We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Amuri Sands, Aitutaki
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We had a wonderful time staying at Amuri Sands for our 6 nights on Aitutaki. The bungalow was compact, tidy and comfortable and just a few metres from a beautiful beach. We enjoyed many afternoons sitting on the deck, sipping a glass of something and watching the sun go down. Mark could not have been more helpful. He picked us...

1Thank Keith T
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Keith Thank you so much for your review of our little property. I am sure we will see you and Adrienne again in our little paradise called Aitutaki. Yes the beach is stunning from the deck especially with the changing colours of the lagoon and the beautiful sunsets. As for the coconuts, there is always an abundance but...

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The bungalow is nice but it is the location which is the big draw. The view from the deck is amazing! Only a small stretch of sand with pretty palmtrees seperates you from the gorgeous lagoon with good snorkeling. It hardly gets any better then this. The bungalow itself is quite small but everything is provided and it is very...

Thank GenjiG
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana GP and Astrid So glad you enjoyed your stay and your comments are appreciated. Yes the aspect from the deck is truly amazing, looking out over the lagoon to the reef. Plus the added benefit of only two units is a definite advantage for the guests. A long way from the Netherlands but hopefully we may see you...

Reviewed 3 June 2016

We've stayed here 5 times and always enjoyed it. Mark is unfailingly friendly and helpful. The place is good value for money, in a great location, quiet and private. Perfect for singles or couples who like to watch their budget and don't like crowds.

Thank quietisnice
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana As always, we loved having you here again - the good company and interesting conversation, as well as watching you both unwind, relax and melt into your environment. It's a pleasure to behold. We really hope you decide to come back again. Dinner (on us) instead of lunch next time! Kia Manuia Mark

New Zealand
Reviewed 14 May 2016

My partner and I spent 5 nights at Amuri Sands. Our thoughts echo those of the other reviewers - we really had no complaints with this patch of paradise and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation is everything you need, and quite comfortable. We explored the island and the stretch of coast where the resorts are situated and can say...

1Thank Adam W
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Kia Orana Adam and Yvette Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Amuri Sands and that everything was to your satisfaction. It was great to chat with you both, and to look after your needs. You mentioned about the lagoon cruise on a Sunday. Yes, there are only two cruises on that day,...

Reviewed 26 April 2016

The location is perfect. Mark is a cool guy. This was our 2nd stay here and can't wait to come back again. Highly recommended. The garden setting on one side and the spectacular beach on the other. What more could you ask for.

Thank Piedrasblancas99
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Dear Josh and Lauren, It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at Amuri Sands, and great to welcome young people from California. It's (fortunately) becoming easier for visitors from the USA to access the Cook Islands, with regular flights to Rarotonga. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both, and appreciated the chats, as well as a shared...

Summerland, Canada
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Our stay of 19 nights at Amuri Sands couldn't have been better. Mark was a great host! We loved the location for snorkelling which is amazing. Mark had some great advise on where and what to look for, very informative and helpful to make our adventures the best. The unit was easy to live in and the deck was perfect...

Thank DeniseGord
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Dear Gordon and Denise, It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us here at Amuri Sands. We thoroughly enjoyed your company, as well as your appreciation of the beauty of our very unique location here at Amuri Sands. You were very charming guests, and we look forward to your return one day. We do hope you will...

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

I have absolutely no complaints about our stay at Amuri Sands and we would stay there again! Mark is very friendly, he picked us up from the airport, took us to the store to buy some food, aranged a scooter for us and he keeps the property really nice and clean. The units are equiped with everything you need for...

Thank ITancer
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Dear Ivana, It was a delight to have you and your husband staying with us here at Amuri Sands. We very much enjoyed talking with you, and it was our pleasure to assist you with the booking of some of your holiday activities, as well as scooter hire and provisioning whilst you were here. I am very happy to hear...

Reviewed 22 February 2016

Spent 11 nights at Amuri Sands bungalow . Beautiful location, well built modern bungalow ( 2 separate halves) , well appointed for being self sufficient cooking when desired, drinking water supplied, Got a little warm a few nights with no wind off ocean & extremely hot temp's while we were there in Feb. but fan was sufficient most nights. Swimming...

Thank Rick D
amurisands, Owner at Amuri Sands, Aitutaki, responded to this review

Dear Rick and Nicky, We are very happy to hear that Amuri Sands met all your expectations and requirements in order for you both to enjoy the splendour of Aitutaki, and our very unique location here. We are also pleased that we were finally able to accommodate your request for a stay here at Amuri Sands. Thank you for your...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 December 2015

We stayed for a week at the end of October and really enjoyed our time at Amari Sands. It's relaxed and chilled out with everything you need. Clean accommodation, and a highlight was having breakfast on the balcony each morning - lagoon views, lush. Fresh rain water for drinking, coconuts on the property and the owner Mark also supplied us...

1Thank splitapples
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Our family had a great time staying here. Mark was a great host. From welcoming us at the airport and driving us to the shop to stock up on food for the first night, he made the holiday very easy. His advice was worth listening too and his daily weather reports very useful for planning our days.. Mark told us...

Thank Bunyips-family

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (112)
View from Room (15)
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (9)
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.3 km away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,068 reviews
2.9 km away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
145 reviews
0.9 km away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
871 reviews
0.5 km away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
433 reviews
3.3 km away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kia Orana, and welcome to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki. We are a family-run business with 2 chalets on the beachfront on the west coast of Aitutaki, Cook Islands. We provide budget accommodation for your self-catering needs and are positioned near dining outlets and shops. The beach we are positioned on has some of the best snorkeling on the island. We look forward to you staying with us. Kia Manuia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Address: Main Rd, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Price Range: $94 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amuri Sands, Aitutaki staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Amuri Sands, Aitutaki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two units available and both are great.”
 of 5 bubbles 261janetv, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“can't go wrong as both are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonk461, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Both rooms have the same outlook etc, nothing to choose between them.”
 of 5 bubbles janey57NZ, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Both bungalows are private and have great sea views”
 of 5 bubbles 115keitht, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Chickens next door roost on the north , but crow on both sides so repeat visitors just stick with the side they started with.”
 of 5 bubbles quietisnice, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5