We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mono Azul

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Mono Azul
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 299: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Mono Azul
 Click to rate
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Reviewed 1 week ago

In a location where everything is very expensive, Blue Monkey is a nice mid-range / budget accommodation option. The staff is really nice, friendly and helpful. Nice restaurant with a very good chef. Some rooms are noisy and very hot (noisy fan that just move hot air around).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ochassot
Taloga, Oklahoma
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here a week. Everything is as advertised if not better than expected. The staff was very friendly and genuinely concerned with our every request. Rooms are updated and clean. Beds comfortable and showers hot. If you plan on running the AC on maximum you will need to bring an extra blanket! The restaurant and bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bktal
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here after a terrible experience in another hotel, the room has lots of space and are very clean, the pool is nice and the restaurant food is very good and has variety. The staff is super friendly and helpful, they guide you on whatever you need inside and outside the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffry G
Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its a cute place with friendly staff and a nice little pool to chill.(with additional one on other side of restaurant). We only needed one night as our other location was not available, between guests...so this place worked out! Plus our other family members were right across the street at Tico Tico for the month. The hotel is a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoppinsMagic
Grimsby, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All of the positive things said about Mono Azul in recent reviews are spot on. I'm a single F "baby boomer" who stayed here for 3 nights and am so glad I did. The location is perfect, and there are local (modern) buses which stop just a few steps away about every 15 minutes for the 15 minute ride to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doodle20142014
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Reviewed 14 March 2017

John and his wife, (Minnesota Transplants) Have a wonderful, centrally located hotel, my wife daughter and I spent two nights with them and were satisfied based on the price. We had 3 meals a day at the restaurant with zero complaints, the monkeys visited daily the 2 small swimming pools were quaint and refreshing. Rooms are sparse, simple, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike s
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you Mike, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Mono Azul! Please come back soon.

Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewed 6 March 2017

A clean, comfortable room set in a well-groomed, garden-like environment that resembles a mini-Costa Rica rainforest, with two clean pools, macaws flying into the trees and white-faced monkeys crossing above the road on a rope -- that's Mono Azul. I was in town for scuba training and my wife for private Spanish lessons. Mono Azul was ideal for us both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Jeffrey and the great review. We believe going that extra mile for our clients and glad you recognize that. We do hope you come back to stay with us again soon.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel in our way to Manuel Antonio National Park for one night. Booked it based on this hotel being number 1 in the area as per trip advisor. Far from it....... Over priced. Broken bed. Noisy fan. No hot water in the shower or sink. Worst of all, when my son tried to adjust the shower head...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irfan A
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Hello Irfan, I am sorry you had a bad experience here at Mono Azul. The showers in our basic rooms, like many hotels here in Costa Rica, are called Suicide showers. They have electricity to instantly heat the water. They are not meant to be touched just for safety precautions because water and electricity don't mix well. We have since...

Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Solo female traveler. I booked a last minute deal for this hotel through a third party online that ended up being incorrect. I called the hotel and they were very accommodating to me. I was able to cancel through the third party and book through mono Azul directly for the same price. The owners were very sweet and helpful. Tom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy N
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come back and see us again!

Reviewed 21 February 2017

Its a cute place with friendly staff and a nice little pool to chill. The hotel is a good option, if you want to stay close to Manuel Antonio and rather want to relax for a night, but not pay too much. Rooms are great for a good sleep, other than that I would not spend much more time in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanny T
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! You are right, Manuel Antonio is a place you want to explore and not spend much time in your room. We are in a great location and have great service for a good price. Thank you for your stay and we hope you come back to visit soon.

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
1.3 km away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 15 in Quepos
297 reviews
0.7 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
540 reviews
3.6 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
897 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Le Priss
Hotel Le Priss
#8 of 15 in Quepos
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Mono Azul is a comfortable, environmentally-friendly oasis in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. We are also closely related to Kids Saving The Rainforest (KSTR). Our hotel has 2 swimming pools, a full service restaurant with breakfast and dinner and bar, free WiFi, and tour booking. We offer a wide range of lodging options. Hotel Mono Azul is under new management as of December 1st, 2014 and continues to be owned and managed by Americans and has been a pillar in the Manuel Antonio Community for over twenty years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mono Azul

Address: Manuel Antonio Road | On The Road To Manuel Antonio National Park, Quepos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Price Range: $100 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mono Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mono Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mono Azul Hotel
Mono Azul Quepos
Hotel Mono Azul Costa Rica/Quepos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mono Azul staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Gateshead, United Kingdom
4 months ago
5 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mono Azul staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with air conditioning a must.”
ochassot, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have A/C some not...”
815mikes, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2nd level rooms receive better lighting.”
  • Rooms have nice outdoor seating.
  • Bathrooms have hot water & good water pressure.
  • Rooms are spacious & comfortable.
DIYWorldTravel, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The room on the 2nd floor has no elevator”
, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to look at the different room options. Ours wasn't great but there may have been other, better options.”
280ethanb, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5