We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

5th Avenue Gooseberry

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
5th Avenue Gooseberry
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for 5th Avenue Gooseberry
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Reviewed 17 December 2014

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our five-night stay at the Gooseberry Guesthouse. It is quaint, with a very homey feel. The staff are remarkably kind. Breakfast is spot on with an omelet, toast, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, juice and more. The internet works great. The only issue we found is that the guesthouse is a bit far from downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Reviewed 8 September 2014

I was tired after my 24 hours flight to Johannesburg but Gooseberry Guest Hotel made my day. After I arrived in quite bad mood, there was big true african mama who gave me a hug! I got into beautiful double room and was amazed how the stuff were so nice and smiling! They were very helpful whenever I needed anything!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MimiK744
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review

Dear Mimi, Thank you! Susan Berry & staff

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here with a group of 6 that had just completed an outreach mission in a very primitive setting. We were tired and needed a few days to rest before heading back to the US. Gooseberry is warm and inviting. Rooms are filled with antiques, rich fabric, beautiful paintings by owner Susan Berry and cozy touches It was cool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LanaJern
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review

Dear Lana, Thank you. The heading is so beautiful. Kindest regards, Susan

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 28 July 2014

what an amazing experience in this hotel. It is lovely, cozy, they have a wifi and I got such a nice warm welcome. Love the cookies in my room and how clean everything was. People are there very sweet. Wanna return soon. Michaela

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michaela n
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review

Dear Micheala, We enjoy so much having guests and it is always interesting to hear where they are coming from, where they are going to and what they are doing.-The world is coming to us. Thanks so much for writing a review. Kindest regards, Susan

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Everything you want for a guest house in the city. Big breakfast included. Very friendly and helpful staff and spacious rooms and quiet neigbourhood with bidd garden and pool. The rooms are serviced every day and are neat and tidy. The staff can do laundry on request. Secure parking outside. Great stay of 3 nights and central for business appointments...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ratego
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review

Hannes, thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Kind regards, Susan Berry

Valmiera, Latvia
Reviewed 12 June 2014

One of most amazingly stunning places to stay. If you are in Johannesburg area - i would suggest - look no further - this is the place to stay. Nice and helpful staff, superb cleanliness and old colonial charm. Perfect place to stay for Africa trip.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martins K
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review

Dear Martins, so many thanks for your positive feed back and all of the best for you with your career. Kindest regards, Susan Berry

Coconut Creek, Florida
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Enchanting olde worlde Linden home, rich in texture, art and manner. The room was attic style, with a small charming balcony. The pretty bathroom offered a deep bathtub and supplied a wondrous hot bubble delight for me every chilly evening. The breakfasts were delicious and fresh, and the staff were utterly charming.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 482Gill
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review

Dear Gill, so many thanks for your beautiful review! Kind regards, Susan Berry & ladies

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My family and I have been to 5th Avenue Gooseberry on a number of occasions and we have been happy everytime with the excellent service. The ladies are always so helpful and we have never had any complaints. I would recommend them to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joelle_mahomet
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I highly recommend to businessmen who want to be in a calm place but still very close to EXPO Center in Sandton. Service is great and all the staff members kind and hospitable. The place is amazing just have a look on photos. Great breakfast and everything has an artistic soul. PS. I was here for 9 days always using...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TomaszSolarPVTV
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review

Dear Tomasz, so many thanks for your review, the photos that you have posted as well as all the other photos that you had given to us. We enjoyed having you as our guest! All of the best, Susan & the ladies

Hilversum, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 March 2014

With great pleasure I have stayed in Gooseberry Guest House. Pleasant and clean rooms. Friendly staff and a good breakfast. A must. I'll gladly go back there. Enjoy your stay at Gooseberry. Harm Schoneveld

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harm S
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review

Dear Harm, Thank you for your review. It was so interesting to have the group here, listening to which schools you have been visiting for your research. Kind regards, Susan

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
2:30
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
4.5 km away
Ten Bompas
Ten Bompas
#16 of 68 in Johannesburg
97 reviews
5.0 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#8 of 68 in Johannesburg
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
3.9 km away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 291 in Johannesburg
130 reviews
1.5 km away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#17 of 291 in Johannesburg
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elegant, 4-star Guest House, with an artistic touch, in a quiet, charming neighbourhood of Johannesburg. The 11 en-suite rooms each have their own character. Centrally situated, close to major attractions. Transfers to and from OR Tambo Airport. Easy accessible from main roads, 33 km from airport. Unforgettable day tours can be arranged to Apartheids Museum, Soweto, Rhino and Lion Park and many more. Free Wi-Fi access and secure parking on premises. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Gooseberry

Address: 44 - 5th Avenue | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $50 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 5th Avenue Gooseberry 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5th Avenue Gooseberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 5th Avenue Gooseberry staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are great”
peteralberts, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“close to exhibition center in Sandton”
TomaszSolarPVTV, 17 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Ask a room with a view on the garden.”
804harms, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Come hungry - their food is incredible!”
  • My room - STUNNING!
AnickeNovi, 19 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms- one can appreciate the beauty of the surroundings”
Junaid333, 23 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5