We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 329: English reviews
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Four of us ate lunch. The mushroom wrap was poor but the baked Camembert was excellent as was the fish tartare. The curry was disappointing as was the burger ( over cooked and dull) but the prawns and sugar salmon were exquisite. My advice is to choose your food carefully. The house wines are good and well priced. The service...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Craig_King1949
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Craig, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will look into the mentioned dishes with our headchef. Thank you very much for your continued trust and loyalty and we look forward to having you back very soon. Kindest regards

Los Angeles
Reviewed 14 April 2016

A quirky gem with a heart of gold. With so few rooms, staff like Brian, David and Anita go the extra mile to make sure guests are really well taken care of. The rooms are large and are exceptional value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 428brendanp
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Brendan, thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and our staff looked after you in grand fashion. We hope to have you back again soon. Kindest regards

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

and we began smiling as soon as we entered the Rooms, and didn't stop when we were shown our actual bedroom! I won't say more as it will spoil your surprise! Suffice to say, the Staff were all very welcoming and efficient, the food extremely tasty - it was interesting to see it prepared at the side of the dining...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoreenBates
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Doreen, it is wonderful that you had such a grand time with us. Delighted to hear that you embraced the unique style of our rooms and enjoyed the food as well as our service staff we cannot wait to have you back again. Kindest regards

France
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in March and were sadly disappointed with the hotel. Amazing view and food good. However, the library room (4) was very dark and the bathroom was really inadequate, quirky is fine but having a flimsy hand held shower is not. Despite the hotel being advertised as child free there were two really noisy older children playing in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dods64
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Dods, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is of highest importance to us and we very much value your input. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the views from our hotel as well as the meals. We are currently working on a solution for the bathroom in...

Dundas, Canada
Reviewed 5 April 2016

This bohemian-style hotel wouldn't be for everyone but it suited us to a tee. We were there for 6 nights. Our Room (#7) was huge and had a lovely little balcony with a spectacular beach view. The bed was a little high for most average-height people so beware if you don't relish the idea of using a stool to climb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grobinsongow
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Grobinsongow, thank you very much for your positive review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and found the breakfast memorable on our beautiful sundeck. We would be more than happy to have you back again very soon. Kindest regards

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2016

The grand is a beautiful hotel and we had a wonderful view. Unfortunately the food was not great. The portions were very small and our starter was never brought to the table. Also our room was not made up even though we had left for the entire afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Domi H
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Domi, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Rest assured that your feedback is highly appreciated. We have addressed this issue with housekeeping staff, this most certainly is not grand style and will not happen again, we apologize for this oversight. Kindest regards

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

I loved this place from reception to restaurant with amazing views and our wonderful room. I loved the bedroom 'robes'(?), the old school glamour (never had a bath by candelabra before it felt very luxurious, the high bed was brilliant and very comfy, balcony was great. Loved the DVDs collection downstairs (and the vinyl collection for use in the snug)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieWit
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Charlie, thank you so much for your great review. We are very happy to hear that you had a grand time with us, enjoyed your stay to the fullest. We hope to have you back for more very soon. Kindest regards

Somerset
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I really like the idea here of bohemian and quirky accommodation and loved some of the touches like a stags head on the wall of our courtyard but think they have not quite pulled it off. We were a bit shocked to be told that the shower was in the yard but the worst part of this was that there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZebraLindsey
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Deb0n1r, thank you very much for expressing your thoughts on your time with us here. We are saddened to hear that you did not have a grand stay and did not so much appreciate the look and feel that we are going for here in Plettenberg Bay. We like to bathe with candles, our extra large towels are usually...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Their caesar salad is delish and the balcony seating looks over the Lagoon. Menu prices are hefty but it sure is worth it. I didn't stay at the hotel but the ambience of the restaurant is lovely and what i could see of the rooms look very enticing to stay there sometime. The pool is always clean and the cafe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WCB_13
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi WCB, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the music as much as our delicious salad. Hopefully we can have you back for a longer stay some time soon. Kindest regards

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Visited for two nights part of a 17 night South africa tour. The rooms are very old world in style and are all different. Our room had a free standing bath with just a shower attachment, we would have preferred a shower but hey ho. The bed was gigantic and so high that a footstool is provided to help you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlecHall
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Alec, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us here on Tripadvisor. We are very happy you enjoyed our Grand style beds and seemed to have a good stay overall. Definitely make sure that you have a look at all our rooms next time. Kindest regards

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
519 reviews
2.7 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
665 reviews
6.5 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
131 reviews
8.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
231 reviews
4.8 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Café & Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Café & Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, Leopard Lounge and Café to experience GRAND café-style dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $134 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like baths and privacy, choose the Bath Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneChichester, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 was magnificent”
 of 5 bubbles Aimeelloyd9, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room lead out to the courtyard with the pool and a comfy settee, we thought it was the best position.”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethsM7307OG, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to ask for room at top with sea view. ie Rooms 5 or 6.”
 of 5 bubbles Annie44795, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Farm room has a room above without carpet hence noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 262jeanetteh, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5