We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hoylake Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hoylake Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

spend 4 night here for work. its fine as a few days stop over but not for a holiday. breakfast was not good at all not worth the price. also not much to do at the guest house. rooms are average. tv too small. no aircon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainen18
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2015

I really enjoyed my stay together with my family at Hoylake Inn. All I can say is that you should keep up the good work and excellent service that you provide. The entire Hoylake Inn team are warm and always eager to help and make you to really enjoy your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itumelengt2
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Itumeleng Many thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always good to meet new people and build relationships with guests who return time and again. We do hope to have you stay with us when next you visit EL. Warm regards Hoylake Inn

Port St Johns, South Africa
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Located fairly close to the business center of East London, with ample secure parking, Hoylake B&B is an excellent stop over for travelers. Run by the owners, Kim and Laura Woods, ably assisted by their son Dylan, the Hoylake is well appointed,the venue fresh and clean with en-suite rooms opening onto a Bonsai tree lined corridor leading to the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wildcoaster
Reviewed 21 July 2015

we stayed 2 nights on our way back to Plettenberg Bay from Natal and were warmly welcomed and settled into our room . Even load sheding did not impact as arrangements we made with a generator and we made a very short journey to the local restaurants for dinner . the room was well equipped and comfortable and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank masescha
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Hi there Ray and Angie And thank you for your kind words. It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us and to get to know you. We love meeting new guests, especially people like yourselves who are interested in new experiences and in getting to know our lovely little city. We hope you had a good holiday...

Reviewed 13 February 2015 via mobile

Very accommodating of the crazy times we come and go, amazing place and the hosts are always ready to help! Being here for the Buffalo Regatta we had no hassle with getting breakfast before our first heats. Clean and air conditioning made it super comfy!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dylan W
Reviewed 21 October 2014

My wife and I, from Zimbabwe, had the pleasure of spending three nights at Hoylake Inn. Hosts Laura and Kim went out of their way to give us a very warm welcome and to make us feel at home. Our en-suite room was very comfortable and every day we were provided with provisions to make tea or coffee in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gordon K
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Hello to the Kent's How great to hear from you, and thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in EL and your time at Hoylake Inn. It was lovely to meet you and share some of your wedding excitement.. oh and to get that million dollars from you :) (We still...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2014

My wife and I stayed at this guest house in Sept 2014 for 5 nights we found the owners very friendly and accommodating. Our room was spacious with a private balcony overlooking the sea and the city, their service was excellent Laura also gave us great advise on places to visit and eat. The place is close to the beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yousuf C
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Yousuf and Hawa Many thanks for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and can tell other people about quaint little East London and the best place to stay, Hoylake Inn :) We pride ourselves on every aspect of our service, because we...

Mount Ayliff, South Africa
Reviewed 13 September 2014

The place is filthy, their ironing room is even worse, we were given sour/rotten food. We complained on Monday again on Wednesday they gave us rotten food. One of their employees told us that they usually give black guest rotten food, but give whites fresh food.We even reported to the travel agency that booked for us.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Unzzy98
Laura W, Manager at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

My dear guest We were dismayed to read your vitriolic review, especially after we had gone to so much trouble to try to accommodate your many, meticulous, dietary requirements. Once we understood your needs, we did try our level best to offer you food more specific to your culture. However, we could not be held responsible if you were unable...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We have spent 10 glorious days at this B&B. The location is superb, no more than 5 minutes from the beach, the golf course and all the shops. The owners are very accommodating and gave us great advice on restaurants to go to and places to see. The rooms are large and comfortable, the decor elegant and the views from...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PeterLacey65

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
2.4 km away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#2 of 13 in East London
426 reviews
1.9 km away
The Hampton
The Hampton
#2 of 134 in East London
113 reviews
0.4 km away
Bunkers Inn
Bunkers Inn
#21 of 134 in East London
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pug and Putter Bed and Breakfast
Pug and Putter Bed and Breakfast
#20 of 134 in East London
9 reviews
2.6 km away
Goulden Street Guest House
Goulden Street Guest House
#34 of 134 in East London
1 reviews
0.5 km away
Aristocats Guest House
Aristocats Guest House
#54 of 134 in East London
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Hoylake Inn

Address: 6 Hoylake Road, East London 5241, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Price Range: $64 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hoylake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hoylake Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If available book room number 6”
 of 5 bubbles Y0usufC, 2 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Don't even try them , their place is not worth your money.”
 of 5 bubbles Unzzy98, 13 Sep 2014 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay