We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balmoral Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (307)
360
Panoramas (13)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#31 of 78 hotels in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Paid public parking nearby
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,022 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in the heart of the city, Balmoral Hotel's prime location is lauded by guests who enjoy the proximity to local attractions. Though many reviewers appreciate the hotel's overall cleanliness, there are mixed feelings about the dated decor and the need for aesthetic enhancements. The service receives mixed reviews, with some guests encountering attentive staff while others experience neglect. Room comfort is generally praised, yet discrepancies in room assignments and cleanliness have been noted. Additionally, concerns over value, such as inconsistent pricing and unexpected charges, alongside a somewhat lackluster atmosphere, have been mentioned by travelers.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Uninviting
Rooms
Basic
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2,022Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 770
  • 720
  • 322
  • 107
  • 103
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sahelijo wrote a review Apr 1
Libertyville, Illinois6 contributions
Great location downtown, room was very clean. Hotel has weird routing (reception is on a ‘mezzanine level’. The lift touch buttons don’t work well. Rooms are very bare (no tissues, coffeemaker, safe, etc.). 1 glass for 2? 1 small towel for 2.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Probably upgrade to something beyond standard room Or look for a hotel a little outside of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diseno Balmoral, Marketing at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the convenient location and cleanliness of the room. We will take into account your observations about the layout of the hotel and issues with the elevator to make improvements. Regarding the amenities in the room, we will review our standards to ensure a more satisfactory experience in the future. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us identify areas for improvement. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and provide a more positive experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tim wrote a review Feb 2023
Omaha, Nebraska2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Very nice room and fresh breakfast! Location is perfect, right on the end of Avenue Central plaza. Quick walk to shops, parks and Gold Museum. Staff was super helpful with bags, directions and taxi to airport. Highly recommend and will stay here again if I'm ever in San Jose.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Javier Josue Rivera Aguilera, Otros at Balmoral Hotel
Responded Jun 8, 2023
Thank you very much for your rating and comment. I am glad it was a unique experience. As you said, we are located in the Historic Center of San Jose, where the most important theaters, museums and historic buildings of the city are located. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Camilla S wrote a review Mar 2024
Kfar Vradim, Israel26 contributions9 helpful votes
It was ok. Clean. Beds are ok. View to a wall. Bang in the centre, though I don't know why anyone would want to stay in the centre of San Jose. The place is a dump. There is a nice restaurant downstairs with decent food and an 80's very loud playlist. Breakfast is oily and coffee bad. Not to be repeated.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay out of the city.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diseno Balmoral, Marketing at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We're sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel didn't fully meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback on the cleanliness and comfort of the beds. However, we regret that the view from your room wasn't satisfactory and that you didn't enjoy the central location. We strive to provide a pleasant and comfortable environment for all our guests, so your comments about the breakfast and coffee are important to us. We will take your observations into account to improve our services, and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more satisfactory experience in the future. If there's anything else we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Economy_Class_Clive wrote a review Mar 2024
Oxford, England42 contributions77 helpful votes
We stayed at the Balmoral for 2 nights in February 2024. Overall we were disappointed with the hotel and with the whole city really. The room was ok, but both mornings when we returned from breakfast the key wouldn't work. First time I was told I must have put it near my phone, so they recoded it and it still didn't work. Eventually a maintenance man came and let us into the room. Next day exactly the same thing happened. The first day's breakfast service was an absolute shambles. The waiters didn't seem to have a clue. Tables were left dirty and uncleared and food took so long to come that one group broke into applause when theirs did eventually arrive. Our coffee was stone cold when served too. Second day was a bit better because a girl (called I think Amanda) was working and she had everything so much better organised, but it still wasn't great. We ate dinner in the hotel on our first night, but it was expensive and not very good. My chicken was dry and overcooked and if a place can't cook a piece of chicken properly then, in my view, its not a great place to eat. The WIFI worked ok during the day when no one else was using it, but was totally useless at night and in the mornings when everyone was in their rooms. We had booked to stay here again before our flight out of Costa Rica, but we cancelled and went elsewhere. The location is central and close to the "attractions", but we found San Jose to be a bit "edgy" and not particularly nice. If I were to return to San Jose I wouldn't bother staying downtown, I would stay out nearer to the airport and I certainly wouldn't bother with the Balmoral hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diseno Balmoral, Marketing at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are deeply sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your detailed feedback and will take immediate steps to address the issues you mentioned and improve the quality of our services. We apologize sincerely for the issues you experienced with the key to your room. We will investigate this matter with our maintenance team to ensure it is resolved and does not happen again in the future. Regarding the breakfast service, we are very sorry it did not meet your expectations. We will take measures to improve the training of our staff and ensure a more efficient and higher-quality service for all our guests. We also regret to hear that your experience at our dinner was not satisfactory. We will take into account your comments about the food quality and work to improve our culinary standards. Regarding the WiFi, we will investigate the issue to ensure it operates optimally at all times and in all areas of the hotel. We understand your decision to cancel your reservation and seek accommodation elsewhere. We appreciate your feedback and hope that in the future you have a much more positive experience if you decide to visit us again. Once again, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and appreciate your feedback as it helps us identify areas for improvement. If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you for helping us improve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nina H wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
This is the first time Tripadvisor reviews let me down. This place was very odd and in a slightly unsafe location. Pros: The room was clean! Coffee at breakfast was good but you only got 1 cup. Cons: We were given the wrong room. It had one very small bed and we were told there were no upgrades available. We had ordered a room with 2 beds. The bathroom was NOT private. It was closed by a frosted glass barn door style that simply did not close. If you like using the toilet with 0 privacy this place is for you. It had only a very small shower; the room I had reserved should have had a tub. Breakfast was awful. Staff seemed overworked and unfriendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diseno Balmoral, Marketing at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are deeply sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will take it into account to improve our services and the guest experience in the future. First and foremost, we apologize for the error in assigning your room. We understand how important it is for our guests to have the room they booked, and we will do everything possible to avoid such mistakes in the future. Regarding the bathroom, we understand the importance of privacy and regret that the sliding door did not function properly. We will investigate this issue to ensure it is resolved and that all our guests enjoy the privacy they deserve during their stay. As for the breakfast, we are very sorry it was not to your liking. We will take steps to address concerns about the quality of the breakfast and the attitude of the staff to ensure a more positive experience in the future. Once again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and demonstrate that we can offer you a much better experience. If you decide to stay with us again, please don't hesitate to contact our staff so we can do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and satisfactory. Thank you for helping us improve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paula C wrote a review Mar 2024
Mississauga, Canada63 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
Excellent costumer service. I felt safe and very well taken care of. I would come back and recommend this place to others. I enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of staff as well as how they were so helpful with helping me schedule my tours and choose the best ones for me. The spa services were also excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Contact the hotel prior to your arrival and ask for their help in scheduling your tours. Some...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diseno Balmoral, Marketing at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are delighted to hear that your experience at our hotel was excellent and that you received exceptional customer service. Our goal is to provide our guests with a safe, comfortable, and memorable stay, and we're glad to hear that we met your expectations. It's great to know that you felt safe and well taken care of during your stay, and that you appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff. We strive to provide personalized and attentive service to ensure that all our guests feel at home. We're also pleased that we were able to assist you in scheduling your tours. We work hard to ensure that you have access to the best experiences during your visit. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If there's anything else we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
acraw422018 wrote a review Mar 2024
Meridian, Idaho15 contributions3 helpful votes
I booked a queen bed and the room we received had two double beds in it. Reception was fine during checking in. We ate dinner in the hotel dining room and put all charges on our credit card, no extra items. During check out the next morning we were informed that we had an extra charge on our room. We explained to the manager that we hadn’t asked for anything additional, but to no avail. Since we had to put down $100 damage deposit the night before they just took the charge anyway. Finally breakfast was marginal, had to extra for apple juice, really
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We moved across the street to the Presidente hotel. Much much nicer.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diseno Balmoral, Marketing at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are deeply sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced during your stay at our hotel. It's disappointing to learn that you didn't receive the room you booked and that you were charged unjustified additional fees during check-out. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, and we will take your feedback seriously to improve our services and prevent such situations from happening again in the future. Regarding the additional charge and the discrepancy in room type, we will investigate this matter internally to rectify any errors and take necessary steps to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. We're very sorry that the breakfast didn't meet your expectations and that you had to face additional charges for items you didn't expect. We will take your feedback into account to improve our services and billing processes. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and demonstrate that we can offer you an exceptional accommodation experience. If you have any further concerns or comments, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ANDREW J G wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel is in a perfect location to stay and visit the city . Staff is wonderful and very helpful from the garage to the front desk and the waiters/waitress were extremely helpful . The free breakfast is very good ( pancakes ) dinner was delicious as well as we did eat there one evening as time got late ..... Great spot
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: very nice place
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diseno Balmoral, Marketing at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are thrilled to hear that your experience at our hotel was excellent! We appreciate your kind words and the time you took to share your feedback. Our team strives to provide exceptional service and make every stay memorable for our guests. It's great to know that you enjoyed our convenient location, as well as the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff. We're pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and had a satisfying culinary experience at our dinner. Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation during your visit to the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Balmoral in the future. We'll be delighted to serve you again and make your next stay equally wonderful!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David H wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Absolutely one of the WORST places I’ve ever stayed abroad. I came for business and was told my room was not ready. I had to come back 3 times, because “the housekeepers are running behind”. Then I found black mold in the ice maker and in my freezer both in the ice tray as well as the receptacle. I’m attaching a picture for others to see. Were the housekeepers so busy they just cleaned NOTHING? Then the resolution was the housekeeper took the tray and washed it and brought me another. They did absolutely nothing else except “promise” that the room was cleaned. This has been maddening and so, so frustrating after traveling internationally to get here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diseno Balmoral, Marketing at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We deeply regret hearing about your unsatisfactory experience at our hotel. We take our guests' feedback very seriously, and we offer our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. It is unacceptable that your room was not ready on time and that you found mold in the ice machine and freezer. This does not meet our cleanliness and quality standards, and we understand your frustration. We have taken note of your comments and will take immediate action to address these issues with our cleaning and maintenance team. We are committed to conducting a thorough cleaning of all affected areas and implementing additional measures to ensure that situations like these do not occur in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wilma Katz wrote a review Mar 2024
11 contributions1 helpful vote
Friends and I stayed at the Balmoral Hotel as part of a Road Scholar trip. We arrived a day early and enjoyed lunch in the open air restaurant. It was comfortable and more important the food good was good. I had my first Aztec soup there. Others had huge sandwiches. My room windows lacked screens, but the bellman was confident there would be no insects. He was correct. All staff were gracious and positive. Comfortable bed. Quiet. No complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diseno Balmoral, Marketing at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Balmoral and that your experience in the restaurant was positive. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and are glad to hear that you felt comfortable and well taken care of during your time with us. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the lack of mosquito nets on the windows, but we are pleased to hear that you did not experience any issues with insects. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If there is anything we can improve for your next visit, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you for choosing Hotel Balmoral, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Jose area.
PRICE RANGE
C$125 - C$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
balmoral hotel san jose
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Balmoral Hotel (C̶$̶4̶1̶8̶) C$120 - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (San Jose, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Balmoral Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Balmoral Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (0.2 km), Pre-Columbian Gold Museum (0.2 km), and Jade Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Balmoral Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Balmoral Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Balmoral Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Balmoral Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Rojo, Tenedor Argentino, and Restaurante El Patio del Balmoral.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Balmoral Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Balmoral Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Balmoral Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of San Jose.
Are pets allowed at Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Balmoral Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.