We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hands On Retreat Craighall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hands On Retreat Craighall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 157: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

A wonderful 3 hour treatment with my wife as a birthday present. Ladies were very professional and friendly. A few disappointments but overall a great experience. 'Hands on' doesn't rate as my best places but neither does it rank at the bottom. It's centrally located and easily accessible. Tranquil setting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank craigwW9764ZH
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent visit at Hands on Retreat. We hope that listed your concerns on the review card as we do appreciate all feed back.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall my husband and I had a good experience , reception was warm and had a personal touch .... room was comfy and had a rustic appearance , however, if you have a phobia of spiders you might not be totally relaxed although the spiders are a result of the natural greenery on the property and by no means can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zainab S
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Relaxing time away, if you needing time to get away this is the place to be,. They were very welcoming and efficient and the messages were just so relaxing. Lovely experience highly recommended in the heart of Joburg

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan00sthuizen
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a R200 voucher from SafariNow and booked this place quickly. Big mistake, should have done my homework better, Most guests rated this place as very good, but my experience is that it is overpriced (R950 single rate) and average compared to other country hotels with spas in Johannesburg or hotels in Sandton that have large gardens and spas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanineZA
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Although we don't have a sauna (Nor do we advertise that we do) , we do however focus on relaxation massage, one of our highlights at the Retreat, so sorry you do not enjoy massages. For those who need to get some work time in, Fresh, the coffee shop on the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My hubby and I enjoyed a blissful stay at Hands On Retreat. It is like stepping into a world of calm and peace and forgetting the rush and hectic pace just outside the gates. If you need to revitalise or just get away from everything, I would highly recommend this lovely place. The rooms are very comfortable and has every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Velda N
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I had great service with this company from the time of making the booking till the time I booked out of the spa. Their assistance was amazing as I was running late but was in time for my treatment. The friendly staff always ready to assist anyhow possible. My highlight was the massage and the awesome picnic basket thereafter. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shasmeensattar
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend at Hands on Retreat and what a fantastic experience. The rooms are ideal for a weekend getaway and the breakfast is delicious. The staff is friendly and curteous and makes sure you are comfortable. Francine and Mashudu gave us an amazing spa day which left us feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. We would definately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KerryV87
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I booked my husband and I in to Hands On Retreat. Wow! What a lovely, romantic getaway. Beautiful gardens. Lots of private gazebos scattered around the gardens to sit in. We had a couples massage, then a picnic dinner (which had a surprise in it), spent the night and breakfast the next morning. Some great "us time". The picnic had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 756kerry
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We just wanted to get away for a night and I stumbled upon the Hands On Retreat Guest House. I was wonderfully surprised by the picnic basket, the food was amazing and they are very accommodating. Even more the massages was amazing and the staff was very professional. I will recommend this for a weekend getaway, you don't feel like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica O
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Reviewed 21 November 2016

As a frequent business traveler, I need to score the Hands on retreat in Craighall a 5 star rating. Great rooms beautiful gardens and a very tranquil and peaceful stay. Staff are extremely helpful and service is great. Rooms are well equipped, comfortable and spacious. Its perfectly located for easy access to Rosebank, Sandton and most business centres but feels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francoise R
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
4.7 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.2 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
852 reviews
6.4 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 282 in Johannesburg
252 reviews
7.5 km away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 282 in Johannesburg
169 reviews
4.6 km away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#8 of 282 in Johannesburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
GREAT LOCATION and BEST VALUE for money! We are centrally situated in the upmarket "Parks" area of Northern Johannesburg and give easy access to our surrounding suburbs of Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg whether by car or public transport. 10 Minutes drives from the Sandton and Rosebank Gautrain station and the use of UBer taxi services are advised (use code martinal if first time user to get R90 off your 1st ride).Transport can be arranged from OR Tambo, however quickest way is to use the GAUTRAIN. 6 Double on- suite rooms with private garden access, with small kitchenette ideal for LONG STAYS for the deserning business or leasure traveller. SECURE OFF STREET PARKING with own remote control. All rooms have a seperate bath and shower. 1 WHEEL CHAIR friendly room and all beds are queen size. FREE High speed internet and our ON-SITE COFFEE SHOP makes our venue ideal for breakfast and lunch meetings. WALKING distance to Hacklebrook Conference and 10 minutes drive to SANDTON Convention Center. DINNER trays by arrangements On- Site HAIRDRESSER and SPA. 5 Minutes walk to VALLEY SHOPPING Centre: Woolworths, Clicks, Bottle Store, Vodacom, Butcher, Coffee shops and Laundromat 5 mintues walk from Pick , Pay and Planett Fitness 5 minutes to KFC and Mc Dondalds take aways Delicious breakfasts are served from 7h00 to 10h00 to order on our patio which opens out onto a garden abundant of trees and bird life. You also have enough space in front of your room to enjoy our wonderful Johannesburg afternoons sipping sundowners ordered from our coffee shop Cold days are warmed by a roaring log fire in our dining room. RATES DROP FOR WEEKLY AND MONTHLY STAYS ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hands On Retreat Craighall

Address: 4 Argyle Avenue | Type Randburg in Gps, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $88 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hands On Retreat Craighall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hands On Retreat Craighall staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hands On Retreat Craighall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a room in the corner with a garden view would be best to avoid the noise of the kitchen staff”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“"Joy" is a corner room”
 of 5 bubbles JanineZA, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I have no complaints, only compliment and my tip is to continue what you are doing and keep growing and improving. ”
 of 5 bubbles 255shannon, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have their special character”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Tranquil sanctuary in the heart of Sandton!”
 of 5 bubbles akalen, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay