We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beacon Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

787 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beacon Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 775: English reviews
South Africa
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Had a great time. Staff very friendly and always helpful. Weather was good and very good value for money. No Scuba diving with hotel, disappointed with Scuba Pro that only do shore entries as they cater more for resort courses and beginners.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiverKZN
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear DiverKZN Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. I have shared your feedback with Pro-Dive for consideration. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and please accept my sincere apologies for the...

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Bring earplugs along to remain sane. The endless and loud music is maddening - from 8 in the morning till 10 at night. After 20 years of regular holidays here. we decided to go elsewhere for a relaxing holiday. What a pity.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pieternelc2016
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear pieternelc2016 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We hosted the Beach Bar events on our lawns and the concerts started at 14:00 and ended at 21:00 and ran from Monday 28 Nov to...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We went for our annual family holiday to the Beacon Island resort. The upgrades to the resort (kiddies pool, heated outside pool, lawn upgrade) are excellent, and adding tremendously to our vacation. Great food, friendly staff, fabulous rooms. By far the best resort holiday in South Africa. See you next year.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DerikCoetzer
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear DerikCoetzer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The upgrade of the outdoor pool as well as the indoor pool area has been a winner and is well enjoyed by our guests. We are...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We have been visiting this resort as timeshare owners since 1985 and love the atmosphere, the beautiful setting, the friendly and helpful staff, the great entertainment and the most amazing views from our rooms. We have 3 weeks so we visit in March, June and November and have only ever skipped a week in June which is when we used...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel Le R
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Noel Le R Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Always look forward to our stay at The Beacon Island Resort, relaxing , fun exquisite veiws, walks etc. Etc. We ,meaning my husband myself and two other couples holiday together every year at this resort. Very special.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyea
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear jeffreyea Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We enjoyed another wonderful holiday this year at the Beacon Isle in Plettenberg Bay. The resort is extremely well run by management who ensure that all the facilities and amenities are in the best condition possible. Both my wife and I are big fans, coming back year after year to what is definitely one of the best run hotels/resorts in...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selwyn H
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Selwyn H Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 November 2016

One of the best hotels for relaxation, in a setting which is beyond compare. This hotel is constantly updated, it's staff are friendly and if one is a regular guest they will remember you by name. The restaurants serve great food and the management of Jorge, David and Michelle are very accommodating.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stanleyw324
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear stanleyw324 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Capetown
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I hadn't been to the Beacon Island Hotel and Resort for years (like 20 years) and decided to go on a timeshare holiday closer to home for a change. Wow it was great. The hotel location can't be beaten - on a rocky outcrop in the ocean. We saw dolphins almost every day and even a whale (out of season)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonie G
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear diveforever Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We had several times dinner in the Indigo Bay restaurant at the Beacon Island resort. Every time the food was very good and the menu choices were very large. And every dish was a pleasant surprise for us and very affordable. The service was outstanding good, better as as most restaurants the in the Plettenberg Bay area.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wim K
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wim K Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Our restaurants are operated independently. I shall share your wonderful feedback with them. Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us....

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Our first visit to the Beacon Island Holiday Resort and we were not disappointed. Well received on arrival, check in handled quickly and smoothly and we were in our room in no time. Beautiful view from our top floor bedroom (6th) floor. Enjoyed the views from the Sea Lounge and the Indigo Bay restaurant. Amazing to watch the sea break...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey C
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Aubrey C Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any...

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
518 reviews
1.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
661 reviews
6.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
130 reviews
1.1 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
97 reviews
9.7 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $40 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with numbers between 11-19 get full sun in the afternoon”
 of 5 bubbles lisakellyrigg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request balcony with ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles JenniK488, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can request sea facing or rooms with a balcony... what ever your preference.”
 of 5 bubbles lynnebodoh, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We overlooked Robbery beach and it was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles Thesavages, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not book balcony's because that is for us, ha ha love the balcony!!”
 of 5 bubbles rdw864, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5