We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Makanda by the Sea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Makanda by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 434: English reviews
Baytown, Texas, United States
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Had a great view, beautiful pool, very nice staff! Just check on work in progress. Great food- mosquito repellent and anything you may need after 9 pm. Visit Marina pez vela close by and have lunch at Ronnies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luanne A
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review

Hola Mama Lu! We were so lucky to have you in the Hotel, the Staff really enjoyed taking care of you. Thank you for visiting our profile and we are really looking forward to host you again.

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We booked the Makanda in a hurry because we were not happy in another one and we needed where to sleep and continue our holiday. We were very happy to be there, they treated us like kings and they really saved our holiday. The room is a high luxury and the swimming pool area is fantastic. Thank you, we will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barca1991
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review

Buenas tardes and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve your holidays. Glad you enjoyed our signature tranquility. It was such a pleasure to have you in the Hotel and we really appreciate your kind words. Can´t wait for you to come back. Have a great and blessed year...!!!

Reviewed 16 January 2017

We stay 5 nights at Makanda By the sea. We had the nicest room, the only one that has a truly private pool that that is not shared with another room. Room #6. Very luxurious, gorgeous room. Very comfortable. Is a whole apartment with living room, dining table and full kitchen. Very luxurious with gorgeous marble and wood carvings. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vivraquel100
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review

Hola Vivian, thank you for your kind words... It was a real pleasure to have you in the Hotel and you made really easy to fulfill your needs and expectations. We are really looking forward to host you again and hope this will be soon. Have a great and blessed year...!!!

Reviewed 14 January 2017

Enjoyed my stay at villa with ocean view. Good restaurant and great selection of wines. Very elegant, close to manuel antonio national park. Stuff will go out of their way to provide you with anything. Definitely one of the best hotels I have stayed at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Михаил М
MAKANDAFAMILY, General Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Michail! Thanks a lot for your review and for the compliments - we are very pleased that you took the time to share. Will be more than happy to see you again! Wish you Happy Year full of joy and happiness!

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

It was absolutely fantastic. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous. The pool is one of the most amazing ones I've seen. The customer service was 100% top notch! Everything was wonderful. We will be back!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aigul A
MAKANDAFAMILY, General Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Aigul! You can not imagine how important this words for all our Makanda Family! It is so important for us to provide people beautiful emotions! You really making us so powerful and happy in our work! Love Love!

Reviewed 13 January 2017

We are very pleased that since our arrival the staff was very polite and the most benevolent. Service remained up to the professional level. Even golf car driver was very courteous and always captured a couple of fresh beach towels for us on the way to the beach. We staid in Ocean Club Suite. The interior design of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Полина В
MAKANDAFAMILY, General Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Polina! Was a big pleasure to host you! Thanks so much for finding couple minutes to post this review, we very pleased you mention important things we was working hard to set. Hope to see you again in our Hotel! Good luck!

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

we stayed at Makanda in January 2017 in a room Ocean Club #3. The room is very spacious and bright. Everything is fresh and modern, newly built. We liked the interior design, the room is very beautiful. Before that we stayed in other hotels and were very pleasantly surprised at Makanda: everything is clean, comfortable, smells good, good water pressure,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Алексей Б
MAKANDAFAMILY, Owner at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Alexey! Thanks a lot for your positive review - reading this words inspires! That’s so important! As you mention, our Hotel is located in a big property, covered 90% by forest. Actually it’s one of the few remaining in Manuel Antonio richest biological corridor. We have 3 types of monkeys visiting every day, anteater, kinkajous, capybaras, armadillos, toucans, red...

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Lovely location, high up, sea view, 20 mins walk from glorious semi-private beach Excellent food, and superb attention from all staff, particularly "TJ" , who gave us great attention in the restaurant. LuxuriouVisited by monkeys, sloths toucans etc.etc Adults only, so no irritating kids or Healht & Safety signs ....s rooms (suite), beautifully appointed. They were building an extension -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
MAKANDAFAMILY, General Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Colin! Thanks so much for this review: short and to the point. We will be happy to see you again in our Hotel. Best wishes!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 9 January 2017

First off the staff is super friendly and very professional. We found people were genuinely interested in making your stay better. And yet, they seemed to either be short-staffed or perhaps just unaware that most high end hotels do actually give clients very high levels of service. To be clear, I wouldn't have a problem with anything I'm about to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
MAKANDAFAMILY, General Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for visiting our profile, it is always great and helpful to hear the feedback from our guests. You actually enjoyed one of the best rooms of our Hotel: Luxury Villa, for $700.00 a night with pool, Jacuzzi, bath tub, marble in a room, exclusive decoration, Makanda Sweet Dreams custom sleeping system, smart TV, German Kitchen appliances,...

Reviewed 9 January 2017

Do not stay at this hotel! We stayed at Makanda for 3 nights, paying north of $450/night. On the first day we checked in and were in dire need of a shower after the 5-hour journey from Monteverde, the water shut off completely after about 5 minutes of use - sinks, shower, toilet - nothing worked. They said they would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rachel O
MAKANDAFAMILY, General Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, We can see you are very angry, but let's be less emotional and more true. First let us thanks you for repeating your friend Melissa review. As we told before we are really sorry for water problem you had. Broken pipe took us 1 hour to fix. Sometimes these things happen. No hotel, home or business in this...

655 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (425)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Luxury Villa 12 (101)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
2.0 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,430 reviews
0.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
898 reviews
0.9 km away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,326 reviews
2.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
888 reviews
0.8 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range: $372 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makanda by the Sea staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Makanda by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles R7659KFstevek, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles W3039CPalexandras, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The way the rooms are set up you feel like you're the only ones there”
  • Sunset from our private veranda
  • View from the pathway to our Casita (Studio #2)
 of 5 bubbles kingcountykid, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view rooms will be positioned close to the new pool which looks super. Villas are quieter and set up away in the hillside.”
 of 5 bubbles es488, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wait until the work has been completed”
 of 5 bubbles timothy2017, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5