We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lizard King Hotel Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lizard King Hotel Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 149: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We booked this place due to its great location next to the restaurants and boutiques in Puerto Viejo; nevertheless, the quality of the mattress, pillow and shower completely deteriorated any sort of quality experience we had at this establishment.. a terrible nights sleep at any hotel will unfortunately be a big setback for any customer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IntlTraveller9
code333, General Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Hello IntTraveller9, Thank you for the positive note in regards to the location. We do have one of the best if not the best location in town. However, you had a bad experience with the mattress and pillows. I'd appreciate if you can tell me what room you were in so that we can review the mattress and replace it...

Oliva, Spain
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Friendly, efficient helpful staff. Lovely pool area, clean rooms, nice breakfasts, good advice and great bloody marys. Well located for the town and beaches, easy walking distance to everything. Really enjoyed the stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
code333, General Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Jane, We're really happy to hear that you had a good experience. We are always working on making the Lizard King a better place for you vacation stay. Pura vida!!! from us at the Lizard King Hotel!!

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Desk clerk was very nice. We changed hotels after spending one night in a non ac zen hostel outside of Cahuita. We found Puerto Viejo to be a much better town in terms of amenities. The hotel itself is adequate but they could use more furniture. There really is no place to hang up your clothes or a dresser. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
code333, General Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review Gary. We're very happy to read that our AC units did a good job on cooling you guys off in a hot day in Puerto Viejo. We are actually working on getting more furniture in the rooms. I'm sure you'll notice a difference in your next stay. Thanks

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Stayed here last weekend during a quick trip to Puerto Viejo. Cute little hotel tucked away just outside of the center of town. Close to the beach, 5 minute walk from "the center" of town and shops, restaurants, bars, etc. The staff was incredibly helpful and welcoming, spoke English and Spanish well. We stayed in a "basic" room - no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allie_g384
code333, General Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Allie for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We at the Lizard King try our best to provide the best customer service so that you and your loved one can focus on enjoying your holidays as oppose to worrying about them. Thanks again and we hope to see you on your next travels...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We had booked for three nights, a room with AC and double bed.The first room we got was terrible. Not clean, the bed sheets had a lot of staines, the room felt cramped and smelled of mold. Nothing but the bed in the room so nowhere to put clothes or so. The morning after my husband had allergy rash all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanna L
code333, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Hello Susan, I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Please let me know what room you first checked into. We do cleaning and stain audits to maintain the best service possible. Please email me at lizardkingresort@gmail. I'd appreciate an email so that I can investigate the cause of this issue. Thank you.

Faringdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Great location, which is not far from the bars and restaurants, but far enough to be peaceful. Great service, comfortable room and great breakfast. Thank you. Nice area upstairs to just chill and watch the world go by during a tropical storm :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmd181
code333, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Thank Cmd181, You're input greatly appreciated. I we're very happy to hear that you had a good time at the Lizard King Hotel. We're always looking for new ways to better our guest's experience. Thanks you.

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel has okay service with a variety of different rooms. EXTRA PEOPLE COST $50. So make sure to review your reservation to make sure everything goes smoothly. Check in is at 2. Only Deluxe Rooms have A/C. You can rent bikes for $3 an hour or $7 a day. They offer laundrey at an affordable price. Even though they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
code333, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Hi Oliver, Actually, additional people when it's more than 2 guests per room is $20 without breakfast and $25 with breakfast. You may be quoting 2 nights at $25 per night with breakfast. We try to make things as clearly as possible during our reservation process. We send email confirmation to all our guests explaining every details of their reservation...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 13 July 2016

This hotel has a great location near to Centro Puerto Viejo and the nearby beaches. In fact, from here, the main attractions are within walking distance. The prices of the rooms are decent. Downside - The bed was uncomfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nireenity
code333, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Hi Nireenity, We have relatively new beds. Would you be so kind as to inform me what room number you were in so that I can inspect the bed. Thank you for your time and patience.

Reviewed 6 July 2016

My sister and I just spent three nights here and were pleasantly surprised. Rooms are super clean and the front desk device was great! Jeffrey and Rolando had great suggestions for things to do and places to see. Would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesicah R
code333, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for being our guest!!! We look forward to your return :-)

Reviewed 24 June 2016

We specified online AC, booked the room for that, but when we got here they wanted $20 more each night for the AC. There is construction next door - 7 AM metal saws ripping through tin, sounding worse than a dentist's drill! The walls are so thin the neighbor sneezed and my husband thought it was someone in our room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Windmillksm
Lizard K, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Ma'am, you booked a standard room that does not include air conditioning. We were happy to upgrade you to a deluxe room at your behest and politely informed you of the difference in prices, which are clearly displayed online and in our hotel. We reviewed your reservation together and you acknowledged that you had actually booked a room without air...

424 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (30)
Viewed
Double Room (53)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (123)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,411 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
616 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Neg...
#30 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
183 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lotus Garden
The Lotus Garden
#27 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
167 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lizard King Hotel & Resort for its great location, friendly service, fun amenities, beautiful wooden rooms and building structure.Free WiFi, BreakfastFree, ParkingFree Swimming Pool Access - 24 hours, 7 days a weekFree Bus-stop Shuttle to Hotel,Great Location - Next to Everything & across the Street from the Beach.LaundryService,Orthopedic Mattresses,Air Condition, or fan,Mini refrigerator,Mini Bar,Cable Television, Coffee, RestaurantBakery and PastriesTours and Attractions Appointment ManagementOnsite. Massage Service ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lizard King Hotel Resort

Address: Calle Principal - 600 metros sur del Banco | Costa Rica (On the main road of Puerto Viejo), Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $101 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lizard King Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lizard King Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard King Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Limon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lizard King Hotel Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Lizard King Hotel Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms around pool will have less traffic noise”
608phillipv, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to the rooms with A/C.”
  • A new friend! He was on the outside of the window.
CornfedContessa, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you're looking for a decent nights sleep, this is definitely not the place to be.”
IntlTraveller9, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Think they were all good.”
T8750NBjanel, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't book here.”
Windmillksm, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5