We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beacon Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beacon Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

787 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 775: English reviews
Start your review of Beacon Island Resort
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beacon Island Resort impresses all the time. The location is out of this world. The food is amazing! I had oxtail and my goodness it was scrumptious 😋forgot to ask for the recipe in the end! The resort is kids friendly! The ocean waters are extremely cold but thanks to the heated pool at the resort we managed to take...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vongaim2017
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear vongaim2017 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our week at Beacon Island could not have been better. The weather, the food and the attentive staff made it a very special break. Rooms are luxurious, facilities excellent and sea views spectacular. More than adequate exciting activities closely situated and you could shop till you drop in quaint little boutiques or antique shops. This will be our "go-to family"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikkibarronv
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear nikkibarronv Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel's unique location makes this the place to stay. Beaches on two sides for long morning walks and sea views on the other, friendly waiters to take your food and drink orders while you lounge at the pool and two in-house restaurants make this a place you wont want to leave. This is the perfect base for exploring the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lisa R Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is superb. You are on the ocean surrounded by majestic birds, many who were caring for their young.We visited over Christmas/New year. the staff are the most helpful and superb I have ever encountered. Nothing is too much trouble for them! They should be congratulated on their warmth and hospitality. I want to say a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhobru
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear rhobru Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed every aspect of our week at this resort and were able to fully recharge our batteries in an idyllic setting where the level of low key entertainment and staff were perfect. One small aspect which needs attention by management is for small luxuries such as toasters and microwave ovens, electric irons/ironing boards to be included in the rooms....

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B F
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anthony B F Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Beacon Island is classified as a non self catering resort, where areas Umhlanga Sands is classified as a semi self catering resort. No cooking...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

14 years of holidays at the Beacon Island and our expectations of another fantastic holiday were surpassed. The staff are the biggest asset to the establishment and that is a huge part of why we return every year. It really does feel like coming home when we arrive. Words cannot adequately describe the feeling of utter joy holidaying at this...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heath K
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Heath K Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any...

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Highly recommend this resort for its dream like setting and feeling of complete relaxation staff took care to ensure everything you could possibly need happened! One of the most pleasing places to visit in the whole world. And as seasoned travellers this is not said lightly

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bruce H Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

we have been coming to the Beacon Isle for the past few years and have never been disappointed with our stay. there are 2 great golf courses in close proximity and the shopping and restaurants in the town are all a pleasure to visit

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Harry P Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was perfect from arrival to departure The staff were helpful friendly and happy.The rooms were immaculate. The restaurants were better than restaurants outside the hotel and offered more value.The view and the position was like being in paradise

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Allan C Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is super in every way, wonderful friendly well trained happy staff, accommodation, views of the ocean and the sound of sea is magic. one can walk along Robberg Beach for 2 hours totally safe, along the way dip into the warm ocean at points where lifesavers demarcate safe swimming. watch Dolphin pods actually surf close to where you...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAWN G
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear DAWN G Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any...

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
514 reviews
1.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
659 reviews
6.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
130 reviews
1.1 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
97 reviews
9.7 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $40 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with numbers between 11-19 get full sun in the afternoon”
 of 5 bubbles lisakellyrigg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request balcony with ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles JenniK488, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can request sea facing or rooms with a balcony... what ever your preference.”
 of 5 bubbles lynnebodoh, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We overlooked Robbery beach and it was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles Thesavages, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not book balcony's because that is for us, ha ha love the balcony!!”
 of 5 bubbles rdw864, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5