We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jikeleza Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jikeleza Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jikeleza Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 30: English reviews
Durban
Reviewed 27 November 2014

Jikeleza was a great place to stay. It's very close to everything you need and he main attractions. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It's a cosy place, old but still pretty clean. It's also a baz bus pick up and drop off which is handy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElishaDonkin
jikolodge, Manager at Jikeleza Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Traveller Thank you for your positive feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at Jikeleza backpacker Lodge. Kindest Regards The Jikeleza Team

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights on my way round the coastal route and thoroughly enjoyed it.Small,clean and tidy dorms with comfortable beds and super friendly staff,always willing to help with a smile,whether it be making you breakfast,helping out on the computer,booking tours or just chatting and having a laugh. Would recommend anyone in staying here !!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert C
jikolodge, Manager at Jikeleza Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Traveller Thank you for your positive feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at Jikeleza backpacker Lodge. Kindest Regards The Jikeleza Team

IJsselmuiden, Overijssel, Netherlands
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Staff at the Jikeleza hostel was very friendly, I felt safe and the staff was always there for you. The hostel itself was good too; clean beds, nice garden. The pinnacle was campfire with mashmallows.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Modeste M
jikolodge, Manager at Jikeleza Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Modeste Thank you for your positive feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jikeleza Backpacker Lodge. Kindest Regards Jikeleza Team

Munster, Germany
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful but the facilities were not too clean. Only one bathroom inside the house, otheres only in the garden. Worst of all, we had a lot of bed bugs in our room. Additionally, the rooms to the garden side are a little noise because of the wind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johannes H
Robert L, Owner at Jikeleza Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Johannes, you stayed with us on 28 August 2014 in a dorm. On that particular night we had one of the windiest nights this year and everyone in Port Elizabeth was terrorised by the wind, not only your room. We have taken time to respond to the main comment, in that you said there were bedbugs in the room/bed,...

Zwolle, The Netherlands
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff of the Jikeleza Lodge is friendly and helpful. The beds are clean, there is a nice garden and they offer a place to braai! The hostel is in the middle of PE, so you can walk to the beach, the center and lots of museums. And when you're there, go to the lunchroom across the street! And also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JasperLentz
Robert L, Owner at Jikeleza Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Jikeleza and in Port Elizabeth.

North Wales, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Camped here for a night in March 2014. Staff was helpful. Location good, near a supermarket. Safe and secure. Great kitchen, bathrooms decent. Rooms very clean and tidy. Not five stars because staff smoked marijuana in the backyard. Also not super quiet at night, but it's a city location. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lukas97
SMartins370, Manager at Jikeleza Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lukas Thank you for your positive feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jikeleza Backpacker Lodge. Kindest Regards Jikeleza Team

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Jikeleza Lodge is a decent facility that can due for a few nights. Avumile, an employee who was seemingly helpful did not refund us our full deposit. When we arrived he claimed there was a deposit of R200, upon leaving he claimed it was only R50. We had no receipt to dispute the change so we simply left, but definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dnickso
Robert L, Owner at Jikeleza Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a bad experience at Jikeleza. I should have responded earlier but have only recently been aware of the options to respond on this site. We had read your complaint and immediate action was taken and the staff member removed. Once again our apologies.

home
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed just one night but the owner went out of his way to find us secure parking for the night so we did not have to unload a full car. The premises were clean, neat and organized. As we arrived late in the rain, we were given a room near the bathroom and kitchen to save hauling our luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gardengirlafrica
Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Spent a weekend there a their cabins and i must say it was great.clean room,nice location,very chilled place.great value for money i'd say.plus its a baz bus stop.they've got this old man there who's such a visionary and he's at his 50's,he amused us there with his dreams.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay3991
Copenhagen
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We got a very last minute booking for one night, and even with our very late arrival we were welcomed by a very firendly guy, who was glad to show us around. We got a 4 person room for two, which suited us just fine. Although it did not feel like the most clean place, we got a night's good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anderleysh
SMartins370, Manager at Jikeleza Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Robert Thank you for your positive feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jikeleza Backpacker Lodge. Kindest Regards Jikeleza Team

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
6.0 km away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#2 of 6 in Summerstrand
181 reviews
1.5 km away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
518 reviews
3.1 km away
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 70 in Port Elizabeth
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Cape Flame Guest House
Cape Flame Guest House
#22 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
118 reviews
0.8 km away
10 on CAPE
10 on CAPE
#24 of 70 in Port Elizabeth
55 reviews
1.0 km away
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
#45 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and explore the revamped young heart of Port Elizabeth. Jikeleza is just a few streets away from the buzzing nightlife that will swallow you in and take you on a true local ride. The clubs in the area range from hip hop to African house to classic mainstream radio funk. Parliament & Stanley Streets have become the local hang outs, so who really needs a club anyway! Let's party in the street! Have a lazy cocktail at one of the cafes while you lounge in their on street couches or chow down on huge chip rolls. Visit live music and theatre shows, banks, post office, pubs and 24 hour shops. Whatever you fancy, it is only a brisk walk away and our door is open all day and all night, so come home when you want to. Or relax with the other guests around the evening fire and enjoy a local Braai. There is always something to do. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jikeleza Lodge

Address: 44 Cuyler Street | Central, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $26 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Jikeleza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Jikeleza Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in a room on entrance level for convenience to kitchen and bathroom. Stay in a garden cabin for comfort and privacy.”
gardengirlafrica, 3 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Garden sheds at the back”
Jay3991, 28 Jun 2013 | Read review
“The second floor, where I stayed, is closest to the kitchen, which is a plus. Outside are private cabins for couples--these might be a bit quieter, plus the morning view of Port Elizabeth is fantastic.”
AlinaD478, 18 Oct 2011 | Read review
“Make sure you don't have the double in the shed! Dorms looked like a better standard for a lower price!”
Anna598, 21 Sep 2011 | Read review
“Make sure you don't get a "garden unit".”
Mandy01_90, 11 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5