We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers

Expedia.comUS$95*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 405: English reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Never been to this hotel before, but wanted to watch the T20 international at the Wanderers cricket stadium nearby. This is within a short walking distance and is very safe. The location is excellent, with a Club opposite for watching sport on large screens. Staff were friendly, breakfast excellent and the rooms comfortable. Met the GM, Derik who was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Derek M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review about your stay here on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you had a good experience while staying at the Protea Wanderers Hotel. I am glad that staying at our hotel was a great convenience to you for the T20 international...

Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 24 February 2016

The rooms are comfortable, the building and park is nice - especially the pool area, the staff is helpful. The food is okay, although a more differentiated menu would be better. Melrose Arch and Sandton is very close.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emeseborbala
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Emeseborbala, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see you found our rooms to be comfortable as well as the appearance of our hotel and the convenience of being close to Melrose Arch and Sandton. We will surely take into consideration your comment about a more...

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Located 5 mins walk from Bidvest Wanderers Stadium. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Good sized bathroom with separate shower. Breakfast choice was very varied. Pool area had loungers to sunbathe. Towels on request from Reception. There is a free shuttle bus to the stylish mall in Sandton. Pre-booked room rate was good value with breakfast included. Hotel is 100...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Usandthetwokids
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Usandthetwokids, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your recent stay with us. Our hotel is well known for its easy access to all the Wanderers facilities. Thank you for acclaiming our location and services...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 24 February 2016

I stayed at this hotel about two weeks ago, for three nights. Initially all seemed fine, but I did notice there were some mouldy areas in the shower ( had a major complaint about this on a previous visit ). This was reported to Management. Usually the breakfast is good ( not as good as at the Balalaika Hotel not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevincY9111AX
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear kevincY9111AX, Thank you very much for your review here on Trip Advisor. I would like to firstly apologise for the generally disappointing stay you had at our hotel recently. Your concerns about mould in the showers and substandard service that you received in the restaurant have been addressed with the housekeeping and food and beverage TEAMS. We have looked...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions for business trips in the last few years. Last week was definitely my last. The rooms are tired and the beds old. The bedding smells and had stains on. The shower tiles was so old and appeared dirty. My bed was so uncomfortable it felt like I was going to roll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RenaChristo
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear RenaChristo, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. I am deeply saddened to read that you had such an unpleasant experience on your recent stay at our hotel after having stayed with us on numerous occasions and I would like to express my sincerest apologies in that regard. I have...

Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Arrived here on a night of thunder storms not being able to check in due to systems down. Went to very noisy hotel bar - Valentine's day - w/almost exclusively drunk people. Had a decent burger and good SA wines. Room was ok, could use some maintenance. So so.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JasperHofman
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear JasperHofman, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry that you had to experience the very unfortunate situation of the thunderstorm on the day of your arrival. It was an ill-fated incident that the lightning struck our hotel that evening which resulted in all our internet lines...

Paris, France
Reviewed 15 February 2016

The hotel is nicely located in a green suburb of Johannesburg. The room was comfortable, food good and the pool area pleasant. The main problem is the total lack of coordination at the front desk. Over 10 customers were still waiting for rooms past check-in time, service was sloppy and no-one seemed to know what they were doing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viajantes-75
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Viajantes-75, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor Please accept my sincerest apologies about the lack of coordination at the front desk, although we were very busy during the weekend with a large amount of arrivals for the cricket, this is no excuse and the TEAM should have been better...

Sawbridgeworth UK
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Great hotel, nice staff, nice clean modern rooms, good WiFi, really comfortable beds probably the most comfortable bed, quilt and pillows I have ever slept on at a hotel. Bar was really nice as was the swimming pool area. Wanderers club is a nice alternative for breakfast, all in all I had a superb stay there and would definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HammertimeUK
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear HammertimeUK, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review of your stay here on Trip Advisor I am so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful and very comfortable stay at our Hotel, your review was honestly a delight to read as it seems that overall you enjoyed most of the Hotels...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Protea Wanderers for three nights. I had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend it. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, ensuring I had anything I needed. My room was very comfortable and clean. Would be very happy to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becy_m
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Becy-m, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor I am pleased to see that you have had a wonderful three nights stay at our hotel. The service we give our valued GUESTS is always a priority and I am glad our TEAM delivered the best service to you and that...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Convenient location, well laid out room with a good sized desk, free wi-fi, good room service, friendly staff, comfortable bed....all that needed for my stay. Nice touch was the choccie and coconut ice in y room on arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tranchie-Tess
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Tranchie-Tess, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay here on Trip Advisor. I am extremely happy to see that, once again, you have had an enjoyable stay at our lovely hotel and that we continue to meet your needs as a business traveller. We love to give our valued GUESTS a...

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illovo
1.5 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
1.6 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the prestigious suburb of Illovo, Sandton, the hotel is ideal for both the leisure and business traveller. A mere 4 minutes’ drive away, the M1 Freeway allows for easy access to all business centres, the OR Tambo International Airport and various other attractions the great city of Johannesburg has to offer. Venture into Sandton, Rosebank or the Melrose Arch precinct, which are minutes away and offer some of the finest shopping and dining experiences on the continent. Alternatively enjoy fine cuisine in our upmarket restaurant, relax on the hotel’s poolside sundeck, enjoy a cocktail in our 24 hour coffee bar and deli or make use of the in-house FIT gym. Accommodation consists of superbly appointed bedrooms, all equipped with separate bath and shower, an executive work desk & wireless internet access. Our distinguished conference facilities and executive boardrooms encourage performance and productivity. Careful attention to detail is a hallmark of this hotel, from the striking, elegant décor, immaculate service, supremely comfortable rooms, to the fresh red apple placed in our guest's room every day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers

Address: Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2196, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Illovo
Price Range: $100 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Illovo
Protea Wanderers Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms are overlooking the car park and wanderers club”
W3376ZIkm, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Select view of the pool and gardens”
NATACHADEABREU, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a decent outlook and offer quiet.”
richardj828, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“i do not suggest you to stay here , choose a hotel in Sandton or Melrose arch”
Benineda, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose quiet room facing the Cricket fields”
AmsterdamJasper, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$95* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$180
CancelonUS$107
Booking.comUS$99
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates