We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle 256 800 Meters To The South Of Puerto Viejo, On The Way To Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403 Costa Rica
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (217)
Pool & Beach (12)
Room & Suite (10)

About

#11 of 157 Speciality lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Puerto Viejo is a place full of easy charm. Here, jungle meets the ocean in perfect harmony. Chill, party, surf, repeat: Puerto Viejo is infused with some serious reggae vibes. Enjoy sampling Caribbean stew, cultural tours, sighting monkeys and sloths, and falling asleep to the rhythm of croaking frogs. Live right on the edge of sandy beaches and venture off the beaten path into the rugged jungle. This is the Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica. Selina Puerto Viejo welcomes you with the beat of reggae and follows it with surfing, snorkeling, Stand Up Paddling and more. Stay in our dormitories, private, standard, or deluxe rooms. Teepees, apartments, and suites are also available.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Poolside bar
Beach
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
347Reviews4Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 203
  • 63
  • 29
  • 24
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tamir B wrote a review Feb. 2021
7 contributions
We expected much better teepee experience,but the space is very limited ,no bathroom inside, bedsheets were dirty and the worst thing was the matress,we could feel the strings, all of them ... Staff was nice but only one person in reception.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Xavier F wrote a review Nov. 2020
San Jose, Costa Rica7 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed in a Suite + . the room is over priced for what you actually get. Also had breakfast included which is a mistake. Was disappointed by the facilities and the food service. I have stayed at other Selinas a couple of years ago and don't remember the food and rooms being so run down. I think maybe the pandemic slowdown has affected the quality of services and building maintenance. Or maybe the quality of management has diminished since they opened. Also you may have to bear with music playing until late at night and loud groups partying.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lee I wrote a review May 2020
London, United Kingdom54 contributions3 helpful votes
I’m disgusted and appalled by the accommodation and how we were treated at our time there. I’ve tried to make contact several times with the accommodation to discuss the issues but no one has replied. When we arrived the staff were very rude and unhelpful to us. Now I understand they have dorms there so it’s a hostel, but we stayed in the ‘Two Bedroom Apartment’ and paid a lot of money in comparison so I would have expected a much better service since we could have stayed in a local hotel for this price. We were told by the receptionist about the pool and bar opening times at checkin but but the pool and bar/ restaurant were both closed indefinitely within 15 minutes of them telling me this information when it was meant to be open. We thought we could have used the hotel beach which is advertised on the website but this was completely rocky which meant we couldn’t even enter the sea unless we walked a long distance from the hotel. We were told by your staff that all pools in the area were shut down by the police which wasn’t true as we used other hotels. The reception which we were told was a 24 hour service was shut by 10pm and not open until 7am so to get taxis to our next destination, order food, get to town, check out or to speak to anyone. We were told that we could book yoga and then when asked the next day what time it would be your staff said it was cancelled - again we had to enquire about this ourselves without any prior warning. The room was in a disgraceful condition for the money we paid for it. The shower was completely broken (spraying water on the ceiling lightbulb out of the pipe which was extremely dangerous). The bathroom was left with shower gel bottles from the previous guests across the room so clearly hadn’t been cleaned before we arrived. The front door didn’t lock properly and without a safe box in the room we feared that our belongings would be stolen One night it rained and the ceiling leaked onto live electric wires in the room (which is so dangerous!) as well as onto our clothes/ luggage and beds.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Tyler T wrote a review Mar. 2020
31 contributions14 helpful votes
I really enjoyed my time at Selina Puerto Viejo. Only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because we had to wait several times in long lineups at reception (seemed a bit understaffed at times) and their ridiculous rule that you can not bring your own drinks to the pool area as they want you to buy their overpriced drinks instead. But the amazing staff and location far outweighed the negative. Extremely nice to have a pool as you can’t swim in the ocean at the property. Yuliana, Emily, Debar, and one of the other bartenders were so relaxed and helpful with booking tours and they even helped us out in getting a refund when we had to leave early due to Covid-19. I will definitely be back again! Lovely place!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Anna K wrote a review Mar. 2020
1 contribution
we visited Puerto viejo for a few days and stayed at the Selina. the service and accommodation are excellent. Especially the young ladycalled Indra was always helpful and provided us with everything. thank you for the great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Selina Management, Owner at Selina Shared Puerto Viejo
Responded Mar. 29, 2020
Hi Anna, Thanks for your score and review, we are glad you stayed at our location, Pura Vida!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of LimonPuerto Viejo de Talamanca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Selina Shared Puerto Viejo
Which popular attractions are close to Selina Shared Puerto Viejo?
Nearby attractions include Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate (0.9 km) and Playa Cocles (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Selina Shared Puerto Viejo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and a poolside bar.
What food & drink options are available at Selina Shared Puerto Viejo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Selina Shared Puerto Viejo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Selina Shared Puerto Viejo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bamboocha, Restaurante El Sol Del Caribe, and Como en la Gloria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Selina Shared Puerto Viejo?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Selina Shared Puerto Viejo?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Selina Shared Puerto Viejo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.