We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Pumilio

Orbitz.comUS$91*
View Deal
#1 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 318: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Pumilio
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect hidden gem! Just enough off the beaten path for privacy. Great views, and BEST staff! We were greeted with Champagne, and had snacks in our room! Absolutely loved having the kitchen on the porch! Bed was comfy, Tv had English stations even though now we would like to learn more Spanish. Milton, Juan and Kershne always helped us book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika P
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a small (10 room) slice of heaven on your Jaco vacation this is your hotel! The hotel is basically paradise. The rooms are modern, new, clean with AC and in our case a patio that opens to the pool (downstairs room). All the rooms have patios or balconies ( with a kitchenette) that walk out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Doreen C
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review

Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep...

Frederick, MD
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An exceptional hotel in a peaceful setting and only minutes from restaurants, beaches and shopping. Milton is the best manager we have experienced in quite awhile. He and his kind, attentive staff made our brief stay memorable. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJ-Middletown
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review

Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things...

Castleton On Hudson, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms are nice and enjoyed the outdoor kitchenette on the balcony. If you don't feel like eating out you can cook yourself something right there. Was impressed with the breakfast every morning. A little disappointed with the spa services . My refrigerator cropped out my second day there and by the fifth day it still didn't get worked on.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim L
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review

Thank you for your kindly comments. We love to make our guests very welcome from the beginning, specially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Feel very sorry about the refrigerator we don´t know the reason we had problems with 3 at the same time, it was the first time we had that problem, we already changed...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having read a recent negative review of this place I felt I had to write my review. We stayed here for 6 nights and loved our stay. It is a small place so if there are children that are not controlled by their parents then I can see that it would get noisy, but that isn't the fault of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllieB31
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review

Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! They really count, and we appreciate your time after reading a bad review from a very complicated guests that didn't like the hotel has fully booked and had other guests and from different cultures and with kids, as you mention they are invite to have fun too and make some noise specially...

Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did my research.... we booked for 14 days we are still here with no option to leave at the present time since no manager on site ... we have been here since wenesday ... noisy beyond explanation either lawn mower leaf blower children groups on party .. but far from what we have read and after reaching expedia they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dominique S
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback your opinion truly helps us make our guest’s experience even better and helps others that are looking for a the hotel to spend their vacation. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time, in your case it hasn't be possible, the...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Pumilio for 3 days in February. We were a party of seven including wife, daughters and grandchildren. The resort was small and kept very clean. There were two pools one with a sliding board that the grand children loved. The staff extremely nice and were extremely helpful in assisting in arranging our tours and transportation when leaving....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank HJS51
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review

Thank you for your kindly comments. We love to make our guests very welcome from the beginning, specially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time, it was a pleasure to have your lovely family leaping into happiness at Pumilio and hope to have you back in the future for a longer stay! We love to be part...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This small hotel was great for my family. The rooms were large, modern and clean. The staff was nice and friendly. All the rooms overlook the pool. That can be good or bad. My kids loved it. However, they made a lot of noise that other guests may not have loved. The breakfast just ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant G
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review

Thank you for your kindly comments. We love to make our guests very welcome from the beginning, specially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up...

Carrollton, Georgia
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We had a great time at the Hotel Pumilio. This is a great "Hidden Gem" Hotel. Very private and very quite. Great Staff and Great Amenities. You will love your stay tucked into the jungle next to the rainforest.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesHerndon
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback your opinion truly helps us make our guest’s experience even better and helps others that are looking for a the hotel to spend their vacation. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica...

Reviewed 14 April 2017

This was the best hotel we had on our vacation. Definately recommend! Scarlett Macaws living in the garden, pool right outside our back door and we had our own full kitchen on the patio. Parking is a little tight, but they have an attendant assisting you to bring things in if needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
Laura P, Owner at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review

Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the...

634 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Premium King with Balcony (43)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Suite with Balcony (43)
Viewed
Suite with Terrace (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (26)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
5.6 km away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
1,301 reviews
3.8 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
5.9 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 km away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
4.0 km away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 42 in Jaco
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Price Range: $138 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Pumilio staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Pumilio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We lucked out and got Room 25! Which has the end and the view of a open area with Cows!”
erikap331, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Second floor end unit is the quietest”
225jiml, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are at the far end - both ground floor and second floor.”
283harrys, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms have little privacy - screens divide - sounds and cooking smells carry. Room 25, more privacy due to dual aspect.”
TeddingtonGap, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go elsewhere”
, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$94
Expedia.comUS$91
CheapTicketsUS$91
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates