We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shirleys Beach

Light House Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
  • Lighthouse Beach
    0.1 km
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 18 August 2016
Warm welcome
We stayed four nights here. The rooms are basic but clean... more
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 19: English reviews
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed four nights here. The rooms are basic but clean. Located in an quiet street ( execpt the temple). Shirley and her son are very friendly and helpfull. It's only a 5 min walk to the beach. If your are looking for a budget stay in Kovalam then try Shirley's.

Thank 131Robert
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Arrived for check in at 12 noon as advised was greeted by a young man in dirty clothing, a reception area smelling disgusting and strewn with rubbish. Waited ONE HOUR in the noon day heat spoke to someone on the phone who told us we were being moved to another hotel we requested to see our booked room at the...

Thank Bryan A
shambu6in, Manager at Shirleys Beach, responded to this review

Dear Bryan, We appreciate your effort to review us but we feel that your review is biased and not justified.We feel that we have to write our side as well. Since manager was on his way to the hotel We informed you through phone that the room is not vacant till one oclock since the guest staying requested a 30...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

At very short notice we booked six nights here not quite knowing what to expect. We were very happy with the accommodation, location, cleanliness and staff. It was excellent value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to go again.

Thank helenR1850
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We spent 4 nights here and for the most part we have had a comfortable stay. The people at reception were very nice and very helpful. Our room was large and lovely and clean, the beds as in a lot of India were rather hard, we found the bedding a bit lacking--- a bit heavier cover would have been perfect,...

Thank nadia089
shambu6in, Manager at Shirleys Beach, responded to this review

Dear Nadia, Warm Greetings from Shirleys! We appreciate your reviews and glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.We have taken note of the suggestions and assure you that in your next visit most of these facilities will be there. We are forced to keep old fashioned TV sets because LED and LCD tv do not have long life in...

Kovalam, India
Reviewed 8 February 2016

The owners came to get us at the airport,no problem for that, but they took us in a building that wasn't there hotel, the rooms were dirty, with no AC and no wifi, and i booked for those services. So after aguing they took us to another place (still not there hotel) but at least it was clean. We left...

Thank Pia C
shambu6in, Manager at Shirleys Beach, responded to this review

Dear Pia, Warm greetings from Shirleys! We appreciate your effort to review us.We find it surprising that when you made the booking through phone we informed you that we are sold out and we do not have any rooms at our property and you told us that you were OK with another building but upon arrival your father disliked the...

Reviewed 20 February 2015

I made a booking at Shirley’s through Agoda and pre-paid for the room. The place was impossible to find - the “hotel” is not at the location shown on Tripadvisor, Google Maps, or the hotel's own website. When I did find the location, the manager told me that they would put me in a room “on the beach” several minutes...

7Thank MG14052
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2015

I spent a week at Shirleys Beach in January 2015. My room was spacious and well presented. There was also a balcony which was a nice place to sit and use the free wifi, particularly in the cool of the evening. The room was also very clean and there was the option to have the cleaner come in and tidy...

3Thank michaelseymour2014
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Friendly managers and staff. One minute walk to the beach. Nice and very clean room(comfortable beds), bathroom(with hot water) and balcony(with fan). Large fridge, very small TV but with large choice of channels. They will provide good breakfast by your choice, english, american...I like Kerala style, so i got every morning a different and excellent one. Also a perfect WiFi...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Myself and my daughter had a wonderful stay at Shirley's in November of 2013. The breakfast was perfectly fine with eggs and fresh juice and was served by Mohammed who could not do enough for us. The room was large and spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and we had a large balcony with a table and chairs which we...

3Thank Nancemena
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We did not actually stay at Shirley's but one of the other apartments they access (Green Villas). The first night was poor as although the room was large it was not very clean and the beds were terrible. However complaining gave us an upstairs room which was great with a fridge and large cleanroom and balcony. Beds had foam mattresses...

Thank bernicedorset

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (3)
Hotel & Grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.4 km away
Sree Visakh
Sree Visakh
#33 of 50 in Kovalam
10 reviews
0.1 km away
Pappukutty Beach Resort
Pappukutty Beach Resort
#36 of 50 in Kovalam
183 reviews
0.4 km away
Greenshore Apartments
Greenshore Apartments
#15 of 50 in Kovalam
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Raja Hotel
Raja Hotel
#44 of 50 in Kovalam
18 reviews
0.8 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#40 of 50 in Kovalam
69 reviews
1.6 km away
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Shirleys Beach

Address: Light House Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Price Range: $33 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Shirleys Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirleys Beach Kovalam, Kerala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shirleys Beach staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Shirleys Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Les chambres sont loué dans d'autre bâtiments. Y at-il vraiment un hotel ?”
 of 5 bubbles 221piac, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Don't accept the ground floor room on the right at Green villas or at least check its clean.”
 of 5 bubbles bernicedorset, 10 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Never choose this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Nabendu, 3 Jan 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in the so-called, Deluxe AC. Not even close to be a simple, standard room.”
 of 5 bubbles simardeeps, 2 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Don't know.”
 of 5 bubbles Kokomo_13, 14 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5