We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aldea San Jose

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aldea San Jose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aldea San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2015 via mobile

The negative reviews on this place seem strange, as it's a charming little place, friendly staff, really useful spot to walk into town. The best place to stay if you're looking to hire a car. Acoustics are standard for a hostel. Cool kitchen, fridge space, and it's secure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovelace5
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Public Relations Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for rating and leaving feedback about Aldea! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you again at Aldea.

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 21 January 2015

I stayed in Aldea hostel for only one night after I landed and stayed in the private room to which I payed more than $30. The staff was nice but I didn't like it because the acoustic is horrible. I could hear everything that happened around in the other rooms. People came in the middle of the night and sat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mwallenst
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you, we appreciate your feedback! We're sorry that your stay with us was less than exceptional and your feedback has helped us to plan our next phase of improvements. We apologize for the noise, lack of working electtrical plugs and hot water. We are a 100 year old mansion and still have more upgrades to complete and we...

Nicaragua
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Very cold at night. Bathroom stank. WiFi drops in and out. Noisy in the morning if you sleep in the dorm off the common area. Only 2 power points in the room for 4 guests. Hot water only a few hours a day (the afternoon or very early in the morning). Reception staff were unfriendly and rude. I emailed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director General at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your feedback. We apreciate that you have liked our location, the interior of our hostel and the restaurant next door. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations and we would like to apologize for this. Your feedback is very useful as it will help us to improve the quality of...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 December 2014

We stayed for two nights and were disappointed with this hostel. The worst hostel we stayed in during our time in Costa Rica especially for the price. The customer service was terrible, the staff on the front desk were unfriendly and not interested in helping at all. They also were unable to provide maps or suggest what to see in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hey Donna, Thank you for choosing Aldea hostel and providing feedback on our service. We would like to apologize for the poor customer service at the time of your stay. Due to having many guests and demands, our staff can be over-burdened and not provide the best customer service that all of our guests deserve. To solve this issue, we...

Medellin, Colombia
Reviewed 6 November 2014

This was a perfect hostel for what we were looking for. It was fairly noisy but it's in a great area, and a super convenient walk to supermarkets and the bus station, scotia bank etc. I would recommend this hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClayEstewart
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hey Clay! Thank you for providing feedback! Unfortunately, due to our proximity to the main street of San Jose and being in a popular location, we do have to contend with traffic and pedestrian noises at times. Sorry to hear that this affected the quality of your stay. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and...

Reviewed 19 October 2014 via mobile

I love this place. The staff is always welcoming and awesome and make you feel like part of the family.Can't say enough good things about the owner Amir. Ever since my second visit here 3 years ago he calls me by my first name. Atmosphere is always kick back and relaxing with lots other travelers. Place is old and to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vito V
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hi Vito! We are so grateful for your wonderful feedback! We do our best for our guests, making you feel welcome and a part of our family. So many of our guests visit us and leave with new friends, business partners and an overall wonderful experience. We are extremely glad that we were able to do this for you. It...

Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Reviewed 7 October 2014

What can I say?- by far one of my favourite hostels! ! stayed here a couple of times when passing through San Jose and each time did not disappoint. I think it was the hospitality that I appreciated the most (although the decor is pretty sweet too!). The staff are super friendly and Emir is really attentive towards his guests-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KoreenMeetsworld
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hey Koreen! We are glad to know once again that you were pleased with your stay at Aldea! As always, we strive to provide the best experience for our guests and are always improving our service and facility to keep our guests happy. We look forward to having you with us again and to show our appreciation, we would like...

Cairns
Reviewed 19 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed here three nights as it's well located being not even one block from the main Ave Central, close to where the buses leave from, and 10-15 minutes walk from downtown San Jose. It's a charming building with a lot of potential but needs updating to make it liveable and likeable. The lighting is poor and one staircase almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZimDownUnder
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hello Zim! Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad to know that our hostels location was of benefit to you. We are proud in being in one of the most saught after locations in San Jose. Our Mansion is over 100 years old and has needed many upgrades. We have recently updated our plumbing and water heating...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stumbled across this little boutique style place while doing business in San Jose and decided to kick back and relax with the other travelers and had a great experience., The owner is from Turkey and the staff from all over the planet but the front desk staff seem to know everything about the region and to my knowledge they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Curtis W
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Public Relations Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hi Curtis! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment about your experience at Aldea. We are always pleased to read the amazing comments left by our guests as this motivates us to keep up the great work. We are constantly making adjustments and improvements to our hostel and customer service to provide an even better experience...

San Josecito, Costa Rica
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Greeted kindly upon arrival. The hostel is in an awesome old house decorated with great art work, a pool table and good vibes and music. Dorm rooms are super spacious, clean and comfortable. Close enough to walk to the enter of town & perfectly far enough away to get a solid, quiet night of sleep. The restaurant adjoining the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Floreina
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Front Office Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hola Floreina! It’s so amazing to know that we have met with your expectations during your stay in our hostel. It is an honor to receive such a beautiful review! The Staff always welcome our guests with a smile in their face, sharing the Pura Vida and the good vibes that are so characteristic of the costarican people. The convenient...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 85 in San Jose
276 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.7 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.1 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
822 reviews
0.6 km away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aldea San Jose

Address: Avenida 2 | Calle 28 100m south Pizza Hut Paseo Colon, in front of the Garbo Room, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $16 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aldea San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Aldea San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aldea San Jose staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Aldea San Jose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think we were in room 107.. In the back ..,away from the street ..good room!”
 of 5 bubbles Volcanclimber, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great for transfers to Nicargua, due to closely situated near TICA busses”
 of 5 bubbles yvoh878, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dorms had 6 beds in them and in June, my room wasn't full.”
 of 5 bubbles carlylawton7, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“103 behind the main desk!”
 of 5 bubbles hcarmich42, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I wanted an all-female room and got one!”
 of 5 bubbles bjstarx, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5