We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grosvenor Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grosvenor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 193: English reviews
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Timaru very hilly place nice our accom lovely as had one nearest road , mind you road busy , this stop was really only to meet up with familys hadnt seen in long time very nice went to hotel alll of us for a lovely dinner

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11Bear
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings 11Bear We are appreciative that your family reunion was held at The Grosvenor. We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay there too. Until next time, stay safe. Faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived open minded after reading the reviews - it's a three star hotel so I didn't set my expectations too high. However I was pleasantly surprised. We arrived at nearly 2am and the night porter was lovely and very helpful. The room was clean and tidy with an exceptional bathroom. The only thing I would really change are the pillows,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tetāonga H
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Tetaonga H Thank you for your succinct review. We are pleased that you described our bathroom is being "exceptional". It's about time that our new bathrooms for rooms that have undergone renovation is being put into the limelight. When it comes to pillows, IF the Grosvenor is a 5 stars hotel, we would have provided you with a Pillow...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Middle of the road. Decent sized room but very small ensuite affording little privacy. Clean. Pleasant receptionist. Room next door was having some upgrading so builders were a bit noisy...but we were in room early afternoon. Close to centre of town. Seaview from our window.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greenygreeny15
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Greenygreeny15 Thank you for your objective review. Yes, renovation of our hotel bathrooms are ongoing for years. We do one bathroom per month, and this keeps disturbance to a minimum. We believe that you enjoyed your stay at The Grosvenor. Stay safe and see you in the near future. Faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First the good things. I was pleasantly surprised by the meal I had in the restaurant. It was well cooked, and tasty. It was also value for money in my view. The waiting staff were friendly and efficient. In fact, every staff member I encountered was friendly. The decor in the public areas is bright and an interesting mixture of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings David A We are appreciative that the restaurant met up with your expectation. As you said, the room that you mentioned is next to the balcony. The frosted window is there to protect your privacy. It's better than not having anything. Just with any accommodations in the world, we have to make do with the layout of the building....

Dunedin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed as part of a group this last weekend. Unfortunately as I travel extensively nationally and internationally on a weekly basis, I would not rate this property very highly. We booked a premium room and were given a standard room above the exit for the bar below, which was extremely noisey. The room had no refrigerator, a normal facility...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P111Dunedin
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings P111Dunedin Please provide us your direct contact info because we don't have any idea of the group that you booked under. Having a username of P111Dunedin doesn't make it any easier for us to respond to you accordingly. You claimed about being placed in a standard room erroneously. Have you clarified that with our Front Office staff when you...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Waiting staff in the restaurant amazing friendly bubbly and had a smile for every customer cold not fault her. A credit to the hotel. Unfortunately that is the only good thing we could say. The reception staff in the morning - obviously, well as she told us in no uncertain terms she was not well and she did not want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelwithme1971
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings travelwithme1971 Yes, travelwithme1971, like you said, whatever you said do have a lasting effect on the livelihood of our staff here. Jackie, our Front Office Lady has just undergone a major surgery and she's in an absolute physical pain when you were scornful. She came to us earlier to say that she tried to explain but her gum was...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The Grosvenor is a heritage building built in 1895. Given that I did not have high expectations regarding the quality of the rooms They were dated and a bit tired but were clean. The squeaky floorboards didn't worry me but the person below might not have been impressed. So far ok but not great. Check out was a pain. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shayne M
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Shayne Apology for not attending to your check-out promptly. We shall have a word with our Front Office Supervisor to remind her to take the mobile phone with her at all times. Being a small size hotel, our staff are required to do other tasks at down times. Furthermore, there is an Express drop box by the reception where...

Reviewed 2 November 2016

Hidden treasure in the city, had a comfortable rest & reception was friendly and helpful at all times. I would recommend having a dinner meal and hot breakfast downstairs in the bar if you are not keen to walk far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Senia E
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Senia E We are appreciative that you enjoyed your stay here, and thank you for your recommendations. Stay safe. Faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Devon
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Second visit to this Hotel. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was comfortable and clean. The location is right in the centre so, close to shops, restaurants and the beautiful Caroline Bay. Very reasonable rate for rooms and the restaurant and bar downstairs is by far the best food in Timaru. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather43Devon
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Heather Thank you for your kind words. All our staff here fondly remembered you and your hubbie. They are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and they are also excited that you are settling well in New Zealand. Sharon in particular missed the banter that she had with you daily when you were staying with us. Do come...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This is the second time we have stayed, this time during the week and in a superior king room. Lovely room, all the amenities that you need for a short stay + a brand new bathroom. Speaking with the young receptionist in the morning, she advised us to stay in room 215 next time. She even took us up to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank goodtimes225588
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Smiley Your genuine letter warmed and touched our hearts. The Scottish builder that you referred to, Connor blushed when we conveyed to him that he's been mentioned by you as well. Room 215 is the new King Suite that we have just finished. Meanwhile, we shall carry on with our renovations. Stay safe and we wish you well. Faithfully...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.2 km away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
137 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
80 reviews
1.2 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
2.7 km away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
53 reviews
1.4 km away
Blue Dolphin Motel
Blue Dolphin Motel
#16 of 18 in Timaru
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range: $88 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grosvenor Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Timaru, New Zealand
21 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grosvenor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“had first apartment as come in drive ,. be warned very steep drive”
 of 5 bubbles 11Bear, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Order a hot breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles seniae2016, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the recently refurbished rooms. Unfortunately none were available for our booking. A view of the harbour is a must.”
 of 5 bubbles heather43Devon, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 215”
 of 5 bubbles goodtimes225588, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I heard from one of the travellers in my group their shower was quite small, so I suggest if you need a big one to ask for it”
 of 5 bubbles KalznChch, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay