one with a hammock.”
 of 5 bubbles Jean2399, 23 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5