We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

African Array Lodge

Hostelworld.comUS$21*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
African Array Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for African Array Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
Mbabane
Reviewed 14 January 2017

African Array is everything a hostel should be. The staff is extremely caring and helpful and the facilities well equipped. We only stayed for a night and wish we could've longer. Loved sitting on their deck which offers spectacular views of the ocean in the distance, the sunrise should just not be missed. The best part - bar is open...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kanishk K
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We only stayed 2 nights and it was too short. A friendly happy place. Clean rooms, attentive staff and even though it is out in the wilds, it is safe. We had a beautiful view from our veranda and bathroom. You need time there to just sit and enjoy it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 32henri
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

What a wonderful time in the peaceful surroundings that is the African Array Lodge! Reliable, efficient and affordable - no better option in Plett. The road presents a little challenge but a 4x4 makes easy work of it. Definitely returning sometime soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomfoster11
Cape Town
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Went there for December holidys. the place was a very nice place to stay with awesome views and great people. The rooms and everything was just how they were depicted on the website. Would definitely be going back there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Unbeatable view from the deck, with friendly atmosphere and tasty dinners. Rooms and bathrooms were up to snuff and use of the communal kitchen was very handy. We stayed in the cottage building and our only difficulty was loud conversations from other guests late into the night, since room windows give directly onto the deck and hallways. However we were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mashiakhiyya
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I HIGHLY DONT RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL, ITS NOT A SAFE PLACE! Our car had the glass broken in the middle of the night while parking inside the property! To turn things worse, other 2 CARS had the glass broken in the same place the NIGHT BEFORE!!! The hostel is in an area very far from the city! There is no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danillo R
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Danillo R It is with great regret that you had to be a victim of crime in our beautiful country. It is no secret that South Africa has a massive unemployment, uneducated and poverty problem that leads to high crime. It is also High season for visitors to our country and also high season for crime during this time....

Johannesburg
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Fun backpackers but quite far from the beach. You have to travel far to get to the closest shops. Good value for money. Good place to meet other people on holiday. Staff pretty friendly and efficient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank satraveller2017
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My friend and I stayed here when we were on a roadtrip. The staff were all friendly and approachable. It was definitely money well spent. We order a burger from their kitchen for dinner and it must have been one of the best burgers ever!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taryn Z
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This hostel is just great, the location is really amazing and the host is very friendly and open to provide you with all the information you'd need. I stayed in a private room and it was nice and well furnished. Recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Really beautiful location, and very nice people! The road is a bit bumpy to reach the backpackers, but when you see the view from the place, it is definitely worth it! Really nice breakfast and dinners option.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank julietteg836

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
516 reviews
3.7 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
677 reviews
5.4 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
533 reviews
3.5 km away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#8 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
185 reviews
3.7 km away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#16 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This one of a kind hostel and lodge is nestled between an array of Fynbos(Wild flowers)on a cliff with a 270 degree panoramic view overlooking a lake all the way to the warm Indian ocean and the Robberg Peninsula. We believe we have the most fantastic view on the Garden Route and seeing is believing. A true hidden GEM.Relax with a book in the garden on one of the hammock under the trees or surf the net on our free WIFI. The building is a beautiful Villa with high ceilings and large windows so you never miss out on the view where ever you are in the Lodge. All our bedrooms have a fantastic view with lots of natural light at anytime of the day. The atmosphere is homely and we pride our self on giving our guest the VIP treatment at all times. Fancy catering for your self, our kitchen is well equipped and you will need nothing else to prepare any meal. If you feel like having a braai(BBQ) then we will light up the fire and provide you the spices. The beers is always cold and the fires always hot so why not spoil your self and pay us a visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Array Lodge

Address: 30 Ladywood | 30 Ladywood, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $26 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your African Array Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from African Array Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from African Array Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for the Protea suite.”
AJP2108, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try at least one of their dinners!”
CameronTracks, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs room has a sweet balcony”
kevincJ2498KT, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“free wifi, beautiful view”
LLCLars, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Go on their website to see photos as they have different rooms at different prices.”
Neric29, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$21* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$38
PricelineUS$38
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates