We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tamanu Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tamanu Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 383: English reviews
Start your review of Tamanu Beach
 Click to rate
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

First time to Aitutaki. Wow. Stayed 3 nights with our 17yr old son Lovely resort. Picked up and made to feel very welcome. Arrived at resort great introduction about the resort while relaxing with a cold drink. Our villa was lovely and clean. Nice breakfast included. Reception very helpful. Water activities great. Nice and relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicola141
Nth Qld
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had our second stay here and once again did not disappoint. The lovely Nane greeted us at the airport and made us feel like we were coming home again. Our room was ready early and we were welcomed by the reception and also by Nick the hotel manager. A nice touch when we got to our room was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gbasky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok we stayed 18 days, yes 18 days on a single island, It was great diving snorkelling getting to know the locals and understand how people on the island live. The staff at Tamanu were exceptional, Nick's front of house staff were always helpful and made accommodations to any request we had (i.e. some funky ways to pay the bill)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucas D
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you're looking for an exciting time don't go to Aitutaki however if you want a peaceful, relaxing time then this is the place for you. Our welcome at Aitutaki airport was very warming and we loved the leis. As we were early we luckily didn't have to wait long for our beach front unit. Our unit was spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaine C
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Aitutaki was the most beautiful place I've visited in my life, hence the title of the review- I feel like I could have stayed in a shack and still had a wonderful time. Luckily, Tamanu Beach was a fantastic experience. To get one thing out of the way right away- yeah, from a US perspective at least, the room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
L'Escala, Spain
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We booked before leaving home on the internet the Sunday barbecue & sunset night and Thursday Island night and received an email from Tamanu confirming our bookings. However when we pop in Sunday morning to the restaurant we were told that they didn't have our bookings. We managed to get a table both nights. We were very impressed by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doyia
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We had already stayed at Tamanu in February 2016, so coming back again, I was slightly apprehensive about just how special Aitutaki would feel again. Happy to report that the "wow " factor was still there. The views from the resort beach of the lagoon are still breath taking and the lagoon day trip to the smaller islands was as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mamachompkin
sutton coldfield
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Briefly...high and lowlights... Meet and greet by a lovely lady...who seemed to know everyone on the island!! Would have been nice to get a cool drink on arrival...as we were early...whilst we couldn't get into our room, we got towels..so could go straight to the beach. Rooms are pleasant, and supply of mosquito burner is handy. Unfortunately replenishment of toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank champagnemarie
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for our constructive review - Allow me to apologise for the poor service. We are working everyday to improve this - however there is no excuse for not having a cool drink upon arrival. Just to alert other travellers our check in time is 2:00pm - however we do try and get all of our guests...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Tamanu Beach has a sign outside describing itself as “Casual Luxury”, but the fact that the “u” is missing, probably sets the scene. We had booked a Studio Garden Room, but were informed before we arrived that the resort is being refurbished and we had been upgraded to a Family Room. Our room was spacious and clean, but also getting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chinarog
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. Aitutaki has one of the worlds most beautiful lagoons and we also recommend this to ALL visitors to our small Island. We are currently refurbishing one wing of the resort and once complete by April 2017 we will start in the rooms that you were in. We have worked hard on our Island...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

No holiday in The Cook Islands would be complete without a trip, or hopefully if you can, a stay in Aitutaki. So 23 years after our first trip to Aitutaki, we were back. We were so pleased we booked Tamanu Beach for our 5 night stay. The warm welcome our family of four received when we arrived at the airport...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha E

392 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (376)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (144)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 km away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,076 reviews
1.4 km away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
153 reviews
3.2 km away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
878 reviews
0.1 km away
Matriki Beach Huts
Matriki Beach Huts
#1 of 13 in Aitutaki
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm island welcome to Tamanu Beach Hotel- your luxury Pacific Island getaway destination, on the pristine atoll of Aitutaki. Tamanu Beach resort is located on the western coast of Aitutaki, with stunning sunset views from our beachfront Restaurant and Bar. Tamanu Beach resort offers four bungalow accommodation options, including self contained studio rooms and one bedroom lagoon view rooms. All our Cook Islands bungalows are nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Our beachfront rooms are on the water's edge- a stone's throw from our gorgeous blue lagoon. Our stunning Aitutaki beachfront resort features 22 bungalows, conference facilities, two fresh water swimming pools, a beachfront bar and restaurant and a gift shop. Casual Luxury at Tamanu Beach Our private, white sand beach borders Aitutaki Island's crystal clear lagoon providing endless opportunities for island activities such as swimming, snorkelling and kayaking in the azure waters. Tamanu Beach is family operated and we offer guests a truly unique Polynesian experience. Every Thursday enjoy Island Fire- a performance of Cook Islands song, dance, fire dancing and more from our talented and dynamic cultural group. Tamanu Beach is a popular haven for magical Cook Islands weddings and honeymoons, and is within easy reach of local cafes, bars and restaurants giving you the opportunity to dine out at your leisure. Your stay with us includes the following complimentary services: •Return airport transfers •Daily tropical breakfast •All Kayaks and Masks and Snorkels ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tamanu Beach

Address: PO Box 59, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Price Range: $423 - $934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamanu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamanu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamanu Beach Aitutaki
Tamanu Beach Hotel Aitutaki
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tamanu Beach staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Tamanu Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front 200 units face the sea and have great views but we preferred to be closer to the pool in the 209 210 area.”
, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bungalow overlooking the lagoon, best.”
kk2bb2kk2, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The lagoon view bungalows are heaven”
denisepD9164FW, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go Garden Suite for costs and experience”
Jenniemaxwell, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book in main section if possible. If in other section, ask for a beachfront villa.”
RJS2, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5