Hotel Aranjuez

Hotel Aranjuez

Street 19 Corner of Avenue 11 and 13, 200 meters north, 200 meters ouest and 25 south from the Santa Teresita Church, San Jose 2070 Costa Rica
Traveller (664)
Panorama at the Aranjuez Hotel
360
Panoramas (12)
Room #25
Room & Suite (368)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#10 of 78 hotels in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
WELCOME TO HOTEL ARANJUEZ IN SAN JOSÉ COSTA RICA! We invite you to enjoy "a lodging experience in an authentically Costa Rican house." The Hotel Aranjuez is made up of five houses, built in the 30's of the last century, S. XX, inhabited in their time by Costa Rican families. Barrio Aranjuez and Hotel Aranjuez are in the heart of the city of San José, just a few steps from Barrio Escalante, Gastronomic Walk, considered one of the 51 coolest neighborhoods in the world in 2022 (Time Out Magazine) and from Barrio La California, the bohemian neighborhood of San José. Very close to the Hotel Aranjuez, you will find the National Library, the National Park, the Legislative Assembly (Parliament), the National Museum, the Jade Museum, the Pre-Columbian Gold Museum and the commercial center of the city of San José (Avenida Central). At Hotel Aranjuez, with the experience of thirty years of operation, we do our best to offer our guests a professional service with excellent value for money (our rates, on average, are between $50-$60, two people , breakfast and taxes included-13% Our breakfast has a cost of $10 per person). In guest comments, in Booking, regarding their experiences at the Hotel Aranjuez, what we are and what we offer is summarized: “clean and refined place. Clean shower with hot water and good pressure. Excellent breakfast. Good wifi…The hotel is beautiful, quiet, nice and comfortable…The art works in the social areas and in each room, make the hotel feel like a local museum. The staff is friendly…The hotel is located in a quiet street, a short distance from the city center and the gastronomic center of Barrio Escalante, the pink neighborhood of San José…The breakfast is delicious and the dining room, where breakfast is served , is a garden surrounded by trees, where you can see squirrels and birds jumping from branch to branch... If you want to treat yourself to an elegant dinner, with cuisine made with local products, the restaurant of the Hotel Aranjuez, “11.47 ", is incredible!"
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Street 19 Corner of Avenue 11 and 13, 200 meters north, 200 meters ouest and 25 south from the Santa Teresita Church, San Jose 2070 Costa Rica
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport
Tortuquero Airport
73.4 km
See all flights
1,309Review45Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 607
  • 517
  • 112
  • 43
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Val J wrote a review Feb 2020
Sidney, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Hotel Aranjuez last month. The hotel called a taxi for our departure – the fare meter said 1900, but as I had just arrived, I was still totally bamboozled by the money which has numbers on it in thousands and millions. I had the money in my hand to pay 1,900, but the taxi driver kept indicating he wanted 19,000. That’s what I eventually gave him, and within minutes realized I’d paid about $40 for a 10 minute taxi ride.
As soon as I could, I sent an email to Hotel Aranjuez acknowledging that this was totally my error, but that I did expect the hotel would only use honest, reliable taxi companies and drivers. The hotel replied that they would contact the taxi company. It took a few days, but then I got an email from the hotel saying that the taxi driver had come to the hotel and returned the money he had scammed form me.
I was very impressed!!!!! IN terms of our stay, the hotel was clean, staff was helpful, breakfast was good. The restaurant next door was fabulous. I had a room right behind the reception which was quite noisy. My friend stayed in the annex ( just around the corner) and that room was very quiet.

Hotel Aanjuez provided good value and of course their service was exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mosiporelmundo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aranjuez
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Val J, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travelers! We always try to help our guests and give them a service "above and beyond". One of our goals is to be their home in San José, with comfortable rooms and excellent service. If one of our guests have a problem, we try to help him, that's why we do our best to talk with the taxi company and the driver to get you back the money. We're so glad you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Until then, safe travels! Andrés R. Hotel Aranjuez
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phillip BH wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom45 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel with a great location for walking to central San Jose and to the trendy restaurant and bar neighbourhood Barrio Escalante. The hotel consists of lots of buildings joined together giving it a lovely charming quality, which is served by excellent staff all round. The great breakfast is served in a lovely setting, out on a terrace surrounded by a lovely garden with lots of local wildlife. The only thing i’d say is the rooms need a bit of spruce up, I found quite a few Moth larvae crawling around - but nothing a good clean couldn’t sort and a few of the fittings were a bit shoddy- but for the price it was very very fair.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Q wrote a review Feb 2023
Kralendijk, Bonaire457 contributions318 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is the best way of being in a big city and yet it does not feel like you are in a big city.
