We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Booking.comUS$25*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Lebo\\
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I planned to stay one night at Lebo's in Soweto but ended up staying two (and would have loved to stay even longer). Lebo's lovely staff make this backpackers a very special place, and the bike tour with Linda was one of the highlights of my time in Joburg. I'd highly recommend anyone to spend a couple of days in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna O
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Lebo's Backpackers is one of the best places we visited during our stay in South Africa. Integrated in the local community, this place provides plenty of opportunities to truly interact with locals. The crew is wonderful, friendly, helpful and makes you feel very welcome. We especially enjoyed how open this place is - it was the first time we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Really cool way to see Soweto! We were picked up at our hotel and brought to Soweto where we met Linda, our guide for the day. Linda is a native of Soweto and was so knowledgable - we learned a ton throughout the 4 hour tour. It's a good workout while not being too strenuous - and despite rain we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
London, UK
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I took the four-hour tuk-tuk tour, and it was great. The right mix of entertaining and informative, seeing both the modern condition of Soweto as well as its history, hope and heartbreak. Our guide was fantastic and knew a lot about the various communities of the township.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shaunism
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

My mother and I took the 4-hour tuk tuk tour on recommendation from my travel group. It was an excellent view of the history of the area from the viewpoint of people that actually live and work there. I knew that I did not want to take a tour from someone offering it in a big bus like the citizens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DamaliC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Just took a tour there but next time for sure I would also stay the night there. A lovely place in Soweto, where real township life happens. It's nicely designed and offers plenty of activities. I took the bike tour which was well guided and totally safe You could talk to staff and get more explanation. Lunch in their beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I stayed at Lebo's Backpackers for 4 nights.The first night I arrived late around 11 pm. The next morning I went to reception to check in. I didn't get a warm welcome nor did I get an orientation of the property. I signed up to do the 4 hour bicycle tour that morning, which I really enjoyed. My only complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamika H
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My husband and I live in Johannesburg and we booked a 2 hours bicycle tour on 13 October 2016, when my sister came to visit. We absolutely loved it. It was so nice to see Soweto from a different perspective. It was easy going yet very informative. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and happy to share just enough info without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nathalieboucry
Manager_Malepa, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time and write a review and give us feedback on your experience with us. We are also extra happy that you are locals from around Johannesburg as we really want our fellow South Africans to explore their own backyard. We hope to see you back! Warm Regards Maria Malepa

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We did the 2 hour bike tour today and it was really really cool. After reading reviews that suggested the 4 hour tour was too long we decided to do the 2 hour. It was so hot, the bikes were not the best so the 2 hour was perfect for us. Th guide was awesome. Very knowledgable and friendly staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulesHRL
Manager_Malepa, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and write a review and give feedback on your tour experience with us! Good to hear that you had a great experience and you are happy with the guide. Our tours are designed to take in different aspects of Soweto but of course Soweto is famous for the political turmoil and anti-apartheid activism so...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 22 October 2016

What a fabulous way to experience Soweto! Thando and Issac make an incredible team together. They are open and it felt like they wanted us to get the feel of Soweto. How it is such a tight-knit community. They asked what we wanted out of the tour and went well beyond what we expected. We were shown all around Soweto...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam-travelfan
Manager_Malepa, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review! We are so happy you got what you expected - and more - out of your tour. This is what we strive for with every visitor. Soweto has so many faces and so many stories to tell, and it seems like our guides really gave you this during the few hours you...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
12.5 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
16.1 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
710 reviews
18.5 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#2 of 103 in Johannesburg
202 reviews
11.3 km away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#6 of 103 in Johannesburg
32 reviews
10.3 km away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#10 of 103 in Johannesburg
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Address: 10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $16 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lebo's Soweto Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lebo's Soweto Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebo`s Soweto Backpackers Hotel Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lebo's Soweto Backpackers staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lebo's Soweto Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“private rooms are the best”
tomgarble, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The double room is lovely!”
annaoY2016PD, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a fan to be put in your room in the hot summer months.”
garethcraig, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Dorms are cramped and crowded. There are only 2 single options. The double room is the best room but is expensive if you are on a budget.”
littletripper1968, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Have both shared and private rooms, according to your preference.”
277tamaraw, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$25* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$30
Hostelworld.comUS$28
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates