We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hydeaway Country Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Elizabeth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hydeaway Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Start your review of Hydeaway Country Lodge
 Click to rate
Citrusdal, South Africa
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We always visit P.E. for the dog shows in April. Each year we have stayed in several different places but this year was the best yet as we so enjoyed everything about the Hydeaway Country Lodge. We loved it and the dogs loved the space and beautiful well kept lawn to run on. It was just perfect. D. Hacking, Citrusdal,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardhD4689CS
Port Alfred, South Africa
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We had a lovely weekend at Hydeaway. Diane was very welcoming and communication was open all the time. Lovely property and comfortable accommodation. I would definitely recommend Hydeaway to everyone wanting to visit PE

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 952loril
knysna
Reviewed 3 November 2015

In this 1st chalet, Freezer had blood in it, Tiles broken, carpets tired. Noisy construction vehicle close by. Would have enjoyed a biscuit with my coffee. my Did not feel that I got value for money. Will not return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenmQ4039DC
Diane P, Owner at Hydeaway Country Lodge, responded to this review

I sincerely would like to apologise for your bad experience. There are things that we need to improve on in the cottage, which we will do. Wrt to the construction vehicle, unfortunately we cannot control that, but we do apologise. Sincere apologies

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2015

We liked our room and being able to have our breakfast without leaving our room. We were dissapointed with our room not being refreshed, this policy would be better understood on a Sunday rather than Saturdays.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank unatiu
Diane P, Owner at Hydeaway Country Lodge, responded to this review

Regretfully , we don't offer cleaning of our units during the weekends, as then we would need to increase our pricing. The units are cleaned every day during the week. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Grahamstown
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Very few words to describe what I experienced at Hydeway Country Lodge. In actual fact I just ran out of words when it comes to Hydeaway. I was never that comfortable my whole life. Neat, spacious, comfortable, peaceful & quiet a real haven and a complete lovers 'nest for couples. Value for money. It is 'FANTASTIC!!!'. I highly recommend that...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ntosh
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I had an excellent stay with great comfort. Friendly environment that was far away to be out of the bustle of the city, yet close enough to not be out of the way. I would recommend them strongly. Great setting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacov612
Klein Brak River, South Africa
Reviewed 18 May 2015

We booked at Hydeaway because we could not find any other guesthouse that wasn't fully booked. And what a wonderful surprise we got! Tucked away in Port Elizabeth we found this wonderfully neat and well equipped self catering rooms. The kitchen had everything you needed and the king size bed and pillows was very comfortable. We moved in our young...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N3466BJlindad
Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 6 May 2015

Lovely room, well-appointed and very clean, excellent bathroom, good well-equipped kitchen area with nice extra touches in the form of some milk and rusks. Quiet and peaceful, with the added enjoyment of a well-kept garden around us. Our hosts went out of their way to accommodate our needs. We wouldn't want to go anywhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank townsendp2015
Nelspruit
Reviewed 8 March 2015

The room was clean and private. Love the dogs. Felt like home away from home. The location was very central and easy to find. It was easy to book over the internet and payment was without any problems

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan & Nicoline V
Tzaneen
Reviewed 14 December 2014

Thank you Diane for a truly lovely stay. The cottage is beautifully furnished with everything one would need to make your stay comfortable. Bed was an absolute pleasure and we slept like babes... Thank you for the little touches that made us feel so welcome and we just loved the dogs. They were NEVER a nuciance, just lay outside and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 831tracey

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
26.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
25.0 km away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
6.1 km away
Murphys
Murphys
#2 of 5 in Beachview
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#27 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
43 reviews
20.4 km away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
47 reviews
26.3 km away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#1 of 6 in Summerstrand
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hydeaway Country Lodge offers private, peaceful accommodation on a 2.2ha property. Surrounded by park like grounds, guests can relax and enjoy the tranquil surrounds, giving the country feel while still being close to town. Rooms are well furnished, suites are spacious, perfect for couples, business people and honeymooners. Our cottage is well suited for famalies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hydeaway Country Lodge

Address: Hyde Park Lot 261 Kragga Kamma Road | Theescombe, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $37 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hydeaway Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?