The staff were very friendly. The breakfast buffet had many different options to choose from and it is located beautifully with trees which makes you forget you are in the center of a city. The rooms are basic but fine.
Nice and quiet but still close enough to walk to the town center. This was about 20 - 30 minutes, felt very safe to do and it was nice to see the buildings, a park en ending up in the shopping streets.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vzoccali wrote a review Aug 2021
Bethesda, Maryland4 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked the hotel based on all the positive reviews, but it feels like I was duped. The hostel we stayed at before coming to Hotel Aranjuez seemed like luxury in comparison. The issues spanned multiple areas:
1) Check-in: When we first arrived, the hotel front door was locked, so we rang the doorbell and waited. We rang the doorbell 5 times over the course of 15 minutes until a front desk person finally showed up to let us in. During that time, a man angrily approached us on the street for money.
2) Room cleanliness: Once we were able to check in and go to our room, the first thing we noticed were the bugs. There was a cricket the size of my palm on the wall and bugs throughout the room and bathroom. I noticed the windows were open and didn't have screens, which is very unusual in Costa Rica since bugs are everywhere. Closing the windows helped, but there were so many spiders in the bathroom and shower, we didn't even feel comfortable showering. There was also mold on the bathroom ceiling. We ended up sleeping with the light on and only stayed 1 of the 2 nights we had booked. We booked a different hotel instead for our second night because we felt so uncomfortable. I am a low-key traveler and have stayed all over the world in different levels of accommodation, and I have never felt more uncomfortable than at Hotel Aranjuez.
3) Breakfast: Even though breakfast was included in the price, they only had 2 time slots available which we conflicted with an appointment we had, so we were not able to take part.
4) WiFi: We were only able to connect to the WiFI once for a few minutes. The rest of the time, it seemed like it would connect but it wouldn't actually work.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fivestarsalltheway wrote a review Feb 2020
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom1,734 contribution226 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly welcome. It is a rabbit warren of corridors and steps everywhere. Uk health n safety would have a fit. Mats at bottom of stairs I nearly went a cropper. Half the light bulbs missing in the festive light up near top bedrooms. No night safe. Can’t lock the Louvre windows so you share you’re room with bugs. No cold water in tap. BUT in some weird crazy hippyish way it’s quirky and off the wall with plants and bizarre statues of Costa Rican gods every where. One night was plenty. No breakfast as we left too early but hot black coffee on offer. We walked a few steps to a tapas bar on the corner which was AMAZING and made our stay here worth while.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mosiporelmundo, General Manager at Hotel Aranjuez
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Fivestarsalltheway, Thank you very much for staying with us! We'll take note of the things you mentioned in order to improve and become a better hotel. Hope you can visit us again! Have a great year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark L wrote a review Jan 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom85 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want Best western generic , look away this not for you , the quirkiness has good n bad the rooms are hit n miss some better than others we got a short straw but was a late booking , basic and functional a standard double that might be a bit small for some, the hotel is charming made of old traditional houses knocked into one , breakfast on the patio was great , lots of little chill out areas enjoy a glass such a lovely chilled atmosphere, the staff where all great especially the girl on reception helping our stay run smooth and booking a great priced driver to take us to Manuel Antonio. locally couple good restaurants the hotel offering looked good also , 15 mins walk to city centre. we only booked this originally as we where concerned that arriving in the early hours would be an issue unlike other hotels who didn't even reply to emails this one replied instantly to confirm they check in 24hrs , we certainly be checking in there again soon I hope
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: away from reception
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandra Jara Castro, Director General at Hotel Aranjuez
Responded Jan 21, 2022
Hi Mark, Thank you very much for your comment! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
james123griffin wrote a review Feb 2023
Duncan BC93 contributions71 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed at The Aranjuez many times over the last dozen or so years. I still enjoy the atmosphere for all the reasons others have mentioned, but there is no doubt that there has been a decline in service. Just as a single example, we had an early departure (before 07:00hrs) recently, and received written reassurance that we would get a packed breakfast in lieu of using the excellent breakfast provided (which isn't available when we had to leave). I confirmed the arrangement when we checked in. Next morning the desk clerk said he knew nothing about our packed breakfast, and could do nothing to help us. Some days later I contacted the hotel by email to tell them of this, and I have never heard back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andrew m wrote a review Jan 2020
27 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Came across this hotel while searching for a one night place to stay in San Jose. The reviews were great, despite a few questionable poor ones which I'm glad we ignored. We stayed in the old building and it was stellar. Very artistic with a perfect mix of old meets new. It consists of several units which were once separated but amalgamated through semi-outdoor natural corridors all within the property walls. The breakfast buffet was complete and delicious. It's also connected to an amazing restaurant (reservations only) which Trip Advisor ranked #6 in all of San Jose. It's walking distance to museums, shops, parks, casinos and other restaurants. Lots of nice old buildings in the area. The neighborhood is nice but always exercise caution in any downtown urban neighborhood you're not familiar with. Highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mosiporelmundo, General Manager at Hotel Aranjuez
