We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island

4.6 km from Bora Bora centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
BP 516, 98730, French Polynesia
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

760 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this resort in an overwater bungalow for 4 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted at the dock with a lei and fresh wash cloth as well as a fruity drink. Check in went very quickly and smoothly and our room was ready before the check in time which was very nice. Accommodations were nice. As others mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yogamama40
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience ! We are very delighted that you have found your Paradise in Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island. All our teams would like to thank you for such a fantastic feedback. Maururu maitai and come back soon !

Atascadero, California
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The kindest, friendliest, genuine staff I have ever met, truly. Treated like king and queen. Exceptional grounds. Immediate private boat service to and from main land included. Espresso maker in room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindysgirl
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for your Magnifique share of experience ! Your description of the Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island is perfect, and all our team and Ambassadors are so proud and happy thanks to your feedback. We are very delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to see you soon ! Thank you,...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I would give 4.5 half stars which isn't an option so I'm going with 5 because in all honesty there isn't much to complain about. It was a unique experience. We stayed 6 nights.The place was beautiful and yes the water really was 3 shades of blue/green.No filter needed. Gorgeous flowers everywhere(frangipani is heavenly!) and overall place is simply magical.Love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island !

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I came to Bora Bora for our honeymoon. We chose the Sofitel private island for its seclusion and because of the value compared to other hotels of the same rating. We opted for an overwater bungalow for 2 weeks as this was our dream. When we arrived at the airport we were immediately greeted by a Sofitel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great comment and for sharing your experience at Sofitel Private Island, we want to make this place So special because it is a So special place to be. Few people have the chance in life to experience such a magnifique Private Island and we are happy that you could join this very exclusive "club" . Mauruuru...

Coos Bay, Oregon
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed here for 6 nights which we learned from an employee that is rare. Most only stay a night or two. I'm glad we were there that long. We settled in nicely. Our mini fridge was restocked daily. Since we don't drink beer or soda we left a note for leaving only water and the fruit drink and they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank corgimom019
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for your Magnifique share of experience ! Your description of the Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island is perfect, and all our team and Ambassadors are so proud and happy thanks to your feedback. We are very delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to see you soon ! Thank you,...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I give this a very good rating because of the private location, the staff was pleasant, the food was generally good, the shuttle boat was readily accessible and the rooms were spacious. The negatives are about the tiredness of the rooms (musty & strange smells in the bathroom, shower door wouldn't stay closed) and that we were a bit uninformed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank txgirl8289
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review

Iaorana from your Private Island in Bora Bora ! Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us, we were very delighted that you enjoyed your stay and to have hosted you. We do apologize for the inconvenients you faced during your stay. We look forward to welcome you back. Thanks again !

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

A truly excellent stay. The staff was exceptional. The only issue and this are thru out the region is the terrific cost of meals and drinks. You can lower some of the costs by shopping for wine and basic food at the local markets. But the Private Island is just that private. You expect and get personal service and attention....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cactuscharlie
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for your Magnifique share of experience ! Your description of the Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island is perfect, and all our team and Ambassadors are so proud and happy thanks to your feedback. We are very delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to see you soon ! Thank you,...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed 6 nights in an overwater bungalow after a few days in Moorea. It was a perfect, quiet honeymoon home for us. The resort is rustic by design which contributes to the romantic atmosphere of the location. This is not a place to go with friends/family. It's clearly designed for secluded island romance. The staff were fabulously friendly, remembering...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pugaphillips
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed on Private Island, off Bora Bora for my 50th birthday as a once-in-a-life time experience. Yes it was expensive but it was a special event. There was not a lot to do on the island which was exclusively a Sofitel Private island. Kayaking was available and yours needed to be booked, and they were also quite expensive. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMannix
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Private Island. Your feedback is very important for us as it allows to improve our guests' experience with all the considerations of your remarks. We hope to have the oportunity to welcome you back in a "Magnifique" way. Mauruuru.

Rockford, IL
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Location of this hotel is great. Swam to coral garden on back side of island. The ability to go back and forth with second Sofitel location was a huge plus. We went there for lunch, a couple half day excursions, taxi pickup for dinner at St James, taxi pickup for dinner at Yacht Club, in hindsight this flexibility alone almost...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank D3doogie
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience ! We are very delighted that you have found your Paradise in Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island. All our teams would like to thank you for such a fantastic feedback. Maururu maitai and come back soon !

1,324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1246)
Viewed
Room/Suite (183)
Viewed
View from Room (132)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (290)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (115)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (438)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
1.0 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.9 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
5.4 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
5.3 km away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
251 reviews
7.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking one of the most beautiful lagoons in the world, Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island is located in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay, nestled on a private islet facing the main island of Bora Bora. A secret hideaway where you can enjoy a peaceful and romantic retreat, regenerate yourself and savour the exquisite feeling of being at home on your own private island. This boutique hotel is emphasizing privacy and intimacy to create a unique experience in the heart of native vegetation surrounded by turquoise water and beautiful coral gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island

Address: BP 516, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Price Range: $632 - $937 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“OWB 129 is the best; end of pier, sunset+direct view of Mount Otemanu, waist deep water+stingrays that swim underneath every night!”
 of 5 bubbles Splashingaround, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Over water bungalow a must. All looked good, but maybe request a room at the end of the pier.”
 of 5 bubbles nathan805, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Consider the sun when choosing a room. Do you like sunny mornings or evenings?”
 of 5 bubbles jhardy2017, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Loved the view from bungalow 129!”
  • View from the private deck
  • Lovely bungalow 129
 of 5 bubbles yiddl, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Spend the extra and do an Over Water Bungalow”
 of 5 bubbles PamC493, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5