We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grosvenor Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grosvenor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Nice little hotel with cute, quirky finishes, stopped over the night and was greeted with great service and a clean room.there wasn't any noise during the night and the overall atmosphere leant to a rejuvenating stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nightspath
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Nightspath Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate that you have an enjoyable stay at The Grosvenor. We thank you kindly. Faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Worcestershire
Reviewed 28 January 2017

This hotel is not our taste. Faded elegance coupled with bizarre modern decorations. Located in the dock area with no views - we had a roof view of ventilators. Room large BUT reminiscent of a university lodging circa 1960. Walls nothing more than hardboard but every sound transmitted from next door! Hair dryer which cuts out after 30 secs. Reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydneyfromOZ
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings SydneyfromOz Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have reiterated many times over that this is a 3 stars hotel. You labelled yourself as a Luxury Traveller and therefore, it's appreciated that you spend extra money staying elsewhere that can pamper you. Should you are not happy with the room that you are allocated with,...

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

This is the third time I have stayed here and the service in both the reception and the restaurant has always been friendly. My room this time round was comfortable, except that the wooden floors were extremely squeaky and always made me conscious of the patrons below. The TGB restaurant has a great menu and have a variety of specials...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Eugene S Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Thank you also for your repeat business. We are glad that you made yourself comfortable here. As for the squeaky floor, it's a matter of finding time to get our builders to nail the board down. The reality of the matter is that the hotel is...

Reviewed 22 January 2017

Nice old converted pub. Rooms clean and quite attractive. Great location close to the downtown at a fine price. Tiny lift to get up and down stairs (so not great if you have tons of bags). Helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddie B
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Middle of town, so no real view from the window. This is the only downside, good beds, modern updated decor. The walls have mostly very good eccentric pictures painted on them giving it great character. Menu on the gastropub was good, only dish tried was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesK4242
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings JamesK4242 Thank you for your kind review. On top of The Grosvenor, especially on Room 215, you get to see the vista of the sea and beyond. We are glad that you appreciate the "Easter Eggs" that we placed all over the hotel. You are one of our few guests that caught the wry humour of the place. Yes,...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Our room had no sink, no fridge, floor was squeaky, water pressure was very poor, no view and you can hear every footstep outside the room. We only paid $121 but was still expecting a little more. Also my partner and I are heavy internet consumers and the wifi just didn't cut it; slow and unpredictable.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sean M
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Sean M Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You must know that you stayed in a hotel and not a motel, right? What's the purpose of a sink? To bath a baby or...? I think you are looking for a Quest type apartment style room. We are more like a mixture of IBIS Budget and...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Well worth a stay if you want value for money. We had the accessible room and it is one of the cleanest and best accessible bathrooms I have used. We ate in the restaurant again good everyday food value for money there as well. If you want swanky don't stay here. If you want friendly staff and good value this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye B
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Faye B Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Grosvenor. Yes, we are all about value-for-money and providing our guests with all essentials. In a perfect world, it would have been nice to do "swanky" but we need to be realistic about the clientele that Timaru is attracting. We are glad that you enjoyed...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

This place is not funky nor hip, modern or bohemian and definitely not boutique. It's awful . Rooms very very basic. Drab decor. Nice bed. No fridge. Very bleak. Luckily only one night. Quaint old lift. Central location .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank percipop
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Percipop Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I can see from places that you have visited: Havana, Lyon, New York City, London, Honolulu, Melbourne and places that you have stayed in are marvellous as I have stayed there myself before such as Adelphi Hotel in Melbourne. It's apparent that you are a sophisticated and worldly...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Very central city, walking distance to CBD etc, the hotel staff were excellent, the room was good and was newly revamped, we decided to use the restaurant in the hotel and the food was very good, good range of craft beers and the food selection would cater to most with daily specials, this is our second stay, we were here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Dave K Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review for us. We are appreciative that we hit the mark with our facilities and services. We are humbled that you choose to stay with us again. You made our day indeed. We look forward to serving you again in the near future....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

The service at the reception was ok, not too friendly, but attentive. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was of solid quality 🌞. We think that they are doing a good job at this historical place: Renovating and refurbishing step by step, quite an ideal blend between old and new. You get good quality for your money. 🍀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BURGWIN
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings BURGWIN Thank you for taking the time to write a review. For someone that came from Melbourne, you have the vision and understanding about blending the old with the new. The Grosvenor will be outstanding once all renovation is completed. We are taking it a step at a time, to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable, comfortable and...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.2 km away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
154 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
83 reviews
1.2 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
1.4 km away
Blue Dolphin Motel
Blue Dolphin Motel
#17 of 18 in Timaru
36 reviews
1.7 km away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range: $78 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grosvenor Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Timaru, New Zealand
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grosvenor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check out the room before you move in.”
 of 5 bubbles keithg126, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Although the best room in the hotel there is noise from the port opposite. This did not detract from our level of sleep however.”
 of 5 bubbles 309margaretj, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not 105 - overlooks roof air conditioning units”
 of 5 bubbles SydneyfromOZ, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“had first apartment as come in drive ,. be warned very steep drive”
 of 5 bubbles 11Bear, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5