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear andrew m, Thank you very much for this amazing review! We'll be waiting for you, meanwhile we're going to do our best to improve and amaze you once you come back. One good news for everyone: now our restaurant 11-47 is ranked #1 of all San José! Have a great year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fivestarsalltheway wrote a review Jul 2021
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom1,734 contribution226 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
THIS WAS WRITTEN FEB 2020. Friendly welcome. It is a rabbit warren of corridors and steps everywhere. Uk health n safety would have a fit. Mats at bottom of stairs I nearly went a cropper. Half the light bulbs missing in the festive light up near top bedrooms. No night safe. Can’t lock the Louvre windows so you share you’re room with bugs. No cold water in tap. BUT in some weird crazy hippyish way it’s quirky and off the wall with plants and bizarre statues of Costa Rican gods every where. One night was plenty. No breakfast as we left too early but hot black coffee on offer. We walked a few steps to a tapas bar on the corner which was AMAZING and made our stay here worth while.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maureen B wrote a review Jan 2020
México6 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
No one told us that our bedroom was in another building 2 blocks away from the main building, it was December 25th and there was no food or nowhere to go because everything was closed, the 26th we had an included breakfast but the reception guy told us it was going to be just Coffee and bread 'cause of the date... I think in holidays and high season is when businesses have to have the most perfect service. This was not the case.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mosiporelmundo, General Manager at Hotel Aranjuez
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear maureenbolio, Thank you very much for staying with us. When you make a reservation in our hotel, you have all the information of the room you're choosing in the description of the room (in our website is written in capital letters next to the name of the room with a description, also in capital letters, of where the room is located). On the 26th our breakfast was served normally, from 7 to 9. Since you had to leave early, we gave you a breakfast box with breads and/or fruits (there's also coffee next to the reception desk), so maybe you misunderstood the information given by the reception guy. We never change the schedule of our breakfast, only on the 25th December and the 1st January. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from David M
16 contributions17 helpful votes
About a 2 hour drive
_ritacr3 asked a question Nov 2018
Niagara Falls, Canada
Do your standard double bed rooms have air conditioning?
Answer from jjpodson
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica51 contributions16 helpful votes
Hi, All of the rooms has A.C., Hot Water, fans, T.V., WiFi. coffee makers, plus the Hotel provides free use of Bikes, and Kayaks. And has a pool, located near the water [ The Golfo Dulce ] The Sweet Gulf "
CaptAlStCroix_USVI asked a question Jul 2018
St Croix, USVI43 contributions27 helpful votes
Hi, How far are you from the downtown (St Joseph) Tracopa bus station?
Answer from HBVoyager
Huntington Beach, California12 contributions14 helpful votes
We took Uber instead of taxis. Much cheaper. Would not recommend walking to downtown. It's a little far in the heat, many broken sidewalks and steep drops from sidewalks if you are not paying attention and lots of twists and turns, one way roads. Easy to get lost and end up hiking up hills like what happened to us.
HBVoyager asked a question Feb 2018
Huntington Beach, California12 contributions14 helpful votes
Do you offer a tour to El Trapiche sugar cane farm?
MIRANDA S wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms aren't very soundproofed, so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper"
Read full review
ThorYUL wrote a tip Jan 2024
Victoria, Canada35 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Watch your step ... sidewalks in San Jose are an Olympic Sport."
Read full review
k j wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is less than a 3 star hotel. Do not get lured."
Read full review
Mark L wrote a tip Jan 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom85 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"away from reception"
Read full review
Raquel M wrote a tip Dec 2021
22 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The difference on price between the standard and the superior room is minimal . And those 10 dollar you invest worth it"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Jose area.
PRICE RANGE
C$96 - C$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Aranjuez - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Aranjuez
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Aranjuez?
Nearby attractions include Parque Nacional Park (0.1 km), Feria Verde (0.1 km), and Parque España (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Aranjuez?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Aranjuez?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Aranjuez?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Aranjuez?
Conveniently located restaurants include 11.47 Restaurante, Cafe Mundo, and Doma Escalante.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Aranjuez?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Aranjuez?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (1.2 km), Ruinas de Ujarras (2.0 km), and Chepeteando/ San José a pie (1.2 km).
Is Hotel Aranjuez accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All San Jose HotelsSan Jose Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San JoseHotels near Hotel Aranjuez
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars