We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bayview Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Bayview Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 72: English reviews
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff , excellent location - short walk to restaurants/bars . Good stop for touring the area. Safe parking. Spacious and clean room. Could be noisy with people leaving early morning. Very good local beaches.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel! As you mentioned, we are right in the heart of Plett, close to everything you will need, including the beaches. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Bayview Hotel More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The Bayview Hotel is conveniently situated in the centre of town and has easy access to all the main road restaurants. Everything one needs is within walking distance. The rooms are clean and of fair size, and the beds are comfortable. It has an in house restaurant where you can enjoy breakfast. lunch & dinner if you decide to dine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amarok2
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. As you have pointed out, the hotels central location, onsite restaurant and reasonably priced rooms makes it a great accommodation choice. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Very pleasant hotel, centrally situated. Rooms clean, price on Booking.com seemed fair for two rooms but no breakfast included. My husband joined us last minute and the supplement they charged for him to share my room, exhorbitant. Far too expensive in the end with no breakfast included they could not even replenish the morning coffee sachets staff not interested either... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 265penelopel

Travellers are raving about these Plettenberg Bay hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

If you want something in the centre of Plett Bay, near restaurants and bars, this hotel is fine. However, definitely the least 'wow' of all the accommodation we stayed in in SA. And it's not recommended you walk around in the evenings anyway, so you end up getting taxis in the evening anyway. Basic and clean and in the centre,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trinash
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Man it is great staying at the Bayview. Friendly staff, nice in town and nothing is to much for all the staff to do or go the extra mile. Near the beach and good restaurants. Shopping is great in Plettenbergbay.

Helpful?
Thank Helma13
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Good location on the Main Street, close to all the amenities, shops and restaurants. Comfortable good size double bedroom with a view. There is restaurant located right next to the hotel reception, and parking is no problem.

Helpful?
Thank ENaidoo
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location is excellent for both being close to the beach, shops and restaurants, as you mentioned. We hope to welcome you back in the future! More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I found the Bayview Hotel by a recommendation from friends who live in Plettenberg Bay. I only wanted 2 nights but the hotel was so nice I should have stayed a week. It is quite small, but in a excellent position, and most importantly, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. My room had all the extras... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob2012Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The hotel is very nice, just needs a bit of TLC. We had a wonderfull time there. we only stayed 1 night but we loved it very much. We stayed at the penthouse with the most beautifull view of the ocean and the lake. Thank you for making my holliday special.

Helpful?
Thank onsstee
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Position is excellent. Staff friendly BUT rooms looking very tired. Bathroom not cleaned properly....hair all over the floor!! No milk supplied for in room tea or coffee. On booking.com website it boasts airconditioning - there isn't any. Would not like to be in here in the Summer months. The owners need to spend a night in their own hotel. Happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank veekayhay
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you were not completely happy with your room. I hope you brought this to the managers attention and these issues could be rectified while you were still there. Our website and Booking.com advertise our rooms as having fans and heating. We are a 3 star established... More 

Goodwood Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Loved the place, staff very helpful and friendly, Laundromat across the road to the left. Fantastic service. Not impressed with the Bistro on the ground floor, pricey and did not enjoy my starter or mains. Will definitely go back to stay when in Plettenberg Bay

Helpful?
Thank 57Belinda12
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location and staff are two elements that we pride ourselves on. Being based where we are, we are in walking distance of numerous restaurants to meet all tastes. We look forward to welcoming you back! Bayview Hotel Management More 

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
463 reviews
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
591 reviews
4.9 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
6.5 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
470 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $84 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bayview Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Amarok2, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room facing Main Street have sea view”
 of 5 bubbles ENaidoo, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a Bay view are excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles Bob2012Sydney, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“great view from the penthouse”
 of 5 bubbles onsstee, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“request a room with a balcony for smoking”
 of 5 bubbles GUSTAV100, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay