We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 320: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A Moroccan style hotel which looks very attractive. Our room, the Farm Suite was very dark and gloomy with overly distressed furniture. The lighting was very poor. Our shower was outside and we had to walk over a concrete patio and then hobble onto little stones which was very painful. The staff were very friend,y and helpful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 347merler
Bellville, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went there for a birthday lunch on 19 Feb 2017. Simple menu but very nice. The Grand is high and from where we sat we had a beautiful view of the sea and beaches. We had an excellent waitress. Good place to go.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marius C
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

FANTASTIC stop over here. The Hotel decor is out of this world..old wooden stuff with an arty flare and the rooms are wonderful and spacious. Situation is great and we could easily get around the town centre from there on foot. Easy access in and out for drivers too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce F
Byfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We felt very welcome when we arrived here. The staff were friendly and very helpful in giving advice on things to do in Plenttenberg. The parking was outside on the road but the staff helped to reserve a place and provided a note to display in the car to avoid parking fines. There were no problems. We immediately fell in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie44795
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Annie, thank you kindly for your wonderful words. It is fabulous to hear that you had such a good time with us and enjoyed our Grand style as well as the magnificent views from your room. We hope to have you back some time soon and have you try our Café as well. Kindest regards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The first time we stayed at The Grand we loved it so planned another visit the following year. This time around we noticed that the hotel is more shabby than chic. When we were shown to our room we saw a huge crack across the glass pane on the front door to our room and the frame around the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Durkey1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great view and nice staff but lots to improve. Be careful which room you book some of them don't have showers and the one we were in had a curtain 'door' for the toilet. Also there's no aircon in any of the rooms. Vintage style is nice but doesn't make up for lack of amenities. Pool is very small and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank niamhore
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Niamhore, thank you very much for taking the time to review our Grand Rooms. We are saddened that you did not seem to have enjoyed our grand style which we do understand is certainly not for everyone. We will take on all your criticism and suggestions for improvement and look into implementing these with immediate effect. Kindest regards

South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been a regular of the Grand Africa in Cape Town (Granger Bay) and in Camps Bay (when it was open) therefore wanted to try the experince while having a trip on Plettemberg. We went there on Sat evening for dinner booking a table on the terrace hoping to enjoy of good food, view, service, warm and chic ambient including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank World T
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear World T, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. It is very unfortunate that you did not have a great time with us but we would like to take the opportunity and explain a bit further... We have just recently changed our menu and reduced it to the Grand signature...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Palette berg Bay is a funny place. At first sight the town centre has a slightly tacky look to it. Scratch beneath the surface, however, and there's a lot more to it. The Grand Cafe is a bit like that too. From the outside it's. Toning to look at, but inside is a different matter. We had a fabulous room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David E
GrandPlett, General Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear David, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write your review. It is great news that you were so impressed with our grand style and enjoyed your room to the fullest. We will pass on your compliments to the Chef. We hope to have you back some time. Kindest regards

Oakworth, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights at this vintage, very faded/shabby grandeur of a hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are intriguing in style and certainly 'different'. Food is freshly made so be prepared to wait, and the menu uncomplicated, but certainly all delicious. However, the grandeur is rather tired in places and needs some attention, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette, we truly value your feedback and appreciate that you enjoyed your stay despite the age of our Grand Dame. We will certainly look into the raised concerns and by the next time you visit we hope to have everything fixed so that nothing flaws your overall positive experience. Kindest regards

Essex
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked three rooms (well ahead) for our trip with grown up children and partners. Rooms are all unique with massive beds and one-off plumbing and decor. Breakfasts were brilliant, freshly cooked to order. Best of all the balcony views right across Plettenberg Bay were simply stunning. Spent ages looking out with a chilled glass of something local. Excellent spot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bunionsEssex
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear BunionsEssex, thank you so very much for your raving review. It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed our decor, your meals and the breathtaking views from our sundeck. Hopefully we can have you back some time. Kindest regards

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
497 reviews
2.7 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
642 reviews
6.5 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
224 reviews
1.4 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
123 reviews
4.8 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Café & Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Café & Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, Leopard Lounge and Café to experience GRAND café-style dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $123 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to ask for room at top with sea view. ie Rooms 5 or 6.”
 of 5 bubbles Annie44795, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Farm room has a room above without carpet hence noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 262jeanetteh, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get The Farm (Shed)”
  • Room / Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles garvangallagher, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Bathhouse is more than special”
 of 5 bubbles marjoleinw547, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ultimate romantic experience: select "the bathhouse room" private splash pool, dining area and side-by-side bath tubs!”
 of 5 bubbles RichardHaubrich, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5