We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cariblue Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

961 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cariblue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 525: English reviews
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a cute, well designed hotel with a lovely tropical atmosphere. In this part of the world you won't expect big industrialised impersonal hotels, instead, you will find all sorts of boutique hotels with different concepts, some assertive, others not so. But Totem hotel has my best rating in Puerto Viejo. The breakfast is delicious, well assorted.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bluerivercrossing
boston
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed there for four days with family -- rented a stand-alone house with two rooms. The setting was pretty nice, front desk folks were friendly. However, there were enough issues that would cause me to NOT recommend this place to a friend: 1) Breakfast food was average. Buffet, all pre-cooked. Nothing special 2) Pool -- OK, but no hot tub....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank lincoln572
COLLEGE STATION TEXAS
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Let me first off say that the property is located across the street from the Caribbean sea but the Hotels is set back in the rain forest so you will not have a view of the Beach. But who needs to see the beach when you are in the rain forest with Howler Monkeys, Toucans, Sloths and Boas on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MIKE R
Hermosa Beach, California
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It is disappointing because it could be a great place... When we arrived, the guy at the reception desk mentioned tariffs that were above what we'd seen before on internet and brochures... then, finally offered great discounts... that were aligned with what we read before... The location of the hotel is great and the room was quite good, i liked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clement R
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Clement, Thank you for your review. I would like to let you know that in May we were 3 ladies at the Reception Desk. The rates in our website are rack rates but some times we publish offers in other websites like online travel agencies, for that reason, may be, you saw a difference on it. Any way we...

Hutto, Texas
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Almost felt like we were staying in bungalows in the jungle! Loved the sounds at night...from the chirps of things to the howler monkeys. You can even hear the waves crashing...and this place isn't right on the beach. Just walk around and look at the beauty within the grounds...the many plants are beautiful...and you can observe crabs poking their heads...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Todd R
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with my husband, father and 18 month year old daughter. ROOMS: We booked 2 ocean view suites and to be honest we could have booked 1. Each room was huge and had 1 queen in one room a second bedroom with a double bed and 1 bunk bed. The decor was nice but beds were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sucutie01
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

Hello sucutie01, I remembered you, you are a lovely family and we thank you for letting us know the situation with the coffe maker. We are investigating who was the maid to let her know what happend and to correct the error. About the checking process, that you made with me directly, it is the same process for all the...

Liberty, Missouri
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Not impressed. Actually disappointed. I found this place missed on most of my expectations. Great location across the street from Cocles beach and about 2km from town - that's the only positive if you want seclusion. Cocles is one of the nicest beaches in Puerto Viejo. Problem with the beach is that it had red flags most of the days...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BlackLions001
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Black Lions, It seems that you never stay in our Hotel and you only copy and paste almost all te review other travelers did some days ago, but I remembered them but you even have not any registration from you. To use pipes without facet in the showers causes a big waste of water and the hotel in environment...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Cariblue. The grounds are gorgeous and the rooms are very nice and comfortable. Loved the pool and the restaurant was good. Location is perfect-enough outside of town that it is quiet but close enough that you can walk (20-30 mins) or bike (7 mins). My only minor issue is that the swim up bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adge22
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Nice hotel with clean, quiet, secluded rooms. Only ate breakfast at the hotel but their restaurant was very good and the service swift. Pool, jacuzzi, tropical, and best of all, right across from the beach! They even packed us a bagged lunch on the day we checked out since we were leaving very early in the morning! Good parking in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This hotel is 2 km from Puerto Viejo and another 2 km further is Jaguar Rescue Center on the same road that leads to Punta Uva. So though a bit of a walk we did walk both to Puerto Viejo and to the Jaguar Resc from the hotel. They do offer bikes for rent $8/day. I had mixed feelings for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cchamelion

1,358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (649)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
9:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (263)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (676)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Beachfront Bungalow (67)
Viewed
Bungalow (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (46)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (16)
Viewed
Jungle Family House (88)
Viewed
Main Pool with Bar (23)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Standard Jungle Bungalow (42)
Viewed
Superior Room (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.8 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,354 reviews
1.1 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
586 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
447 reviews
19.4 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $136 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cariblue Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
The Netherlands
6 months ago
Texarkana, Texas
11 months ago
Bryson City, North Carolina
over a year ago
New York City, New York

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Cariblue Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean Beach Front #404 is great! The Junior Suite is near the restaurant, pool and reception and has a huge bathroom and beautiful porch!”
 of 5 bubbles scuba_Sue53, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Depends on what you want - a honeymoon suite in the jungle, or one of the limited beachview rooms. Click on their website to check.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisBrown38, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are small and overlook the road which lies between the rooms and the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles Dr_John_Poyser_4952, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try not to get 201 or 202....sewage smell but not overwhelmingly so”
 of 5 bubbles 157barryg, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beach front rooms are nicer, but all have good jungle view.”
 of 5 bubbles pamelacN4129CY, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay