We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gaudy\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I arrived to gaudys after my passport and cellphone got stolen. Gaudys helped me with everything I needed. They were kind and supportive. The hostel is clean and have a homy vibe. Free WiFi, breakfast includes and most importantly best people ever! Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moran M
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is excellent! Used them twice for my journey in and out of San Jose. Very helpful, great local knowledge of course and only seek to make your stay the best. Even let me pitch up before going off to find an ATM to pay them later in the day. Very relaxed and comfortable environment and would use them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is probably the best hostel in a Central American capital I ever stayed at (price-quality-ratio and I traveled a lot). With an ambiance as if you would live in someone's house, it is lovingly furnished, well-maintained and aligned to travelers and living needs. You can use the well equipped communal kitchen, TV, Pool-Table, and relax at its plenty recreation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanne W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I found the hostel online and it looked friendly, clean and good price. All I need just for a recover sleep. I went there already with the price I was online without making a reservation ($10), got there and Claudia told the price was another one $14 (later Andres explained they have different prices) had to negotitate and was fine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ariadne N
Andres G, Manager at Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

HI Ariadne, You are right, you paid $10 for a bed without breakfast (which you got for free) you wanted a bed in a shared dorm, the only bed we had available that night, when you came down to the reception, caludia told you we didnt have any beds available but you wanted her to give a private room for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although super fast its amongst the worst experiences I've ever had. If you are a traveller who also work during your trip DO NOT STAY IN THIS PLACE. The guy who were in duty couldn't be more rude and tried charging us money for using the common area. I have stayed in many hostels around and and have never seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel S
Andres G, Manager at Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Just 1 thing to say, you didnt stay here, you came as a visitor and stayed for a few hours using the wifi, having coffee, using the bathrooms and all the facilities, when you were told that if you want to stay longer using all our facilities and laying down over the livingroom couch as you were for hours, you...

Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great hostel with a lot of cozy common areas and clean rooms (or at least the one we stayed in!). Service was excellent. Also offers a shuttle service to the airport, which is cheaper than most taxis would charge. If you're looking for a quick overnight, don't look further!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxime G
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed here for a quick overnight. It was noisy and we felt overpriced. We were frustrated that they did not have any bottled water we could purchase and they said there was no where close that it was safe for us to walk to get some. They were a great help in getting picked up at the airport and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katya S
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay if on a budget. Staff very helpful and room clean and comfortable. Included breakfast is great varies between pancakes and traditional beans and rice. Better off paying in American dollars not local currency as much better exchange rate - this is common throughout most hostels I stayed in. Good internet speed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAtraveller2016
sf bay area
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This was a descent place to stay for one night for a family. The place is in a fairly safe neighborhood with a grocery store just 3 blocks away. The rooms were very simple and due to some dust from the ceiling and few little ants in the beds, it gave the impression the rooms were not the cleanest. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanie k
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Great little hostel near the bus depot with nice breakfasts (albeit only for the sliver of time between 07:30 and 08:30) -- and while the dorm is windowless, it has a skylight allowing ambiance light in. Spacious shared / communal spaces make it a great place to spend a night (or two), but don't expect to be near any action....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos Scott L

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 84 in San Jose
275 reviews
0.6 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
790 reviews
0.4 km away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
892 reviews
0.2 km away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
0.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located in a safe neighborhood of San Jsoe, a few steps of: 3 different banks, supermarkets open untill midnight, main street in san jose, all fast food restaurants (KFC, taco bell, wendys, subway...)2 minutes taxi ride from coca cola bus station (buses to pacif zone), ticabus (buses to all central america), sabana park (largest park in san jose)As you can see, you will all what you need close by.We also offer: free breakfast, internet, wifi, parking,kitchen, dvds to watch, cooffe and tea all day ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel

Address: Ave. 5, Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636 | near Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $13 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudy`s Backpacker Hotel San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
United States

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The dorm room at the back of the building is further from the door and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles adamdA5619QO, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Balcon room is very noisy at night with the traffic light!”
 of 5 bubbles AlexandraS22, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms have en suites”
 of 5 bubbles lilyroberts232, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back my be quieter, but not sure how the wifi will be.”
 of 5 bubbles kevinhP2084NJ, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a private room if it fits your budget!”
 of 5 bubbles ianb261, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5