We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Johannesburg

Abbotsford House

52 reviews
Save
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (12)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good21%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Room Service
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (52)Write a Review
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
32
10
3
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
32
10
3
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homehomely feelguest house ismelrose archroom was cleanvanessagardencomfortafrica
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017

This is a nice place attended by friendly people, close to the main attractions of Johannesburg. you can not pay by credit card in the place because they are new in te business . The house is very safe.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank noelia1518
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I do not recommend this establishment, it's very noisy the TV channels are not ok. I struggled to get out of the establishment and no one would answer the the phone to assist me. In the middle of the night I could hear the taps...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gracek400
Response from Abbotsford G M, Guest House Supervisor at Abbotsford HouseResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. We truly value the opinions of our guest and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the matters that you have brought up and we have resolved the TV...More

Reviewed 2 March 2017

Rooms claustrophobic. Beds horrible. Place shabby. Breakfast poor. Never again. Meant to stay 4 nights. Tolerated 1. Staff untidy. Owner not accommodating. Booked king size bed. Got 2 single beds. Only thing good is location.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robyn G
Response from Abbotsford G M, Guest House Supervisor at Abbotsford HouseResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. We truly value the opinions of our guest and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the matters that you have brought up and we have spoken to the...More

Reviewed 4 December 2016

Abbotsford had a feel of home with wonderful staff who spoiled me rotten. My room was clean and welcoming, and Florence's breakfast was excellent. The area is also quite and I felt safe at all times. Being a walking distance to Melrose arch was also...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annierosechikondil
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I stayed at Abbotsford House during an extended layover. The owner & staff were extremely accommodating with my late (& further delayed arrival). The house is in a great location and decor gives it a homely feel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank staceyh219
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345611
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$55 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$55 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (12)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Bathroom (7)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jkoeb
15 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Abbotsford G M | Property representative |
Please excuse the slow reply on TripAdvisor, Julia! We can assist to arrange your transfer :-)
0
Votes
nickdxb
22 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Vanessa S | Property representative |
Hi We are open but there will be no service in the rooms on New Years Day
0
Votes
nickdxb
22 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Vanessa S | Property representative |
Hi So sorry I only saw your request now. We have been open but with lower levels of service as most of our staff are on leave. Hope to have you visit soon. Kind regards Vanessa
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The Rose Room was our favorite!"
Read review
"Email Vanessa directly - she'll respond. What a charming lady!"
Read review
"All the rooms are lovely and one is incredibly spacious. Attic bedroom also great!"
Read review
"Go for the Rose Room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite