Isla Verde Hotel

Isla Verde Hotel

West Of the United States Embassy 200m, San Jose 10109 Costa Rica
Sala de Lobby con cafetería
Traveller (72)
Panorama of the Deluxe King at the Isla Verde Hotel
360
Panoramas (6)
Clean and comfortable
Room & Suite (112)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#7 of 78 hotels in San Jose
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel and Restaurant Isla Verde is a family owned business. We are located 2 blocks West from the US Embassy in Rohrmoser, close to most important bussiness centers, embassies, commercial and industrial areas, of San Jose. We are 2 miles away from the Tobías Bolaños Airport, and 12 miles from the Juan Santamaria International Airport.We have 40 rooms in total, 17 Standard rooms and 23 Deluxe rooms. Our Standard rooms are equipped with: full size and twin size beds, cable TV, private bath, AC, security box, and telephone.Our Deluxe rooms are brand new and larger rooms, equipped with: queen size beds, cable TV, 32" flat screens, modern bathrooms, AC, security box, hair dryer, telephone, complimentary gourmet coffee, and free ethernet connection to internet. All rooms include complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, use of our business center and gym.Our mission is to make you feel comfortable, wether you are in San Jose for business or pleasure. Let us service you and become "your home away from home"!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 2 more

Location

West Of the United States Embassy 200m, San Jose 10109 Costa Rica
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport
10.1 km
See all flights
Tortuquero Airport
77.7 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 1 kilometer
332Reviews17Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 202
  • 104
  • 19
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Z3793WFjohnt wrote a review Feb 2022
Prescott Valley, Arizona12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's been a while since we were this impressed with a hotel. We always try and stay at a local place so when I read some of the positive reviews I had to check it out. The low price made me a bit skeptical but that was eliminated when we arrived. The service staff from the room cleaning to the restaurant was to notch. The rates include a free breakfast which turned out to be an amazing buffet style which varied a little from day to day. Trust me, this isn't the normal breakfast bar seen at most hotels. 24 hour security is another plus that made us feel safe and welcome. In the evening the restaurant serves excellent Chinese food and quite a few people were ordering takeout. No doubt in my mind this will be our place to stay when visiting San Jose, Costa Rica.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Breakfast and Chinese food!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lucia Shum, Guest Services / Front Office at Isla Verde Hotel
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Dear Z3793WFjohnt, Thank you for sharing your experience! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, from the room, breakfast, staff, restaurant, security... Our best wishes to you, and we look forward to your next visit! Pura Vida!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scalex wrote a review Feb 2024
Sao Paulo, SP52 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a reservation for the first night in Costa Rica, but I had to change plans in the same day I was suppose to check in, the hotel staff was courteous and nice to change my reservation to the end of my trip without charge.
The staff is friendly and fast in handling the check in. The hotel is well maintained and the decoration is fresh, which includes an indoor garden, and makes you feel welcome.
The room is spacious and it was very clean, the shower was hot with enough water for a good bath to recover the body after many days enjoying Costa Rica.
The location is a little bit far from down town, but it was not a problem for us who are accustomed with traffic jams.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura C wrote a review Oct 2021
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica4 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I booked 2 standard rooms at Isla Verde. We needed to go to the US Embassy. We were also planning to do some shopping at stores in Escazu before we returned to our homes in Costa Rica. We couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms were as pictured on the website. Spotlessly clean. Plenty of room even for a longer stay. Parking plentiful and a 24-hour guard available. Hotel and restaurant staff personable and helpful. Restaurant very good. Room rates include breakfast. We will definitely be back whenever we have business in San Jose. Although not in Escazu, the drive from the hotel to shopping in Escazu is easy.
