We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hands On Retreat Craighall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hands On Retreat Craighall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hands On Retreat Craighall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

I went for a three hour spa treatment. It was absolutely sublime. My therapist treated me like royalty. I can honestly say it was the best massage treatment I have ever had and I've had many! Karin, the manager, was very welcoming and my personal therapist got the pressure just right. View of the river was just lovely. Tea and... More 

Helpful?
Thank khwela
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us. More 

1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful afternoon having a high tea with my Mom. The food was delicious and there was a great selection of savoury and sweet delights. The staff were incredibly accommodating and understanding as I had to call and say we were arriving late due to a doctors appointment.

Helpful?
Thank kerrybA1060NR
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Amazing stay! Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are great. Rooms are very nice, and the finishing touches like the turndown service or the complementary bath salt made my stay. Will definitely come back Felt like home Must stay destination

Helpful?
Thank Cecile-Mari M
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us. More 

Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

It was my friends birthday celebration with a high tea and a hand massage, Hands On Retreat's treats to eat was divine and the décor with vintage cups and teapot was so exquisite. Very peaceful the garden is lovely and you can go for couples massage and afterwards for a relaxed picnic.

Helpful?
Thank lurendag
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us. More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2016

My husband and i went for a couples massage, picnic as well as a stay over to celebrate our anniversary. We had a lovely room as well as friendly staff who assisted us whenever we needed anything. The massages we recieved, were execellent. Felt very relaxed and pampered afterwards. Enjoyed the lovely breakfast the next day as well. We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ilona D
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next stay with us. More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Our stay at Hands on retreat was very relaxing. We were able to unwind completely. The picnic had some nice treats. The massage was very nice. Really felt that we "got away" and "recharged our batteries".

Helpful?
Thank Lani v
Handsonretreatmanage, Owner at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next stay with us. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The name of the place couldn't be more accurate. Such a wonderful relaxing environment and excellent service. The massage was out of this world, would recommend for those wanting to unwind and de-stress!

Helpful?
1 Thank Makhabane M
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next stay with us. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2016

My Boyfriend and i went to Hands on Retreat for my Birthday and were treated so well by Portia and Mandy. We had a lovely breakfast and Lunch with 7 Spa Treatments. the room was beautiful warm and welcoming. Overall the stuff were welcoming and Friendly and the treatments amazing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ariaana P
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next stay with us. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2016

My boyfriend and I spent our 5year anniversary at Hands on Retreat. What a wonderful place! It is literally home away from home. Never thought a place like this existed in the city. We had the couple's massage, picnic and sleepover package. We absolutely loved our room, the massages we very relaxing. The picnic basket was awesome. perfect and relaxing... More 

Helpful?
Thank nppnhlapo
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you have shared on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Hands on Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next stay with us. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I went there with a friend - the food for the High Tea was lovely and substantial but being in the dining room I had time to inspect and the Roman Blinds need a jolly good cleaning or replacing, the edges that show, were filthy! But other than that we enjoyed our experience

Helpful?
Thank Beverley R
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review

We thank you for the constructive input and assure you that the matter will be dealt with. We are delighted that you enjoyed the High Tea, all the baking is freshly home made and appreciate the feed back. More 

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
10.4 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
5.1 km away
Village Green Guest House
Village Green Guest House
#12 of 281 in Johannesburg
137 reviews
1.3 km away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 281 in Johannesburg
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 281 in Johannesburg
158 reviews
7.1 km away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 281 in Johannesburg
246 reviews
4.6 km away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#9 of 281 in Johannesburg
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
GREAT LOCATION and BEST VALUE for money! We are centrally situated in the upmarket "Parks" area of Northern Johannesburg and give easy access to our surrounding suburbs of Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg whether by car or public transport. 10 Minutes drives from the Sandton and Rosebank Gautrain station and the use of UBer taxi services are advised (use code martinal if first time user to get R90 off your 1st ride).Transport can be arranged from OR Tambo, however quickest way is to use the GAUTRAIN. 6 Double on- suite rooms with private garden access, with small kitchenette ideal for LONG STAYS for the deserning business or leasure traveller. SECURE OFF STREET PARKING with own remote control. All rooms have a seperate bath and shower. 1 WHEEL CHAIR friendly room and all beds are queen size. FREE High speed internet and our ON-SITE COFFEE SHOP makes our venue ideal for breakfast and lunch meetings. WALKING distance to Hacklebrook Conference and 10 minutes drive to SANDTON Convention Center. DINNER trays by arrangements On- Site HAIRDRESSER and SPA. 5 Minutes walk to VALLEY SHOPPING Centre: Woolworths, Clicks, Bottle Store, Vodacom, Butcher, Coffee shops and Laundromat 5 mintues walk from Pick , Pay and Planett Fitness 5 minutes to KFC and Mc Dondalds take aways Delicious breakfasts are served from 7h00 to 10h00 to order on our patio which opens out onto a garden abundant of trees and bird life. You also have enough space in front of your room to enjoy our wonderful Johannesburg afternoons sipping sundowners ordered from our coffee shop Cold days are warmed by a roaring log fire in our dining room. RATES DROP FOR WEEKLY AND MONTHLY STAYS ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hands On Retreat Craighall

Address: 4 Argyle Avenue | Type Randburg in Gps, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $88 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hands On Retreat Craighall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hands On Retreat Craighall staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hands On Retreat Craighall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have no complaints, only compliment and my tip is to continue what you are doing and keep growing and improving. ”
 of 5 bubbles 255shannon, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have their special character”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Tranquil sanctuary in the heart of Sandton!”
 of 5 bubbles akalen, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the luxury rooms are large and beautifully decorated.”
 of 5 bubbles beautifully2016, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner suites are large and sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay