We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ruapehu Country Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
19/07/2017 20/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ruapehu Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Start your review of Ruapehu Country Lodge
 Click to rate
Koh Chang
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The accommodation was very good and the family very helpful in finding things to do and places to go to. They arranged our pick and payment for the Tongariro walk - all day and about 20km walk. Very challenging and a not to miss opportunity if you are fairly fit. Free internet - good speed, which is rare in NZ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R B
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good beds, comfortable rooms, small bathroom. Pleasant B&B close to the beautiful Tongariro National Park. Comfortable guestlounge. Nice garden to relax in. Good breakfast, friendly hosts that are helpfull with good advice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamEnjoyer
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Our room was comfortable with a wonderful view of the extensive grounds; breakfasts were delicious. Especially memorable was the pizza dinner we had one night, prepared in the wood-fired pizza oven outside, next to the capacious patio table. One night we star-gazed--amazing. Peter and Heather are very accommodating, suggesting restaurants and activities, and since we didn't have a car, picked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
UK
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed here for two nights. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely hosts - from giving us delightful evening meals in house through to getting the hot tub ready after a long day walk. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed, however what makes this location is how helpful Heather and Peter are. Would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bellatravelscom
Valthe, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We enjoyed the hospitality and good care of Heather and Peter. Pity we only could stay 2 nights. Room was comfy, the garden great with several quiet corners to relax in the sun. Golfcourse next to the garden, didn't have time to play a round unfortunately. Good breakfast too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdaams53
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

From the moment we stepped through the door the hospitality was outstanding. Our room had all the facilities we needed and access into the extensive grounds. Heather is an outstanding cook and Peter a congenial host despite labouring under the handicap of being a Coventry City supporter! Our tip is to ask Heather to cook dinner, we did for both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoretonBoy
Heather E, Owner at Ruapehu Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much!! We enjoyed your stay as well. We love the dinner conversations as well. It's wonderful hearing about travels and peoples lives :-) . Safe travels Heather and Peter

Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

What a delightful place to stay, we were greeted by Heather, Peter and Ricky Martin, the gorgeous playful puppy. The Lodge is set in beautiful gardens with a few friendly sheep and alpacas in the field along the driveway. We had a lovely bedroom of a good size with patio doors leading outside to a terrace and into the stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vanessa C
Heather E, Owner at Ruapehu Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much Vanessa. Glad you had a memorable New Years!! It was so good to meet you guys. We have had many a comment on the plaque by the front door. Thanks so much!! Coventry's only supporter me thinks!! We're enjoying your mountain biking pics. Keep them coming!! Heather and Peter

Reviewed 13 February 2017

Set in large and attractive grounds this was a very comfortable place to stay. Sadly the weather was poor so we could not really appreciate the joys of this place to the full. Heather and Peter were wonderful hosts - we had dinner there for both nights of our stay and the food was delicious - it was good to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline20013
Hillerod, Denmark
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We had a very nice room without a view, but everything functioned very well. The bed and the shower was very good, and the breakfast was lovely. It is a bit too far from restaurants, so you have to either eat a sandwich(your own) or choose the rather expensive possibility to buy dinner at the lodge ($55 including a glass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HenBin
Heather E, Owner at Ruapehu Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable! Best wishesHeather and Peter

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Peter and Heather were wonderful ! Friendly, funny, lovely people ! The rooms were so nice, the biscuits and the barbecue were perfect ! It was a pleasure to be there with us ! You're welcome in France !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manon C
Heather E, Owner at Ruapehu Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks guys - we thoroughly enjoyed your stay - glad you did too. Perhaps we will see you in France one day..... Heather and Peter

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
19/07/2017 20/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
5.8 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
29.7 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,521 reviews
5.0 km away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
28.2 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
492 reviews
8.8 km away
Tongariro Suites at The Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ruapehu Country Lodge has four guest rooms and is set on expansive gardens of around five acres. It backs on to the third tee of the Waimarino Golf Course. Make this your base for all your alpine adventures whether skiing, snowboarding, tramping, bush walking, mountain biking fishing or hunting. Ski or snowboard New Zealand's largest ski fields. This is a superb base for canoeing the Wanganui River, walking the famous Tongariro Crossing, or mountain biking and hiking the local trails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ruapehu Country Lodge

Address: 630 Raetihi-Ohakune Road, Ohakune, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Price Range: $272 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ruapehu Country Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ruapehu Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ruapehu Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ruapehu Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only 4 guest rooms in a peaceful setting - no problem re special rooms.”
90rb, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view! We were opposite another room, which meant les privacy.”
AmsterdamEnjoyer, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose between courtyard or field views”
Y3645MUmarym, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Tongariro room has it's own terras.”
vanesmarianne, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“toasty warm clean accomodation for those winter ski trips”
calisto2014, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates