Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Transversal 11 Southwest Side from Parque de la Paz, San Jose Costa Rica
Traveller (304)
Master Suite
Room & Suite (55)
Restaurant at the Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Dining (45)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
C$113
C$113
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#20 of 78 hotels in San Jose
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a Four Acre Colonial Village style hotel of 110 guest rooms located within a residential neighborhood where you will be able to share a cup of Costa Rican coffee with our Good Neighbor Package. Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is located 30 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport and just 5 minutes from downtown San Jose where you will be able to enjoy spectacular plays in the National Theatre with our Cultural Package.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Massage
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
557Reviews13Q+A59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 228
  • 160
  • 101
  • 41
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
878Ktravel wrote a review Jul 2022
Orlando, Florida68 contributions31 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had 10 with us on a mission trip from the US. The accommodations were very comfortable, 2 bedrooms a kitchen, and a bathroom. There are rooms with washers and dryers available. The coffee machine is outstanding. The breakfast treats were delicious. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The outside areas are lovely and peaceful and we always felt very safe. If your internet is coming and going, just let the staff know, they took care of ours right away. On our departure day the staff knew we would be leaving early, so they prepared to go breakfast bags with treats and drinks in them. Outstanding service that is beyond compare to anything in the states. We loved our stay and highly recommend this establishment!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marion C wrote a review Mar 2020
St Catharines12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were there for a week and loved it.
The grounds were immaculate and the security more that adaquete.
The thing we enjoyed most was the staff, always professional and courteous.
Geovanna and Ivannia served wonderful cups of coffee each day when we arrived at the resturaunt.
The desk staff was helpful, giving us directions to local places, arranging tours and calling cabs.
We had a small incident after we arrived, Fredericko the reservation manager handled it quickly, with ease and was more than helpful...he was so competent and respectful.
We felt Casa Conde was a great value at a reasonable cost.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Not sure, think rooms are similar, junior suites are large and have all amenities.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fernando Gazel, Marketing at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Responded Mar 28, 2020
Dear Marion, We are very happy with your stay at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites. For us was a pleasure to have you as our guest. As you can see, we are really into the details and our goal is to offer a great service and provide a personalized attention. We are so glad to hear you liked our daily coffee served by our attentive staff. The service we provide to our guests is our priority and your comments are a great motivation for us to keep working hard. We appreciate your stay and we hope to have you here again very soon. Best regards, Randall Lara General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary Tribble wrote a review Feb 2020
Moscow, Idaho2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very disappointed with this property. Wasn’t clean and had ants in bathroom and the sofa was filthy and stunk (we had to cover it with bed coverings). Has a kitchen but no silverware or plates. We are on the ground floor and when we left for the day the curtains we closed and windows locked. When we returned the curtains were open and the window were open exposing our luggage and everything we have. Being on the ground floor we were lucky and think nothing was taken that we know of. We are world travelers and don’t normally complain. Needs attention badly—could be nice even if it is a little out of the way.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CasaCondeMgmnt, General Manager at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Dear Cassie4664, We appreciate your stay with us at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites. We make a great effort to offer impeccable grounds, our infrastructure stands out for its quietness and fine aesthetics as well as the kind manners of our collaborators. We do want to make our guests feel at home! We apologize for the situation you had to live in relation to your room. We have issued a report and we are going to investigate this atypical situation that is surprising to us. The cookware is requested at the front desk and it is always available. We hope to have a new opportunity to serve you and reflect the great hospitality experience that we are known for. Best regards, Randall Lara Gerente general
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Whitney wrote a review Nov 2021
7 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The outside and the pool area looks like the pictures but my suite looked nothing like it!! I’ll start by the most important factor which is cleanliness. Not even with COVID they bothered cleaning the room. The curtains were sooo disgusting. The cabinets are obviously touched by every guest and yet they are full of stains meaning they don’t clean them or any contact point in the room for that matter. And even the stove is full of grease! Yuck! The next thing will be the state of everything inside. My grandmas old furniture looks in better condition than anything inside the room! Even the bedding looks like it’s falling apart. I will not recommend that place specially during this times that negligence in cleanliness can be literally deadly. I only stayed there for two nights but I could barely sleep because I felt so uncomfortable, and not to mention the rock hard pillows they have and the defective window in one of the rooms that wouldn’t even close.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roger Stiven wrote a review Mar 2022
Jaco, Costa Rica35 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good customer service, nice apartments. The building just need little bit of love, there's not breakfast include, but the room is furnished With all facilities to make your stay comfortable. Very Well located and very quiet place and area
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
colleenmw wrote a review Mar 2023
Toronto, Canada44 contributions41 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights as it was close to family that we were visiting. The area is not nice and not really a touristy spot, but if it is close to something you need to b near it is a good option. The hotel is surrounded by this tall wall and once you enter into the grounds. it is like the secret garden. It is dated and needs some upgrading, which they are doing. But the architecture is beautiful along with the gardens. The pool area and hot tub is nice, rooms were very clean. We had a two bedroom which was wonderful - we had a living space along with a small kitchen which was perfect for us. Would have been nice to have a restaurant open on the property as there is nothing nearby. We enjoyed our stay and will probably stay here again as my husbands family lives in Desamparados. It was very inexpensive as well.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
878Ktravel wrote a review Jul 2023
Orlando, Florida68 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have reviewed the property before but it was such an outstanding repeat stay, one year later that I had to review again. We traveled with a group of 16 for a mission trip this time. The accommodations are comfortable and the staff is just outstanding! They are so friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend the property if you are in the area. The coffee machine is perfection and the breakfast bites are always good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tourist686 wrote a review Oct 2005
Central Valley, California1 contribution10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I found this hotel purely by accident, after a long day of sightseeing, and hectic dueling with the roundabouts (and lack of road signs) in San Jose. As darkness descended on my 80 yr old father and I, we were lost and becoming desperate in our search to find a decent room for the night. We had spent the prior two nights at a "good" downtown hotel, in a "no smoking" room with wet carpet that smelled suspiciously of sewage and reeked of old ashtrays. The Casa Conde, by contrast was heaven sent. Their staff were very courteous and helpful, not minding that my spanish was negligible. Their standard room was actually a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen (full size appliances!), a clothes washer & dryer, a small dining room and sitting area with a tv/dvd/stereo all nicely hidden in a beautiful armoire and a good sized bathroom with all the amenities. The hallways and foyers of the common areas are tastefully decorated with large beautiful stained glass nature scenes depicting the many wonders of Costa Rica in the stairwells of each building in the compound. I say compound as their was very good security and high walls surounding the buildings that contained the suites, dining area, workout area, pool, spa and conference center. There were beautiful grounds which were meticulously maintained and a central courtyard with a fountain as well as close generous parking. I only wish I had known of this place before I spent money on hideous rooms that claimed to be way better than reality actually showed them to be. You will not be disappointed staying a couple of nights or even a month at Casa Conde.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2004
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Responded Jul 3, 2017
Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back. We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit. Best regards, Randall Lara General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iamuzak wrote a review Mar 2006
Korcula Island, Croatia18 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I write reviews to aid other people. I travel alot, mostly luxury hotels.

Here's my experience. I was travelling back from the coast with my wife and kids (5 & 7). The San Jose Marriott was full so we chose the Casa Conde for a 2 days before our flight home. FYI: San Jose Marriott is outstanding.

Pros:
-the hotel is clean, well-guarded, well-maintained
-the restauant is excellent
-friendly, helpful staff especially if you attempt speaking Spanish
-all-suites, we were in a 2 bedroom suite which had full kitchen, stereo, satellite tv
-complimentary breakfast buffet
-a few small playgrounds for the kids
-a kids room with toys, puzzles and sandbox
-an excellent modern (small) freeweight gym

Cons:
-the hotel is in the middle of a typical Central/South American residential district: steel bars, high walls, roll shutters and razor wire. Nothing to walk to, we didn't have a rental car.
-the restaurant patio is 'right' next to the pool, my wife felt uncomfortable swimming/lounging by the pool

A few other problems we had were circumstantial but affected my opinion of the hotel. Put this under 'stuff happens' file:
1. We were in 515 over the restaurant. It was noisy starting at 5:30am when they were preparing for breakfast. Another night they had a birthday party at the restaurant that went to around midnight. Kids were tired and we needed to be up (4:30am) the next morning for our flight.
2. Construction noise started at 10:30pm. They were using a reciprocating saw to cut concrete until 2:00am right under our room. Staff did nothing about my repeated calls. (I must admit my calls were kinda rude, though.)
3. Watch the hot water. Its extremely hot. My 5 year old daughter got a 2nd degree burn. No joke.

I would recommend this hotel but only if you have a car, and don't stay in the main lobby building. With this in mind I would say its good value for the money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Responded Jul 3, 2017
Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back. We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit. Best regards, Randall Lara General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
El_Gringo_losabetodo wrote a review Nov 2017
Fort Myers, FL4 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just finished spending 10 days at this hotel in late November. It was a great value in San Jose; always clean, fast internet, tremendous value for the daily delicious and plentiful breakfast. Make sure you meet cheerful Ivania and ask her for her special café con leche. The hotel also has a very reasonably priced restaurant where my wife and I ate 7 dinners. If you come here, be sure to ask for Ricardo as your evening waiter. My wife found him to be “charmingly bilingual in Spanish/English with a great sense of humor”. Of all the evening waiters we had in and outside the hotel in San Jose, Ricardo was the only one who after serving the meal, always checked to see that everything was OK while we were eating. In addition, he added value by recommending we visit the Children’s Museum (Museo de los Niños), a VERY interesting museum housed in a formerly horrific but since repurposed penitentiary that was in use until 1979. Ricardo also made sure my wife was able to take the uneaten portion of her dinner back to the room. (Be careful of Edwin who was our waiter one evening, and unapologetically, told us he had thrown out her meal while we waited for it.) We’ve seen others say here that utensils were missing in our suite/kitchen but whatever we asked for at the front desk was delivered to the room except for coffee filters that we purchased at a Walmart along with some laundry detergent. We need to return here again in April and we will definitely be staying here again. Just fyi, we used the same cab driver throughout our stay, Jose, who can be reached on WhatsApp by entering a phone number of 011-506-8601-3953 if you’re coming from the US. If you don't speak Spanish, the front desk will gladly assist!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Building #2 has BEST wireless internet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CasaCondeMgmnt, General Manager at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Responded Dec 6, 2017
Dear El_Gringo_losabetodo Thank you so much for staying with us. It was a pleasure to host you for 10 wonderful days. We strive for our service to be the best and we are glad it didn't go unnoticed and that you were treated like home. As you realized we are an oasis close to the city where you can have rest and relaxation with great amenities. Ricardo for us is a great example of the service we wish to offer and a reference of kindness and good manners. We hope to see you again in April, until then we wish you all the best! Best regards, Randall Lara General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from CasaCondeMgmnt
San Pedro, Costa Rica5 contributions2 helpful votes
Taxi or Uber ride to downtown San José an nearby attractions is between 10 and 15 minutes.
kt4777 asked a question Mar 2018
London, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
Good morning!! Are there beaches near by? Walking distance or via taxi? Thank you!
Answer from CasaCondeMgmnt
San Pedro, Costa Rica5 contributions2 helpful votes
Good afternoon, we have one beach-front hotel and the other one is in the city. This one you are writing to is the one in San José city, 30 minutes away from the international airport Juan Santamaría. Our other hotel, Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel, literally is Beach Front in Playa Panama which has been awarded with the Ecological Blue Flag. The Ecological Blue Flag is an award or distinction that is awarded annually, which rewards the effort and volunteer work in the pursuit of conservation and development, in accordance with the protection of natural resources. To visit nearby beaches is possible during the snorkeling trips or with ground transportation.
Answer from CasaCondeMgmnt
San Pedro, Costa Rica5 contributions2 helpful votes
Thank you :) From San José to Manuel Antonio is between 2:30 to 3 hours depending on the traffic and time of departure. In relation to the room in the bottom floor, it won't be a problem.
Answer from CasaCondeMgmnt
San Pedro, Costa Rica5 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello Piper! The Front Desk can help you call different gastronomic express services such as: Chinese, Pizza, Mexican also by Uber you have many options nearby, for example steak house, italian restaurants, pubs with very good music and special menus.
Answer from ajanesbitt
philadelphia127 contributions3 helpful votes
My friend and I took an Uber from the airport to the condos. It was only about $14usd. Not sure about tours because we didn't do any. I didn't see a tour desk though.
Marion C wrote a tip Mar 2020
St Catharines12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure, think rooms are similar, junior suites are large and have all amenities."
Read full review
Julio wrote a tip Nov 2019
12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel does rent out their pool, dining areas to outside events. Request a room away from dining area to maximize quietness."
Read full review
Cris wrote a tip Sep 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask For Jorge Arias"
Read full review
Lindenmeyer wrote a tip Jun 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the main building above check-in and the dining room. It was quiet and comfortable."
Read full review
McLeangirl wrote a tip Apr 2019
McLean, VA138 contributions93 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask to see the room before you finalize it"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Jose area.
PRICE RANGE
C$102 - C$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casa conde apartotel & suites san jose hotel san jose, casa conde apartotel and suites san jose, casa conde apartotel san jose
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Casa Conde Hotel & Suites - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Joyeria Frutal (0.8 km) and Costa Rica Luxury Concierge (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cosi multiplaza Escazu, RBG Bar & Grill, and Mariscos Poseidon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (2.6 km), Ruinas de Ujarras (1.2 km), and Chepeteando/ San José a pie (2.7 km).
Is Casa Conde Hotel & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All San Jose HotelsSan Jose Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San JoseHotels near Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars