We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

749 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 666: English reviews
Start your review of Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Murphys, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This whole place need major upgrading. Customer service was bad. Not impressed at all. The lagoon is beautiful so book a snorkel trip which was our favorite day in Aitutaki. The whole vibe of the island feels tense and all the employees seem to not want to be there. Hopefully they can start a remodel and employee training because the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maganmoore85
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Maganmoore85, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. I am a little surprised with your comments on the staff as they constantly receive praise from our visitors for their friendly service but I do apologize if the welcome was not as you would have expected. I appreciate your...

Woy Woy, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort location is wonderful, you cannot fault that but everything else looks like it has seen better days. My companion and I stayed 3 nights in the "Honeymoon Villa" as that is the only accomodation with 2 bedrooms, apart from paying for 2 seperate cabins/Bungalows. The cost per night is above $ 1000 (discount rate) and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eduard S
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Eduard and James, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. I am please to read you both enjoyed your stay and you found the staff friendly and accommodating. I note your comments on the Villa and cooked breakfast and I will discuss with the relevant department leaders. It...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booking was made easy via email and phone. Big credit to Joe who assisted us with our booking, answered all our queries professionally and made the whole booking process easy. We were greeted by flower wreathes and fresh cold coconut when we arrived at the Aitutaki airport. The drinks were much needed in the heat of the day. The resort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kanj89
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Kanj89, Thank you for staying with us at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. We are very please to have exceeded your expectations which ensured a memorable Aitutaki experience. Your outlined highlights are very often mentioned by other guests especially the resorts magnificent location and our friendly staff and your "Things to look out for" are appreciated. Joe does...

Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No words to describe, waking up to the vast beautiful blue lagoon that Aitutaki Island has to offer you. We had a 'beachfront lagoon view' room and the scenery was just magic. The sound of the school of fish, splashing away on the sandy beach, gives you the feeling of being alone on an island all to yourself.... Friendly staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DTBoggs
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Doreen and Steven, Thank you for your 3rd visit to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa and your very positive comments on your Island Experience. Sue and I are very proud of our hard working team and take pleasure in thanking them for all their efforts. Until your 4th visit take care and see you back in paradise. Warm...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I wouldn't return at the cost as I feel I could enjoy the lagoon for cheaper from elsewhere and have personally experienced top quality in tropical settings so know it's possible. This did not meet expectations so the service and hotel aren't worth paying such a high price for in my opinion and here are the headlines: + positive Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelsloads
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Travelsloads, Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Aitutaki lagoon Resort & Spa. You positive comments are well received just like the ones that need addressing. With relation to breakfast, we offer a tasteful complementary tropical breakfast as part of the package and an a la carte breakfast menu is available should guests like to...

Manchester England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We could only stay here one night but having done so we will definitely come back. This place is wonderful. We did not eat here but could not fault our bungalow in any way. But the location is the main thing - on a private island surrounded by fabulous beaches and the beautiful lagoon. Such a friendly welcome from Mark...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SummerLightening
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana SummerLightening, Than you for your review on you recent visit to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. As mentioned by many of our guests the location of the resort on a private island in Aitutaki Lagoon is certainly one of our key assets. Your comments on the bungalow are very encouraging and your special mention of this stay been...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spend two weeks on this resort, overall we love the island, definitely top spot if you are looking for an island escaping experience, highly private and relax place for couples, everyday kayaking and unlimited water activities. Kayaking free to travel all nearby small islands, private islands and beaches, coconuts everywhere! You can enjoy sun bed and sun tanning anytime...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe C
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Phoebe C, Thank you for visiting Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa and for writing your review on your experiences. As mentioned in previous e-mails the resorts location is it's main feature and as you mentioned the waters of the lagoon are ideal for many types of water activities. I note your comments on the food and I can...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Warm welcome from our lovely hosts set the scene for a wonderful time. Head for the bar to meet Violetta. A woman as warm and beautiful as her island ! Excellent food, welcoming and friendly staff make it the perfect place to relax and leave reality behind for a while. Can't wait to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SARINTOUL
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Sean and Christina, Thank you for your review of your stay at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. Your comments read very positively of your Aitutaki experience and Violeta receives many favourable remarks from our guests. We all look forward to welcoming you back to our private island of Aikuta. Warm regards, Mark, Sue and the Team.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted a low keyed experience after 4 weeks of travel in Australia and New Zealand, and we were not disappointed. This resort is on a small motu a short hop from the main island and the airport is only 5 minutes away. They provide a ferry to get you and your luggage across to the motu, and the owners,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Robert, Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent stay at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the resort and I am sorry your luggage ended up at a different location but as you mentioned it did give you time to view your bungalow before being reunited with your belongings....

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This place was wonderful and unique. You are right in the lagoon and can swim and walk in the shallows, and kyake to other islands. They provide reef shoes which are helpful in certain parts but if you go to the tip of the island where the cabanas are, there is lots of beautiful soft sand. It is so shallow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeaneal G
Mark P, General Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Jeaneal G, Thank you for your review of your stay at Aitutaki lagoon Resort & Spa. Kuriri Point is the location of the cabanas and it is one of the most beautiful beaches in the lagoon. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the water activities and exploring the lagoon and close by islands is a must. Our...

884 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (825)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
View from Room (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (341)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only private island, adults only resort in the Cook Islands. It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics - the Overwater Bungalow. And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Address: | Akitua Private Island, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Price Range: $516 - $1,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort And Spa
Aitutaki Lagoon Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort Spa
Lagoon Resort Aitutaki
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the beachfront lagoon view room, including the over-water bungalows has the view of the beautiful lagoon....”
DTBoggs, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I think any room works here!”
SummerLightening, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Whatever room you get, spray surfaces with bug killer first”
  • Outdoor Shower
  • Bungalow #3
evandbob, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lagoon side room will offer best view”
Bexboo101, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beach side bungalows offer best value”
RichardT553, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5