The Stay Guest House

The Stay Guest House

91/6 Wisutitep Road Amphur Muang, Loei 42000 Thailand
Traveller (34)
Deluxe room
Room & Suite (29)
Stay Guest House
Family and Play Areas (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 special inn in Loei
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
A small guest house situated just outside Loei town centre. It is a family run business with a priority to make every guest feel at home and part of the family. The guest house has different standards of rooms to cater for all requirements. The guest house has many local attractions to recommend, there are also courses on cooking Thai food and learning the Thai language.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycle rental
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Minibar
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

91/6 Wisutitep Road Amphur Muang, Loei 42000 Thailand
Name/address in local language
206Reviews5Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 50
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
toralligator wrote a review Aug 2016
Colonial village1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been in the stay guesthouse for 2 nights and prolonged for two more. It is well located in beautiful Loei- the owners were extremely friendly and helped us getting to the most lovely places around Loei! We would definitely recommen staying there!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheStay, Owner at The Stay Guest House
Responded Aug 6, 2016
Thank you for your excellent review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with and also liked exploring Loei. We would love to see you again next time you visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Austin B wrote a review May 2016
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand4 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been traveling for the past few months and just wanted somewhere quiet for a few days of R&R.

To give you all of the essential info: great price, excellent wifi, comfortable bed (a rarity in Thailand), bone-chilling air-con, and super helpful and friendly owners. It's slightly outside of town but they have free bicycles available to use as well as a scooter you can rent (semi-auto).

The only advice I would give would be not to re-use your towels because of ants. Again, at this price you can't set your expectations too high, but all things considered, I had an incredible stay here and will definitely go back if I'm ever in Loei city again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheStay, Owner at The Stay Guest House
Responded May 5, 2016
Thank you for your excellent review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again when you return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grader07 wrote a review Jan 2019
625 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Yes it is out of town a bit and yes, the road noise is an issue but the rooms are clean and spacious with a fridge and even a small balcony to dry clothes.

Pay as you use washing machine and free use of bicycles offered by John and Tai made this place a winner for us.

In town I recommend dragging yourself by any means possible to Moomarui Restaurant for Chicken with Cashews. Its not on the radar but was consistently great.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jukkai2020 wrote a review Mar 2018
Nong Khai, Thailand6 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel happened to very full-booked so I have to accept very expensive Suite. Nice decoration but the light power or lumens were not enough to read my bicycle map. And although the yard in front of my hotel room was full of noisy cars and motorbikes disturbing me the whole night I was told to replace my bicycle standing nicely in front of my room. Also the check-in place was very dark and discomfortable. During my one week bicycling around Loei Province this was the only half-European-managed hotel and I am sorry to tell it was without doubt the worst of the pack.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheStay, Owner at The Stay Guest House
Responded Mar 18, 2018
Mr Jukka, Thank you so much for giving me the platform for me to explain to the world about your behavior while staying at my guest house. You are very welcome to contact myself at anytime should you believe any of what I am about to say is untrue. You did in fact stay with us for two nights and drank alcohol for pretty much the whole time you were with us. The first day you sat outside your room quietly drinking your many bottles of beer without incident. I asked you two times if everything was OK, you replied 'everything is fine' twice. You gave me no indication that you had any problems. The second day however, was not so quiet. In the evening while you were again sitting outside your room drinking more beer. I had another female guest drive into the space near your room. She was unsure of where to park so was a little slow to turn off her headlights. It is at this point that you began shouting at her the loudest I have ever heard anyone shout. It appeared you were unhappy with the speed at which she turned off her lights. I immediately came out of my office to find out what the noise was about, to find you still shouting. I asked you what the problem was and then you started shouting at me. It is at this point I told you that this behavior was unacceptable and that if you continued I would ask you to leave. You went silent, so I thought that was the end of it. The female guest you shouted at was so shaken by your outburst that she would not come out of her room while you were there. A little later you started shouting again loudly while still sitting in front of your room about how my guest house was the worst place you had ever stayed in. Shouting so loud that you disturbed every other guest in my guest house. I again came out of my office to give you two options, leave or go in your room. You chose to go in your room. The next morning when I was out on business and my wife was busy with another guest you left our guest house without paying for a 800 baht minibar bill. We also had trouble finding your room key because you so nicely hid it in a dirty ashtray. I would like to add that you have now sent me payment for the minibar bill twelve days after checking out and after 5 email requests for payment. I thought that would be the end of it but no! The guest that you shouted at for not turning off her headlights quickly enough came to see me two days after you checked out to ask me to check CCTV to find out who had put a sticker on her number plate to cover the whole thing up. After checking CCTV, there you are right in front of the camera putting a sticker on not only her car but the car in front of hers, too. I asked her if she would like to make a copy of the CCTV footage to make a report to the police. She felt sorry for you and declined. You booked your room through Booking.com so I informed them of your misconduct in the hope that other properties will not have to face the same unacceptable behavior from you as we witnessed. Needless to say that should you return to Loei please do not come anywhere near my guest house. You and your behavior are not welcome here.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Van1919 wrote a review Nov 2017
Singapore, Singapore15 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
John and his wife Tai provides friendly service. Their cousin, Beer, is a driver, Beer lives on the property speaks English and brought us to a few amazing places to tour, hike and have authentic local Loei food.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheStay, Owner at The Stay Guest House
Responded Nov 20, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and also the tours with Friendly Thai tours. We would love to see you again should you return to Loei.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pierrehsing wrote a review Sep 2016
Brisbane, Australia98 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is close to two big shopping centres- Big C and Central Plaza that offer a lot of chances to do shopping and sampling various dishes. It is not very close to the bus statiobut close to the train station. The staff here do not speak much English, wich is a barrier for customers
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: stay in a quiet room on a higher level away from the noise of traffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheStay, Owner at The Stay Guest House
Responded Sep 15, 2016
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I wish to highlight a couple of errors in this review, such as that Loei does not have a Central Plaza or a train station. We have a Big C here which is actually further from us than the bus station, but we have free bicycles for our guests to use whilst they stay with us. As for poor English being spoken at our guest house, I am British, so believe communicating in English is not a problem at all.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reacto400 wrote a review Sep 2016
กรุงเทพมหานคร (กทม.), ไทย39 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are parts of monthly-rent apartment, therefore they are large with closet, towel rack and balcony. Bathroom amenities are enough for weeks. Fridge, minibar, free bottles water, hot coffee and satellite TV make it looks more like a hotel than a guesthouse. Coin laundry is within the facility. John, the owner, is super friendly and very helpful. The only drawback is its location from the town center. Anyway, free bicycle for all of your stay can compensate this. It's in a walking distance from Thong Kham junction (literally Golden junction) on the Loei-Chiang Khan road.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheStay, Owner at The Stay Guest House
Responded Sep 14, 2016
Thank you for your excellent review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room very comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again next time you come to Loei.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ansrichter wrote a review Jun 2016
Kuala Lumpur86 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a lovely stay. Nice big and clean room with fridge, kettel, good fan, all was perfect. Very nice british owner and his local wife can give many tips and I could use a bike for free. And for an extra 100 Baht, one gets a very good and large british breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheStay, Owner at The Stay Guest House
Responded Jun 30, 2016
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again someday.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thunder43549 wrote a review Jun 2016
Udon Thani, Thailand1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean and comfortable place with large rooms at very low prices, wirh helpful and friendly people. Without a doubt a top place to consider when you visit Loei. John and Tai not only speak English, but are also very friendly hosts.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheStay, Owner at The Stay Guest House
Responded Jun 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marts0433 wrote a review Jun 2016
Pattaya, Thailand6 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although theres not much in Uttaradit...these rooms are a short 10min walk from shopping bars and dining. Big modern comfortable rooms in a new building just off the road. Good aircon and wifi...friendly staff...huge comfy beds....id stay here again easily
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheStay, Owner at The Stay Guest House
Responded Jun 2, 2016
Thank you for your excellent review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again if you visit Loei (not Uttaradit) in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from TheStay
Loei, Thailand
ไม่ค่ะ
Answer from thanita25
Bangkok, Thailand14 contributions1 helpful vote
ติดต่อมือถือ 095 620 7570 ค่ะ แต่จำชื่อเจ้าของไม่ได้นะคะ เจ้าของเป็นสามี-ภรรยาคู่หนึ่ง สามีเป็นฝรั่ง ภรรยาเป็นคนไทยค่ะ ดูแลลูกค้าดีมากค่ะ
Answer from TheStay
Loei, Thailand
มีค่ะ เรามีห้องพัดลมว่าง 3 ห้อง ราคาห้องละ 250 บาท ห้องแอร์ ราคา 399 599 699 อย่างละห้องค่ะ
Answer from TheStay
Loei, Thailand
ไม่ทราบว่าวันที่เท่าไหร่คะ ขอทราบรายละเอียดเพิ่มเติม สอบถามหรือมีข้อสงสัยติดต่อเราทาง Tel: 0956207570
Stephen B wrote a tip Jul 2018
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I visited when the weather was cold, can was ideal and priced well"
Read full review
Hải H wrote a tip Feb 2017
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great making reservations via Agoda"
Read full review
pierrehsing wrote a tip Sep 2016
Brisbane, Australia98 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"stay in a quiet room on a higher level away from the noise of traffic"
Read full review
SephiaRez wrote a tip Jan 2016
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"you can cook here,just get your raw stuff nearby"
Read full review
Ross T wrote a tip Jun 2015
Pattaya, Thailand51 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I had a ground floor unit with parking out the front."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Loei area.
LOCATION
ThailandLoei ProvinceLoei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Stay Guest House - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Stay Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to The Stay Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Phu Bo Bit (3.2 km) and Loei Museum (1.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Stay Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at The Stay Guest House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The Stay Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Stay Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Give Green Farm House Organic Restaurant, Loei Da Nang, and Makan.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Stay Guest House?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Stay Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars