We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
StayForLong
Priceline
Agoda.com
Vio.com
Etrip
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (92)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (90)

About

#37 of 98 hotels in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
329Reviews34Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 121
  • 115
  • 57
  • 15
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
baronwillie wrote a review Mar. 2022
new york158 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
i booked this hotel online for the queen room,as per their information and pictures i was booking a queen size bed,including a/c and a fridge..but as we enter the room we see a rather smaller bed,i meassured and found that bed to be only 54 inches wide,thats full size mattress,we couldnt fit properly..and the a/c on the wall had no remote control,the girl said that it was out of order,no way to find out because theres not remote control.. the room is big so is the shower,the house is a colonial type ,well preserved...then if they charge me for queen size bed and got the full size i think i was overcharged
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Myo M wrote a review Oct. 2020
Coquitlam, Canada22428 contributions917 helpful votes
+1
Although the accommodation itself was a "fairly average" one in a 6-bed room (with no a/c but just a fan and also with lockers not big enough for backpacks), my 7-night stay was actually more or less a "pleasant one" at this place which likely was some "mansion of the well-to-do" back in the day (and likely still maintains its original structures such as the spiral staircase between the two floors & the square railing on the 2nd floor where the nice wooden floor is also likely the original one). Then, there's also a "nice convenience" about this place: with an in-house restaurant (with actually a pretty good selection of items among which I can personally suggest a nice soup & a nice burger that I had although I had most of my meals during my stay at the restaurant right beside which also is a great place with reasonable prices); with a convenience store at just a few-minute walk to the right after coming out (a small one but with plenty of various essential items and where you can actually also sit down & eat some fast food); and with the Ticabus bus station at just about a 5-minute walk away first to the left after coming out followed immediately by another left and just about 2 blocks before another left to the station (for buses to & from countries like Panama & Nicaragua). And yes above all, a nice stay was mainly due to the great guest service of being provided: the nice daily breakfast (a "fairly-filling" one at about 2,000 colons for guests which is half of its regular price), the same-day laundry service, and the bookings for my "day tours" to Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio & Volcan Arenal with Baldi Hot Springs (many thanks to Tatiana for those bookings and also the gentleman during the day who provided a detailed instruction how to get to Volcan Irazu on my own). And also, as for the "convenience of sightseeing", just at about a 10-minute walk to the left after coming out of this place is the "pedestrian street" Av. Central (its west end from which it goes on quite a few blocks to the east lined with all miscellaneous shops on both sides) then about a further 5-minute walk to Mercado Central (for a "pretty good" souvenir shopping where there are also a number of mini-restaurants) followed by a short walk further to Teatro Nacional (with a nice "guided tour" of its beautiful interior) where in the vicinity of the Theater are also two other great sites namely the city's "main cathedral" Catedral Metropolitana & the national history museum Museo Nacional de Costa Rica.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Damien D wrote a review Nov. 2019
France91 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
Worst Hotel in the world !! I have stayed at more than 1000 hotels around the world and this one is by far the worst ! Even if you would pay me 1000 usd to stay 1 night I would refuse ! Trust me stay far away from this place ! On arrival, the front desk lady was not welcoming. She asked me to pay for my reservation which I have already fully paid ! I told her and after a while It was ok. That was the first lie. She gave me a “quiet room” like I asked. I had to go deep in the hotel which look like a service area. It was room 209. The room was super tiny no window, only had a hole in the wall of the bathroom to the streets. It was an awful room, you can not find that kind of room in any of their reservation websites. It looks to be a staff room or whatever. I had to go ask the front desk to get the room I paid for, that the room was way too tiny and not the superior room I paid for. She told me she sent me an email telling me that I would get a small and quiet room. This was the second lie! I received an email about a quiet room not about a tiny room with no window! So, she gave me a room straight at the corner of the street! Which was still not what I paid for, but I took it. It was room 201, if you get this room refuse straight away trust me! For you to understand this hotel, it is on the busiest intersection of San Jose! Probably of Costa Rica. There are terminal bus stops and bus stops all around the hotels. You have an insane traffic 24/7. It never stops! The hotel is really old and you can see all around doors/windows outside ! It is basically trying to sleep on the road between trucks, buses and cars. It was impossible to sleep or even watch tv, nothing. I went back to see the front desk lady asking for earplug or anything. No earplug available, no solution. Every 30sec I would jump out of my bed whenever a truck would horn etc It was so intense that for the first time of my life I got a panic attack!! Again, I went down to front desk. Told the lady everything. She seemed to absolutely did not care! I asked to get back the crappy room, expecting to have less noise. Then around 30/40 people from outside came into the hotel with huge speakers and sound system. They started to have a party! They played karaoke, danced etc. The hotel was vibrating, our beds included. it was a nightmare. My friends were staying in room 202 just on top of the party. Around midnight we went to see the staff and tell then it was not correct for us we could not sleep. They did not care and were not able to speak English. Only thing they could say was “it was a private event”. I had to put two towels around my head to fall asleep after being so exhausted, it was around 2:30am. My friends were able to barely sleep after 3:30am when the party stopped. Then they woke up at 5:30 am when the traffic was getting denser. When we woke up, we found out that people from the party dirt our rental car, we even saw them just sitting on it during the party. We had to go pay to get our car clean before giving back to our rental agency! We tried to look for hotel staff to talk about the issues, no one could speak English!! Finally, later this morning the front desk lady came in. She was upset about the review that my friends left! Seriously?! She told me that she was the owner !! new surprise! I told her about the night and she said she did not know about the party! again another lie because she was there was the party started ! I asked her to refund me because I will not spend another night here. She refunded me only for my last night at a cheaper rate that I paid for because of fees from the booking site! What a lie she could just refund me the total straight from the reservation site. I did not want to argue, I just grabbed whatever she gave me and I left for a much much better hotel just close by. All in all trust me when I say I would not stay here a night even if I was paid 1000 usd ! Worst hotel experience of my life ! This hotel should not even exist! This could ruin your trip and experience of this beautiful country!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HostelCasaColon, Manager at Hostel Casa Colon
Responded Nov. 8, 2019
Thank you for your review, but we are not agree, with some things that you describe( are not true) When you made the check in, the staff told you in advance the different rooms that we had and you were agree with the small room, You dont liked it, so we gave you another one room and also you had complains... You was upset with the rooms, with the people, with the noisy, the cars, the street,with everything! we are in one of the main street in San Jose is a little noisy Also we really apologize for the restaurant noisy after midnight it was a mistake! When you made the Check out you looked normal, happy and you have been agree with the refund. Maybe the next time, you can talk at the moment and the Hotel can help you with different ways
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution
Classic san jose style hostel, near to san jose downtown, bus stations to beaches and airport. Really nice rooms to sleep really quiet, good food and lovely bar. Price is good on this location around San Jose.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NORTHERNGIRL588 wrote a review Feb. 2019
Thunder Bay, Canada8 contributions5 helpful votes
Very interesting and unique historical building with beautiful architectural designs throughout but our room was anything but comfortable. The sheets did not appear to have been washed. Filled with grit and hair. Ended up sleeping on top of covers. Bed was so uneven that I almost rolled off of bed. Rest of room was reasonably clean. Very, very noisy. The free breakfast not worth staying for. It was the only bad meal we had in our week long stay in the country. The staff was very friendly
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon
Responded Apr. 6, 2019
Gracias por sus comentarios para nosotros es muy importante saberlo, vamos a investigar que pasó y tomaremos acciones inmediatas! Saludos cordiales
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FLORIDAGOLDENGIRL wrote a review Nov. 2018
MIAMI14 contributions2 helpful votes
This grand house has been restored into the hotel and hostel it now is, with restaurants and nice bar, lovely grand room to sit and meet, to use your computer, prices are decent for Costa Rica and the location is the best there is.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon
Responded Dec. 20, 2018
Thank you very much for telling us about your experience, very happy that you had a good time
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
charlotte904 wrote a review Aug. 2018
Cherhill, United Kingdom20 contributions5 helpful votes
We came here on our way out on a tour. We had a family room which was very basic but had bathroom and a/c. The food was OK and the main sitting areas comfortable and elegant. Ok for a short night but I wouldn’t want to be there for long.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon
Responded Sep. 5, 2018
We really apreciatte your opinion, Greetings!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alijoe69 wrote a review Mar. 2018
London, United Kingdom79 contributions12 helpful votes
A really nice place to stay in the heart of San Jose. It's within a 10 minute walking distance of the main shopping district and a short taxi journey to tracopa bus station. I only stayed one night in a private room, which was very clean and well ventilated. Breakfast was included and I can highly recommend the gallo pinto, the national dish.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Sit in the open bar and with the world go by.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon
Responded Apr. 11, 2018
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, thanks for Choosing Casa Colón! Have a Nice trip!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pianodoc wrote a review Mar. 2018
Pennsylvania6 contributions2 helpful votes
PROS The price can’t be beat! Friendly and helpful staff Convenient location easy walking distance to town center (20 minutes) Lovely second floor outdoor space with tables & chairs Convenient adjacent restaurant and bar for lunch & dinner Variety of restaurants within walking distance (Italian, Chinese, Lebanese, fast food) Free Internet (works in the rooms, but better signal in lobby) Flatscreen TV: Many stations. CBS and ABC from Miami/Ft. Lauderdale in English. Other stations in English including movies. Daily housekeeping service (bathroom, floor, towels) and bed change every 3 days Laundry service (bag of laundry returned within 3 hours) My room had room air-conditioner and ceiling fan CONS Traffic noise (trucks, motorcycles, police sirens) prominent in the rooms facing the streets No ergonomic work space (can use tables & chairs in dining area or outdoor area) Linens, upholstery, room amenities are threadbare and shabby and/or stained Items in room may be broken or missing (but were immediately replaced upon request) No hot water in the rooms for two days (over a weekend) Very fine road soot drifts in through window cracks Surrounding neighborhood area is not scenic or historic; unsafe for walking at night Onsite breakfast (free) is limited selection & poor quality Most restaurants in the area are mediocre In-room lighting is dim
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street if you are bothered by road noise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon
Responded Mar. 8, 2018
We appreciate your positive and CONS comments, it allows us to improve every day, to avoid future inconveniences Thanks for choosing Hostel Casa Colon! Hope to see you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Prath K wrote a review Dec. 2017
Sydney, Australia7 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice, quiet hostel with excellent wi-fi, included breakfast and friendly, helpful staff and safe Central location. Not the best hostel for socialising with other travellers or partying. I feel the hostel could improve by using the common space to hold more social events for residents e.g trivia, pub crawl
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon
Responded Dec. 12, 2017
We really appreciate your comment, we will improve in our common areas!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$24 - US$55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hostel casa colon hotel san jose
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hostel Casa Colon - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (San Jose, Costa Rica) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hostel Casa Colon
Which popular attractions are close to Hostel Casa Colon?
Nearby attractions include Correos de Costa Rica (0.3 km), Templo de la Musica (0.3 km), and Green Travel Costa Rica (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hostel Casa Colon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hostel Casa Colon?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hostel Casa Colon?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hostel Casa Colon?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Bistrot De Paris, Lubnan, and Restaurante Grano de Oro.
Does Hostel Casa Colon have airport transportation?
Yes, Hostel Casa Colon offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hostel Casa Colon?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hostel Casa Colon?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (1.4 km), Ruinas de Ujarras (2.9 km), and Chepeteando/ San José a pie (1.3 km).