We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Matriki Beach Huts

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Matriki Beach Huts
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Start your review of Matriki Beach Huts
 Click to rate
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved the spot! Absolutely island living and a great snorkel spot in front of the door! The beach was super nice, colourful fishes & corals everywhere, turtles, cats with no fear to sit on a coral and go for a hunt. Perfect place for nice BBQs on the beach and hang out! Hammocks and seating are all on the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolenachtfuchs
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Nicole & family! Thank you so much for taking the time out to write your lovely review both here and booking.com for us at Matriki. We were absolutely thrilled that you chose to visit us with your Mum, Aunty & Uncle who had travelled all the way from Germany, and that they were so captivated by their stay...

Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Crystal clear waters, empty white sand beaches, simple accommodation and a lagoon with outstanding sealife and paradisal dessert islands, my stay at Matriki was the highlight o my 5 month trip around the world. Lisa and Paul are warm hosts and the location unbeatable. This represents amazing value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauries122
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Laurie! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us at Matriki Beach Huts. Wow! To say that staying with us was the highlight of your trip around the world is a HUGE compliment and we feel very, very honoured, considering the amazing places you have visited and the experiences you have had....

Golden Beach, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I loved it here so close to the water, very comfortable bed in the tree house and the kitchen was just fine, outside shower. Your hostes are very happy to include you in on any activity such as hula dancing, boy what a work out. Its basic but just great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn F
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Robyn, Hope you are well. Meitaki for taking the time to write a review for us at Matriki. We are very pleased that we could accommodate you while you were here to compete in the Island's Motu2Motu race and even more delighted you were part of the winning team! Of course we put that down to the great...

Leipzig, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a really great time there. I loved the Lower Tree House, the balcony, the view, our little cute kitchen, our outdoor shower and all the lovely small things Lisa put in there to make everybody feel comfortable. But the best part is the tour with Lisa and Paul to the Lagoon. If you think you've seen the colours...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancykK2686JV
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Nancy Well, what can we say that we didn't already say in person to you and the lovely Claudia! It was absolutely fabulous to host your return to Paradise after 16 long years and we are thrilled that you loved it even more now than you did then! The Lower Tree Hut was a perfect space for you...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really loved to stay with Paul and Lisa. They were very kind an helpful. We would definitely recommend this place when you are traveling to aitutaki. The day trips they offer are spectacular. I think one day we will go back there!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timo M
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Timo Meitaki Atupaka (Thank you very much) for taking the time to write a lovely review of us here at Matriki. We very much appreciate your kind words and we are pleased, that after a little persistence and a squeeze here and there, we were finally able to accommodate you guys. We're delighted you enjoyed our lagoon tour....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

This was our second visit to Matriki. Didn't disappoint. We love it here. We came with friends, hired scooters, went to One Foot Island for the day and on the day snorkelling tour. Love the peace, the cats, the calm. You can socialise if you want but no pressue either. Thank you Lisa and Pau! James and Laura

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James F
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana James and Laura Thank you for taking the time to write a review of us here at Matriki. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your stay together with Gavin & Kylie. The Upper and Lower Tree House are perfect for couples & friends travelling together and we're very happy that you chose to return to Matriki again. We wish you...

Reviewed 20 December 2016

Stayed 3 nights here with Lisa and Paul, they are one of the best host I have ever met! They made me feel like I am at home! The room is basic but well equipped and clean. The beach is just outside the beach huts which offer excellent snorkeling and beautiful sunset! If you are lucky, you can join Lisa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diszyd
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana "Diszyd" Thank you so very much (Meitaki Atupaka) for your heart warming review of Paul and I at Matriki. We are absolutely thrilled with your comment that you felt so welcome staying with us. We do like to leave our guests alone to enjoy their own time, but ensure that they know we are always on hand to...

Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The rooms are even without fan, in that weather it would be necessary! The owner does not like customers, who are complaining. The words: It will be better, if they move somewhere else.. is say everything. The information on their web ar enot accurate, the pictures does not give the real conditions of the accomodation The beach is nice, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank imricht2016
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Dear Imrich Thank you for your review and i will try to address what i feel is the underlying issue here: Your initial booking, after you requested I send you more photos and descriptions of each hut despite directing you to the website, was to reserve the whole complex however, after several months of communications, to which i helped you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Excellent choice for budget conscious travellers.The island style furnished huts have a lovely beach atmosphere and from the verandah you can see the glorious beach which is only a few meters away.I stayed in the lower treehouse which had a nice outdoor shower off the small but functional kitchen.The toilets are communal but were spotlessly clean during my whole stay.The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elzastankovic
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Elza Thank you very much (Meitaki Atupaka) for your lovely review of Matriki Beach Huts. We very much enjoyed hosting your holiday here and were pleased that you got involved with the activities on the island and interacted with fellow guests and met people around the island, sharing stories. It was lovely to see you out and about...

Reviewed 15 November 2016

After having been to pretty much every corner of this planet I have to say that Aitutaki is the most beautiful place I have ever seen and Matriki is the perfect place to be in such a paradise. The different huts are quaint and lovely and special and offer all amenities you could dream off. Lisa and Paul are the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoDoFarouk
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana 'DoDoFarouk' Ok - so, I'm going to be honest - every once in a while, a Trip Advisor profile has me stumped so i investigate further to see where else you've been travelling to give me the clarity - the frustrating thing is that we had a quite a few couples over the last few months (including October!)...

249 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (190)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.0 km away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,055 reviews
3.1 km away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
144 reviews
1.3 km away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
858 reviews
0.2 km away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quiet budget rustic self contained absolute beachfront huts on the nicest natural snorkeling and swimming beach on beautiful Aitutaki, Cook Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matriki Beach Huts

Address: Anaunga, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Price Range: $107 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Matriki Beach Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matriki Beach Huts Hotel Aitutaki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matriki Beach Huts staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Los Angeles

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Matriki Beach Huts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower Tree Hut, which is lagoon view, tiny, cosy, authentic bungalow usually with very friendly neigbours, and good athmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles 560kl_ris, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All beach rooms are the same and that's what I'd be going for! ”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best views”
 of 5 bubbles neltrain, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We loved the Beach Hut but all the beach side huts have lovely views out over the lagoon.”
  • Beach Hut
  • Tree Hut and Reef Hut
 of 5 bubbles brucec784, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beach front Tree hut downstairs is the room we stayed in.”
 of 5 bubbles 523AndrewP, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5