Isla Verde has 3 categories of rooms available depending on individual needs. Pricing is extremely affordable for all categories.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lucia Shum, Guest Services / Front Office at Isla Verde Hotel
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Dear elaefciercr, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our stay with us! All the best to you, and we look forward to your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mobile72100 wrote a review Jun 2021
26 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is not anything like the reviews. The rooms are so small and claustrophobic. There is no room for your luggage and the beds are right beside each other (and this was what they call a supreme room). Also the bed is right next to the bathroom literally an inch away and you smell sewer water. The shower also leaks all over the bathroom floor. I booked a two bed room and when arrived they said I only booked for one and charged me twenty dollars more because they knew I was a tourist and had no choice (who books two beds for one person if a friend is not with them). They did not care and made us pay. When we said we were not going to give a good review they blocked us on booking.com from giving one. I would be real careful staying here. There are so many other good options and obviously they dictate reviews. If you stay here I wish you the best and hope you can deal with super small confined spaces. Horrible horrible hotel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lucia Shum, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Isla Verde Hotel
Responded Jun 11, 2021
Dear Mobile72100, I'm sorry you had an unpleasant experience. I do want to clarify, you made your reservation through Booking.com for 1 person, which costs $54 + $7.02 sales tax. However, as our receptionist kindly explained to you, for 2 people the rate increases to $64 + $8.32 sales tax (an additional of $10, not $20 as you stated on your review). She also showed you our 3 types of rooms before you decided to check in. You can verify on Booking.com the rates, per room type, and number of people. In addition, our rates are posted on our website and publicly displayed in our Front Desk. You should also know that as a Hotel we can't block or hide reviews from any platform. Contrary to what you mentioned in your review, you had the liberty to cancel your reservation and book another Hotel. You also had the option to book a larger room for a higher rate, or another category for the same price you originally booked. I would also like to point out that you yelled and threatened our Receptionist with giving our Hotel a bad review, and demanded to speak to the Manager - who unfortunately wasn't available at the time. We find incredibly insulting from you to state we took advantage of you. The reviews you read on Trip Advisor and other booking platforms, are real from real guests. We take criticism humbly and constructively as they help us improve. Therefore, we feel your review is not genuine and it's fueled mainly because we didn't comply with not charging you the extra $10 for the additional person. We treasure and respect our guests from all over the world, and believe in providing them with a safe and welcoming environment. Regardless, your behaviour was unpleasant and arrogant. Next time, we kindly invite you to book somewhere else.   Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RDG66 wrote a review Aug 2022
Racine, Wisconsin155 contributions109 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very nice local hotel. As so many have said, the customer service is top level. They will do all possible to please their guests. My room was small, but fine. Beds are very comfortable, room was clean, and almost everything worked well. Hotel is small, but lovely. I don’t feel there is a need to detail much, as this place is very nice overall. Two problems… In my room, the hot water was virtually nonexistent at the faucet. Which is so strange as it was perfectly fine in the shower. But it meant I was unable to shave. But that’s okay because I was only there 2 nights. The real problem was the internet. And OMG, was it horrible. Almost nonexistent. I actually went out into the public area to try to work, but still couldn’t accomplish anything. I have a business and need good internet. Both my phone and my computer had such a bad signal and were dropping constantly. I had been at the Best Western and then the Marriott before this hotel, and all was perfect. Now I am at the Hilton, and again, perfect. So I don’t know if it was a temporary issue or not, but it made my stay infuriating. I will go back to my previous policy of only staying at hotel chains, because this was not the first time I had internet issues at a local hotel. It has happened probably 40-50% of the time. So no more for me. But most people will love this hotel. And everyone will love the service!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PasionCR wrote a review Jan 2021
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica32 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here years ago. This most recent stay was totally different - everything was remodeled, upgraded, new and fresh. Super impressive. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the whole hotel is modern and has great style. We had dinner in the restaurant and would go back in a heartbeat. Food was fresh and delicious. We felt wholly welcomed by each staff person at reception, in restaurant, and, I think, one of the owners.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lucia Shum, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Isla Verde Hotel
Responded Jun 11, 2021
Dear PasionCr, Thank you for review on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear you like the upgrades we made to our facilities, the beds, the food, and our friendly staff. We look forward to host again in a near future! Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben from Boston wrote a review Feb 2024
Boston, Massachusetts5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very positive experience staying at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. There was a powerful A/C and a balcony looking out onto the back streets behind the building. Although the front of the hotel faces a busy street, behind it is a quiet residential neighborhood with a nice park within a 5 minute walk. As other reviews have said, the restaurant provides a delicious traditional Costa Rican breakfast buffet with eggs, rice&beans, meat, fruit, cereal, pancakes, etc. Dinner there was also very good.
After no rental cars were available at the airport, even for people with reservations, we thought we would have to rearrange our plans and travel by shuttles. When, George, who was working the front desk, heard this, he went above and beyond to help us out, calling multiple agencies in San Jose over the course of 2 days, and managed to find a great car for us. I can't thank enough for this. I would happily stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room facing the back streets behind the building was quiet at night.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taisha C wrote a review Mar 2022
22 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The service is unmatched!!! The location—-wow. The room, is so spacious and clean. I’ll definitely stay here again! The front desk was extremely helpful in planning tours, with local companies; I couldn’t have booked a better hotel. The views and upgrades will leave you in awe.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lucia Shum, Guest Services / Front Office at Isla Verde Hotel
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Dear Taisha C, Thank you for sharing your experience! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff was able to assist you. We wish you the best and look forward to your next visit! Pura vida!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
califreddy wrote a review Jul 2023
California166 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice little hotel, with good people nice quiet rooms. Nice breakfast. Not too hard to get to off of the freeway either. Didn't really go around much in the neighborhood as we went other places, but the price is right and it's recommended more than the other chain hotels which are twice the price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bianca C wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here one night and wish I would've stayed here my entire time in San Jose. Cute hotel with very friendly staff. I loved the decor and layout. Very open with lots of natural light and lots of plants
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lucia Shum, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Isla Verde Hotel
Responded Jun 11, 2021
Dear BCTRAVEL7, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us, the decor, and our friendly staff. We look forward to host you again in a near future! All the best,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from 5150Luv2Travel
Cabuya, Costa Rica53 contributions63 helpful votes
I forgot to add that the min-fridge was at no additional cost.
Answer from LucyShum
San Jose, Costa Rica10 contributions3 helpful votes
Hello! Yes we do. In fact if the room is available you may Check in earlier. It all depends on the occupation. Any other questions, please do not hesitate. Best regards,
VCM67 asked a question Mar 2017
Long Valley, New Jersey6 contributions10 helpful votes
How far is this hotel from the international hotel?
Answer from NeedSher
Boston167 contributions81 helpful votes
You may have the wrong name of the hotel; if you mean the international airport, it's about 10 miles and dependent on traffic, could take 20-30 plus minutes to get to Isla Verde
blueboydogtreats asked a question Nov 2016
Ancaster, Canada
are you close to dental surgeon Dr Mario Garita
Answer from LucyShum
San Jose, Costa Rica10 contributions3 helpful votes
We are 8km away from Dr. Mario Garita in Escazu.
Colleen B asked a question Nov 2016
Platte City, Missouri
How far are you from the airport?
Answer from Joe Dan J
Arrington, Virginia60 contributions2 helpful votes
depending on the time of day.... 15 to 25 minutes by taxie or shuttle. later in the evening you can take a shuttle in for less that the taxi. It is only about 2 blocks from the U.S. Embassy.
Ben from Boston wrote a tip Feb 2024
Boston, Massachusetts5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room facing the back streets behind the building was quiet at night."
Read full review
5150Luv2Travel wrote a tip Jan 2023
Cabuya, Costa Rica53 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"English-speaking staff. I hate road noise - so I asked for a quiet room. I got a courtyard view inner room, and it was extremely quiet. "
Read full review
Z3793WFjohnt wrote a tip Feb 2022
Prescott Valley, Arizona12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast and Chinese food!"
Read full review
colinsito wrote a tip Jan 2019
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica1,805 contribution39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel also offers best Chinese food in the area."
Read full review
roadadvisor wrote a tip Nov 2018
San Jose, Costa Rica79,087 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"if you need a place close to USA Embassy and domestic Arport Tobias Bolaños"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Jose area.
PRICE RANGE
C$135 - C$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Isla Verde Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Isla Verde Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Isla Verde Hotel?
Nearby attractions include LaTina Turner (1.0 km), El Pueblo (0.2 km), and Jabad Lubavitch De Costa Rica (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Isla Verde Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Isla Verde Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Isla Verde Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Isla Verde Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Isla Verde Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Taller de Billy Sazón, Café a la Moda, and Taste of India506.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Isla Verde Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Isla Verde Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Isla Verde Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Isla Verde Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Isla Verde Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Isla Verde Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (5.6 km), Ruinas de Ujarras (7.0 km), and Chepeteando/ San José a pie (5.6 km).
All San Jose HotelsSan Jose Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San JoseHotels near Isla Verde Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars