We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hacklewood Hill Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hacklewood Hill Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I spent two nights in this beautiful establishment. We really enjoyed everything about it. Beautiful room, beautiful gardens, delicious food and very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely a place worth visiting. One of the best places to stay in Port Elizabeth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilymouse
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night as a stopover for travelling up to Joburg. The hotel us in a large Victorian house which had originally been built for a family. It still has the fabulous fireplaces and furniture of that era, along with the rolltap bath and marble wash stand. We stayed in the Flamingo room and had a four...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueAndMichael_56
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your GREAT review... It's so nice when guests enjoy our "product" so much :)

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had just one night at this quirky hotel before travelling to Cape Town via the Garden Route. The hotel feels as if it is set in the past with lots of Victorian furniture & huge bathrooms. Dinner was excellent but there was not much buffet choice at breakfast. Our room & bathroom needed a bit of updating. The garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gungadin2016
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We'll definitely look into your points mentioned. Hope you enjoyed your trip up the Garden Route.

Coventry, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in between travelling to and from a game reserve. This is an excellent hotel; all the staff we met were polite, helpful, friendly and interesting to talk to. Food is very good indeed and very reasonably priced. It is close to PE airport which is very convenient. The bedrooms are all individual and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PMH1921
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great recommendation and pics.

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very nice stay unfortunately only for one night at Hacklewood Hill Country House. Everything is so lovely furnished and the service is perfect. We love it! Next time we will spend more time there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henrike K
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, and we really hope to welcome you back soon.

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Set in a quiet suburb a few kilometers from the airport, this guest house has gone to the top of my list in terms of standard, outstanding rooms, facilities and, above all, a relaxed but super efficient personal service. Added to all of this is a Restaurant that serves high quality meals in a superb setting It's one of those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words... We hope you find a reason to visit Port Elizabeth in the near future so that we can welcome you back.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were all friendly and helpful for our short 1 night stay. The accommodation was very stylish with lots of interesting touches. The evening meal was excellent in a quiet intimate dinning room. Well done to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidoO1903UN
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic, very comfortable hotel close to the airport (but totally quiet). Superb service by all managers and staff (MANY thanks). Great facilities including a pool, and lovely gardens to relax. The menu and the food were fantastic, and very good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your praises. I'll be sure to pass on the thanks to the rest of the staff.

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Exclusive Luxury country retreat in the heart of the city, exceptional detail to service. The rooms are fantastic with huge bathrooms and free standing baths. Silver service dinner and breakfast made our stay a memorable one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 125guestp
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review...Glad you enjoyed the silver service.

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I didn't stay at The Hacklewood so cannot comment on accommodation offered but only on there conference facilities which was the reason for my visit. I was facilitating a two day course and was rather disappointed at the conference facilities at what was advertised as a 'five star guesthouse'. My expectations were high and were not met for the following...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsFish07
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

I'm sorry that as a facilitator you did not research the product that you were going to be using before getting there? ... Here at Hacklewood we really do try our best to provide our guests with the ultimate experience in accommodation and service in a relaxed environment within the Victorian Manor House which adds to the whole experience.

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
7.3 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
405 reviews
8.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
8.6 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
373 reviews
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
6.1 km away
The Windermere by Mantis
The Windermere by Mantis
#10 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1898, and nestled in a lush English garden setting in the leafy suburb of Walmer, Hacklewood Hill is one of the few remaining Victorian Manor Houses in the city, and as such retains much of the elegance and grace it would have boasted when its first inhabitants – a young doctor and his family – once lived here. Guests are greeted with intricately stained glass doors, gleaming wooden floors and the gentle sheen of wooden banisters lovingly buffed and polished for more than a century. Wandering around the house’s two reception rooms, your eye naturally gravitates from one fascinating period piece to another. A black and white checkerboard tiled veranda overlooks a sparkling swimming pool, perfect for leisurely dips on hot summer days – while the well-established garden beckons for a quiet stroll or perhaps even a civilised game of croquet on the lawn. The more energetic can opt for a gentlemanly game of tennis or just choose a secluded spot in the garden to enjoy the abundant birdlife which calls the grounds of Hacklewood home. The manor house’s eight luxury en suite rooms which are equally as enticing, especially as each so perfectly captures the essence of the Victorian Age. Each is individually decorated in palettes ranging from pastel blues and rose bedecked pinks to more masculine browns and reds. As a result, each room has its own unique character and returning guests will enjoy experiencing them all, and will, no doubt, be loath to pick a favourite at the end. In order to truly experience Hacklewood Hill at the height of its stately Victorian glory, guests need to make a point of opting for at least one dinner at the house’s five star restaurant. The dining room’s magnificent chandelier lights, to full perfection the cut glass, crystal goblets, starched linen and full silver service on the tables below, while superbly trained waiters serve a splendid array of cordon bleu dishes that emanate from the kitchen. Little wonder that the restaurant has garnered itself a slew of fine dining awards and has become a firm favourite on the Port Elizabeth dining scene – not only for its exquisite dinners, but also full English breakfasts, High Tea's and light lunches. For a thoroughly enjoyable trip back to a time when days were long and unhurried, furnishings were beautiful and handmade, and every meal was an occasion to use only the best china and silverware, guests need look no further than Hacklewood Hill Country House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hacklewood Hill Country House

Address: 152 Prospect Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $165 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacklewood Hill Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hacklewood Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacklewood Hill Country House Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hacklewood Hill Country Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hacklewood Hill Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Flamingo room had a four poster bed”
 of 5 bubbles SueAndMichael_56, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You have to look at the website as there are rooms for every taste”
 of 5 bubbles 435simonk, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Superb menu and food, exquisite bed and bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles 827DavidC827, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Both ours were delightful, in the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles ausgiraffe, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“great cellar. worth a visit.”
 of 5 bubbles dunstan2015, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay